Skip to Main Content

Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy

Schools / Education

Schools and Education

We have several collections related to individual schools public and private schools, as well as organizations such as Worcester County Public Schools. Some of these collections include

WR 23: Snow Hill High School collection

  • The Snow Hill High School collection mostly contains the yearbooks that the Snow Hill High School has released. Although this collection does not include every year’s yearbook, it does cover many years from 1904-2011. However, the majority of the yearbooks cover the years of 1928-1976.
  • The Snow Hill High School has changed the name of their yearbooks a few times. The yearbook names included in this collection are: “Fifteen-Two”, “The Representative”, “Round Up”, “The Keyhole”, “Eagle’s Eye”, and “Traces”.
  • Also included in this collection are various memorabilia pieces that pertain to the Snow Hill High School. These memorabilia pieces include newspaper clippings, handbills, programs, graduation announcements, and class notes.

WR 24: Stockton High School collection

  • The Stockton High School collection allows for a glimpse into what school was like in the early 1930s. Included in this collection is two of Stockton High School’s collection, “The School Bugle” that discusses the student body. The editions included are the 1931 and 1932 June volumes. The newspapers ask for student’s mottos, news about commencement, and other miscellaneous articles. “The School Bugle” also mentions activities happening in Worcester County from Pocomoke City to Berlin.
  • There are also three programs for plays and other performances that were developed and performed by the Stockton High School student body. One such performance was singing “Queen Esther’s Petition” by the Stockton High School Glee Club.

WR 26: Worcester High School Yearbook collection

  • The Worcester High School Yearbook collection contains one 1967 yearbook from the Worcester High School. This yearbook includes many black and white photographs of students who attended Worcester High School. Included in the yearbook are photographs of the 1967, 1968, 1969, and 1970 classes. There are also detailed information and photographs of all the clubs offered at Worcester High School.

WR 27: Snow Hill Middle School Yearbook collection

  • The Snow Hill Middle School collection contains a 1985 and 1986 yearbook from the Snow Hill Middle School. The yearbooks include many black and white photographs of students who attended the Snow Hill Middle School. Included in the yearbook are detailed information and photographs of all the clubs offered at Snow Hill Middle School.
  • Also included in the collection are a few newspaper clippings. The newspaper clippings discuss students who were honored, Janice Ward (Library Media Specialist) winning an award, and the new program dedicated to teaching Snow Hill Middle School students about computers.

WR 28: Stephen Decatur High School Yearbook collection

  • The Stephen Decatur High School Yearbook collection contains yearbooks that the Stephen Decatur High School has released. Although this collection does not include every year’s yearbook, it does cover many years from 1955-1983. However, the majority of the yearbooks cover the years of 1955-1968.

WR 29: Pocomoke High School Yearbook collection

  • The Pocomoke High School collection mostly contains the yearbooks that the Pocomoke High School has released. Although this collection does not include every year’s yearbook, it does cover many years from 1953-1982.
  • Also included in this collection are various memorabilia pieces that pertain to the Pocomoke High School. These memorabilia pieces include graduation programs and invitations, newspaper clippings, and publications.
  • The collection also contains items from Pocomoke High School’s former names, Newtown High School, and Boston Public School.

WR 31: University of Maryland Eastern Shore Yearbook collection

  • The University of Maryland Eastern Shore Yearbook collection contains one 2014 yearbook from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. This yearbook includes color photographs of students who graduated from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore. The photographs include only those that graduated in 2014. There are also detailed information and photographs of many clubs, Greek life, sports, events such as homecoming, leadership retreats, the actual graduation, and pictures of every graduate organized by last name.

WR 32: Ocean City Elementary School collection

  • The Ocean City Elementary School collection contains one newspaper clipping regarding the Ocean City Elementary School. The newspaper clipping was published in the Democratic Messenger in October 23, 1947. The title of the clipping is “The Largest First Grade in History of Ocean City (Md.) School”. Included is a picture of the forty-six first grade students enrolled in Ocean City Elementary School in 1947, along with everyone’s name.

WR 33: Worcester County Public Schools collection

  • This collection contains publications and records regarding Worcester County Public Schools and the Board of Education. This includes calendars, reports, handbooks, and other documents regarding the daily operation and workings of the school system.

WR 55: Worcester County Library Oral History Collection

  • The Worcester County Library Oral History collection documents life in Worcester County through audio interviews. Audio files and transcripts of these interviews can be viewed on their own page here. Many of these interviews discuss education and schooling in Worcester County.

WR 65: John S. Hill Collection

WR 69: Ernestine Bailey Papers

  • The Ernestine Bailey Papers are an assortment of documents pertaining to Black history in Worcester County. This includes a membership card for the Maryland State Colored Teachers’ Association and Maryland School Bulletin from Lenora Drummond, who went on to become the secretary for the Worcester County NAACP.

WR 70: Snow Hill Mennonite School Collection

  • This collection consists of yearbooks from The Snow Hill Mennonite School in Snow Hill, Maryland. The school is for 1st to 12th grade students who are members of the congregation of the Snow Hill Mennonite Church, and focuses on education from that religious perspective. The yearbooks cover the years from 1987-1997.

WR 74: Girdletree High School Collection

  • This collection includes items pertaining to Girdletree High School. It consists of one booklet from Girdletree High School, in Girdletree, Maryland. The dates are September 15, 1903- June 15, 1904. It lists the teacher, trustees, and pupils.

WR 78: Buckingham High School collection

  • The Buckingham High School collection contains items related to Buckingham High School in Berlin, Maryland. The collection currently consists of a commencement announcement for the class of 1906.

WR 84: American Field Service Clubs Collection

  • This collection pertains to exchange students coming to Worcester County and living with local families and attending school as part of the American Field Service program. Included are newspaper clippings, photographs, pamphlets, graduation announcements, and letters. The dates covered are 1960-1986.

There are also several photographs and postcards depicting the various schools on our FIickr page. These pictures can be found here

More specific pages on each school are being worked on, so come visit this page later for more information on the schools of Worcester County.

 

Page 1 of Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise, Pocomoke City, Maryland · Saturday, June 02, 1923

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159