Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy

Worcester County

One of the most famous natives of Worcester County was Stephen Decatur, a prominent Naval officer during the War of 1812. Stephen Decatur was born in Sinepuxent on January 5, 1779. He became a midshipman in the U.S. Navy in 1798, and served on the frigate United States during the Quasi-war with France. In 1804, he was a lieutenant on the ship Intrepid, and captured the Philadelphia in a raid on Tripoli harbor. He was promoted to the rank of Captain on February 16, 1804, at the age of 25, making him the youngest captain in the American navy. 

During the War of 1812, Decatur served as a commodore, and captured the HMS Macedonian on October 25, 1812. In 1815 he commanded the President, and was taken prisoner by the British navy. He was released after peace was declared. He served as Navy Commissioner from 1816-1820. He died on March 22, 1820 in a duel with Commodore James Barron. He was the recipient of the Congressional Gold Medal in 1813 in honor of the capture of the HMS Macedonian, as well as the thanks of Congress and a sword for his service before Tripoli.

Stephen Decatur High School, Middle School, Park, and Monument in Berlin, Maryland are named in honor of Decatur. 

The Worcester County Library has a collection of Vertical Files, containing newspaper clippings, articles, and papers related to different topics. There is a file on Decatur, Stephen. This can be viewed in person at the Snow Hill branch.

Further reading on Stephen Decatur can be found at these organizations and websites. 

• Naval History and Heritage Command
  • Historical Figures - Stephen Decatur
  • ZB (Personnel) Files in the Navy Department Library - Decatur, Stephen
  • Stephen Decatur − Actions and Activities
  • Stephen Decatur  −  Engraved Portraits and Similar Depictions
  • The Death of Commodore Decatur
  • Decatur House and Its Distinguished Occupants
  • Sybrant Van Schaick - U.S. Brig Argus Journal
    • Journal kept on board the Argus which Decatur served on from 1803-1804. Journal has not been transcribed, but is available in their library. 
  • Battle of Tripoli Harbor, 3 August 1804 - Selected Naval Documents
  • Barbary Wars, 1801–1805 and 1815
  • Lieutenant Stephen Decatur's Destruction of Philadelphia, Tripoli, Libya, 16 February 1804
  • Documents, Official and Unofficial, Relating to the Case of the Capture and Destruction of the Frigate Philadelphia at Tripoli, on the 16th February 1804
  • Bombardment of Tripoli, 1804 - Old Ironsides' Battle Record: Documents of USS Constitution's Illustrious Deeds
• National Portrait Gallery
  • Image above is a portrait of Stephen Decatur by Charles Bird King, which can be found in the National Portrait Gallery. Source of image is from Wikimedia Commons. 
• American Battlefield Trust
  • Stephen Decatur Biography
• Markers, Monuments, and Namesakes in Worcester County
  • Birthplace of Commodore Stephen Decatur Marker
  • Commodore Stephen Decatur, USN Memorial Marker
    • Historic Memorial Database
    • National War Memorial Registry
  • Stephen Decatur High School
  • Stephen Decatur Middle School
  • Stephen Decatur Park

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the War of 1812 in Worcester County. 

• "Historic B&B near Ocean City with War of 1812 ties on market for $595K," Jeff Clabaugh, Aug. 25, 2017

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the War of 1812 in Maryland. 

Maryland Center for History and Culture

• Source Guide to the War of 1812

Maryland State Archives

• Maryland in the War of 1812 - Historical Chronology 
  • This page gives a timeline of events and an overview of Maryland's participation during the War of 1812.
• Military Records Guide

Maryland State Society United States Daughters of 1812

• A patriotic service organization for women who are descendants of those who served during the War of 1812. 
• Two local chapters are the Commodore Stephen Decatur Chapter (Salisbury), and the Kitty Knight Chapter (Eastern Shore).

National Archives

• War of 1812 - Military Records Research

Ocean City Life Saving Museum

• On the boardwalk next to the Ocean City Life Saving Museum is a British Manufactured Cannon, it has the following inscription: 
  • This cannon was most likely acquired by an American private armed vessel during the Revolutionary War or the War of 1812. It was uncovered in the 1980’s by a developer in front of a warehouse in the Fells Point area of Baltimore, MD. A common practice of the day was to use condemned cannons as ballast and or bollards on piers. Many were used as corner posts on warehouses to prevent wagon wheel hubs from damaging the corners of brick building. Gift of Sewell Brown, Jr.
  • Historical Marker Database

University of Maryland Libraries

• War of 1812 in Maryland

The library has several books related to the War of 1812 in Maryland. 

General 

There are a few national organizations and archives which have records related to the War of 1812.

Ancestry

• War of 1812 Records
• The Worcester County Library has a subscription to Ancestry Library Edition, which you can access while in person at any of our branches. 

Fold3: War of 1812 Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of War of 1812 records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Library of Congress

• War of 1812: A Resource Guide
• War of 1812 Digital Collections

Worcester County

One well known Civil War veteran from Worcester County is Corp. Isaiah Fassett. 

Corporal Isaiah Fassett, affectionately known as Uncle Zear by many, was born into slavery southeast of Berlin in Sinepuxent on March 17, 1844. When he turned nineteen, Fassett's owner exchanged his freedom for $300 in agreement with the Union Army, requiring him to enlist. He joined the 9th United States Colored Troops Company D that same day, November 11, 1963. Fassett fought battles in South Carolina and Virginia and was among the first to occupy Richmond on April 3, 1865. The Army promoted him to corporal after the Confederate capital fell. Once the war ended, he returned to Berlin and lived a full life. Fassett married Sarah Purnell and together they had eight children. He worked as a carpenter alongside one of his sons. In 1938, Fassett attended the four-day observance of the Battle of Gettysburg's 75th anniversary. He heavily involved himself in church at St. Paul's United Methodist and became commander of the Grand Army of the Republic's Berlin post. When it disbanded, Fassett served as the department commander of Delaware from 1943 until his death. In 1944, the town of Berlin held a celebration for Fassett's 100th birthday at Berlin High School. The next-to-last surviving Civil War soldier in Maryland, he died at 102 years old on June 24, 1946.

An informational panel on Fassett was erected by Maryland Civil War Trails, and is located at 229 Branch St., Berlin, MD. The sign was originally installed in 2004, and was updated with new graphics and information in 2018. Maryland Civil War Trails created an online interactive map in September 2019, which included this marker as well as over 1000 more historic sites. 

• Historical Marker Database - Current Sign
• Historical Marker Database - Old Sign   
• National War Memorial Registry 
• Civil War Trails
• "New historic markers go up in Worcester County," Dani Bozzini, WMDT, Oct. 1, 2018
• "Fassett marker designated on Civil War Trails interactive map," Rachel Ravina, Bayside Gazette, Nov. 29, 2019

More information on Corp. Fassett can be found at the following sources:

• "Compass Points – Profiles & Biographies of African Americans from the Delmarva Peninsula," Clara L. Small
• "Berlin to Honor Aged Civil War Vet, Now 100," Democratic Messenger, Mar. 16, 1944
• "Last Veteran of Civil War In Delmarva Peninsula Dies," The News Journal, Jul. 9, 1946
• "Delmarva's Longest Living Civil War Veteran," DelmarvaAlmanac, Aug. 5, 2016
• "Berlin museum adds exhibit with narration for first time," Ally Lanasa, Bayside Gazette, Jul. 9, 2020
  • "Entire Narration of Isaiah Fassett," Calvin B. Taylor House, Apr. 22, 2021
• Isaiah Fassett - Find a Grave Memorial 

The Worcester County Library has the following collections related to the Civil War in Worcester County.

The Worcester County Library has a collection of Vertical Files, containing newspaper clippings, articles, and papers related to different topics. There is a file on Civil War, and Fassett, Isaiah. These can be viewed in person at the Snow Hill branch.

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records from the Civil War in Worcester County. 

"Delmarva's black Civil War soldiers: Casting off slavery, then the South," Jeremy Cox, Delmarva Now, Feb. 2, 2018

• This article includes information about black soldiers during the Civil War, including Corp. Isaiah Fassett.

Graven in Stone and Buried under the Shield: A Guide to Gravestones of Maryland’s Civil War Veterans by Ralph E. Eshelman and A. Douglas Rawlinson

• According to this document, 59 Civil War Veterans are buried in Worcester County. They are listed in the index here on page 970.

Maryland Center for History and Culture

• Curtis W. Jacobs diary and account book
  • The diary and account book of Curtis W. Jacobs, a wealthy Worcester County, Maryland farmer, state legislator, and ardent supporter of slavery. This book primarily details his business transactions, especially those relating to the enslaved people on his farm. The first portion contains the expense accounts related to the building of an addition onto his house as well as Jacobs' narrative justification for sending 38 enslaved persons to work for various men in Wilcox County, Alabama. The second half of the volume offers Jacobs' reflections on the Union Army's recruitment of enslaved people in Maryland, the 1864 state constitution, and Emancipation Day. At the end of the volume, Jacobs lists the enslaved individuals at his farm who were freed when slavery was abolished. (Description via MCHC)

Worcester County Courthouse Marker 

• In front of the Worcester County Courthouse in Snow Hill, Maryland is an informational panel detailing an expedition by Union General Henry H. Lockwood in Snow Hill in November 1861. It was erected by Maryland Civil War Trails. 
• Historical Marker Database
• Civil War Trails

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean Pines, and is dedicated to many who served in Worcester County. There are several Civil War veterans included in this memorial. Their website includes biographies on some of these veterans.  
  • John Wagner
  • Richard Wagner
  • James Wiseman
  • Daniel Zechman

The library has several books related to the Civil War in Worcester County. 

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Civil War in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• Finding Aids
  • Civil War research collections
  • Folklife - The U.S. Civil War
  • Kennesaw Mountain, Battle of Georgia, 1864
  • United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865

Grand Army of the Republic 

• Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) was a Veterans organization for those who served in the American Civil War. It was founded in 1866 in Decatur, Ill, and expanded nationwide. It was dissolved in 1956 after the death of its last member. The GAR helped advocate for patriotic education, for voting rights for black veterans, and to make Memorial Day a national holiday. Other related organizations include Woman's Relief Corps, Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic, Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War, and Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War.
• Some local posts included the following:
  • Dorchester County
    • Post 81, John R. Kenly, Cambridge, MD
  • Kent County 
    • Post 25,Charles Sumner, Chestertown, MD., African American Post
      • Sumner Hall Official Website 
    • Post 64, Ames, Millington, MD., African American Post
  • Queen Annes County
    • Post 56, T. H. Goldsborough, Centreville, MD., African American Post
  • Somerset County 
    • Post 58, John R. Kenly, Crisfield, MD
    • Post 60, Gen. B. F. Butler, Princess Anne, MD., African American Post
    • Post 84, W. J. Porter, Crisfield, MD
  • Talbot County
    • Post 24, Hicks, Easton, MD.
    • Post 61, CPL Joe Johnson, Tunis Mills, MD., African American Post
    • Post 63, Graper, Fishing Point, MD., African American Post
  • Wicomico County 
    • Post 50, Col. S. A. Graham, Salisbury, MD.
    • Post 54, New Shining Light, Tyaskin, MD., African American Post
    • Post 59, Blaine, Quantico, MD
    • Post 62, Levin W. Morris, Salisbury, MD., African American Post
    • Post 83, J. P. Owens, Salisbury, MD
  • Worcester County 
    • Post 36, Shiloh, Pocomoke City, MD.
    • Post 51, John Meade, Berlin, MD., African American Post
    • Post 68, Armstrong, Pocomoke City, MD., African American Post
    • Post 78, William McKinley, Snow Hill, MD
• Grand Army of the Republic Civil War Museum
• Grand Army of the Republic (GAR) Records Project
  • A project by the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War to document the location of records of GAR posts and compile a list of past members.

  • Historical Summary of GAR Posts by State - Maryland

• Grand Army of the Republic and Kindred Societies: A Guide to Resources in the General Collections of the Library of Congress

• Sons of Veterans, U.S.A. Maryland Division Records - University of Baltimore Archives

Maryland Center for History and Culture

• Guide to Civil War Records

Maryland State Archives

• Civil War Research in Maryland
• Military Records Guide

General

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Civil War on a National level. 

American Battlefield Trust

Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War, 1861-1865

Fold3

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of Civil War records. 
  • Civil War
  • Civil War (Union)
  • Civil War (Confederacy) 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Library of Congress 

• Civil War Digital Collections
• U.S. Civil War: Selected Resources at the Library of Congress

National Archives

• Civil War Records: Basic Research Sources

National Woman's Relief Corps

Smithsonian Institution 

• Civil War@Smithsonian 

Sons of Confederate Veterans 

Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War

• National Graves Registration Database

United Daughters of the Confederacy 

Worcester County

The Worcester County Library has the following collections related to World War I in Worcester County.

WR 68: WWI Records

• The WWI Records contains various lists of men and women who served in World War I. Towns include Berlin, Snow Hill, Ocean City, Pocomoke City, Girdletree, Stockton, Newark and Whaleyville. Also, a list of men and one woman whose names do not appear on the list of inductions from Worcester County.

WR 77: Winnie Dryden Notebook

• The Winnie Dryden Notebook contains newspaper clippings and a Composition Book belonging to Winnie Dryden of Snow Hill; all pertaining to World War I soldiers.  Some clippings refer to local soldiers from the eastern shore. Other miscellaneous clippings are not specific to Worcester County.  The composition book has handwritten notes and clippings pasted inside, including World War I soldier clippings and poems.

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War I in Worcester County. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• World War, 1914-1918, Finding Aid

There are also several World War I memorials in Worcester County. 

Worcester County World War I Memorial 

• There is a tablet memorial to those from Worcester County who served and lost their lives in World War I. It was erected by the Snow Hill Women's Club and is in Snow Hill on the Courthouse grounds.
• Transcription:
  • 1917 - 1918 
    This Tablet is a Memorial to the Men of Worcester County Who Gave Their Lives for Their Country in the World War
    Blaine B. Boggs • Ernest Livingstone • Edward J. Bonneville • Wilson U. Martin • Ara J. Bowen • Sewell W. Marshall • Claude J. Brittingham • John C. Merritt • Benjamin H. Carmean • James B. Moore • Andrew H. Collins • Washington J. Mumford • John F. Coulbourne • James E. McKown • John Coulbourne • William H. Payton • Levin S. Fooks • George H. Purnell • A. Walton Hancock • Edward Redden • Charles L. Hicks • Buton N. Reid • Francis E. Hudgon • Louis Spencer • George W. Ladkin • Harry G. Sturgis • George H. Lewis • Charles E. Waters • Lloyd W. Lewis • Allen R. Watson • Elisha C. Hudson • Walter J. West
    And a Tribute to All Who Served
    Erected by the Snow Hill Women's Club
• Information about the memorial can be found here.
  • Historic Marker Database
  • National War Memorial Registry 
  • Information about the construction of the memorial can be found in our collection, WR 21: Snow Hill Woman’s Club records
    • The Snow Hill Woman’s Club records document the clubs history from its founding in 1928 until their dissolve in 1941. One of the long-term projects the Snow Hill Woman’s Club had was raising money to for a war memorial. After four years of operation, the club was able to erect a bronze tablet memorializing the names of those who fought in the war and are from Worcester County. This tablet was placed in front of the Snow Hill Court House on Memorial Day of 1932. 

Ocean City World War I Campaigns of the American Expeditionary Forces Memorial Plaque

• Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry

Swindler Park

• A park in Worcester County near Berlin, MD is named after Leland Swindler. 
• Inscription: This park is dedicated to the memory of Leland Stanford Swindler Brigadier General USMC Born 1893 - Died 1993 Soldier, sailor and marine he entered the service in 1912, served in WWI, the China Campaign, WWII and the Korean War. He was decorated for his accomplishments at the battle of Iwo Jima as commander of the 8th Field Depot and concurrently as the Landing Force Shore Party Commander. He was buried at Arlington National Cemetery with full military honors.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry 

There are many men from Worcester County who gave their lives in service during World War I. Those men are listed below, along with information about their service history, and burial information, if known. 

• PVT Blaine B. Boggs
  • Private, Company C, 312th Machine Gun Battalion, 79th Division. World War I
  • Burial in Arlington National Cemetery, VA
• Edward J. Bonneville
• PVT Ara J. Bowen
  • Private in the US Army and served in the 54th Pioneer Infantry Regiment
  • Cenotaph in Buckingham Cemetery, Berlin, MD
  • Burial in Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial, France
• PVT Claude J. Brittingham
  • PVT 312th M G BN 79th DIVISION MARYLAND
  • Burial in Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial, France
• Benjamin H. Carmean
  • Burial in Bates Methodist Church Cemetery, Snow Hill, MD
• Andrew H. Collins
• John Coulbourne
• John F. Coulbourne
• Levin S. Fooks
• A. Walton Hancock
  • Burial in Bates Methodist Church Cemetery, Snow Hill, MD
• Charles L. Hicks
• Francis E. Hudgon
• CPL Elisha C. Hudson
  • Corporal with the 325th Infantry Regiment, 82nd Infantry Division, U.S. Army during World War I
  • Burial in Bishopville Cemetery, Bishopville, MD
  • Memorial in Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial, France
• George W. Ladkin
• George H. Lewis
• Lloyd W. Lewis
  • Burial in Dale Cemetery, Worcester County, MD
• Ernest Livingstone
• Sewell W. Marshall
• PVT Wilson U. Martin
  • PVT. 28 INF. 1 DIV. Maryland
  • Burial in Makemie Memorial Cemetery, Snow Hill, MD
  • Memorial in Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery and Memorial, France
• James E. McKown
• John C. Merritt
• James B. Moore
• Washington J. Mumford
• William H. Payton
• George H. Purnell
• Edward Redden
• Buton N. Reid
• Louis Spencer
• Harry G. Sturgis
  • Burial in Mount Zion United Methodist Church Cemetery, Pocomoke City, MD
• Charles E. Waters
  • Burial in Coolspring United Methodist Church Cemetery, Girdletree, MD
• Allen R. Watson
• Walter J. West

The library has several books related to World War I in Worcester County. 

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War I in Maryland. 

Maryland Center for History and Culture

• "Get the Message? WWI Propaganda and Life on the Homefront with MCHC," Ashlee Anderson, Nov. 9, 2021
  • Video presentation on WWI propaganda in collaboration with Varsity Tutors.
• The Maryland Military Homefront during World War I

Maryland State Archives

• Maryland World War I Centennial Commission 
• MILITARY DEPARTMENT (Service Record, World War I) T2627, 1917-1919 [Paper]
• Military Records Guide

Preservation Maryland

• "100th Anniversary of U.S. Entrance into WWI," Nicholas A. Redding, Apr. 6, 2017

World War One Centennial Commission

• Maryland and World War I

News Articles

"Salisbury man was first Maryland casualty of WWI," Stephen Gehnrich, Delmarva Now, May 20, 2017

"World War I: Shore soldiers helped turn tide," Stephen Gehnrich, Delmarva Now, Jul. 2, 2018

The library has several books related to World War I in Maryland. 

General

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War I on a National level. 

American Battle Monuments Commission 

Ancestry

• Ancestry has several World War I records including World War I Draft Registration Cards, Sons of the American Revolution Membership Applications, 1889-1970, and World War I Naval Deaths, 1917-1919.
• The Worcester County Library has a subscription to Ancestry Library Edition, which you can access while in person at any of our branches. 

Fold3: World War I Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of World War I records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Library of Congress

• World War I: A Resource Guide
• World War I: Research Portal
• World War I Veterans: Resources in the Veterans History Project

National Archives

• World War I Centennial: Research Portal
• Researching Individuals in WW1 Records - Resources for Genealogists

The National WWI Museum and Memorial

World War One Centennial Commission

Worcester County

The Worcester County Library has the following collections related to World War II in Worcester County.

In our collection WR 9: Various War Papers & Water Surveys is included an Organizational Chart & Personnel of the Civilian Defense Corps of Berlin, Maryland (1941). This Civilian Defense Corps was an organization that was founded in World War II for citizens of the county to be able to assist in case of emergencies.

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War II in Worcester County. 

Genealogy Trails

• Army & Army Air Force Dead & Missing Casualty List, Worcester County, Maryland

Marylanders "Who Gave Their All" During World War II

• Researcher Russ Pickett has compiled a list of soldiers from Worcester County who lost their lives during World War II. His page details 41 people, and includes links to online memorials for all. 

National Archives

• WWII Army Casualties: Maryland, Worcester County
• State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from Maryland, 1946

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum

• The life saving museum has several items in their collections and articles on their website related to Worcester County during World War II
• WWII in Whaleyville, excerpt from "Splendid Isolation - Random Memories of An Eastern Shore Boyhood" by Thomas D. Wimbrow (2007)
• Some artifacts include a War Bond Advertising Hand Fan, Veterans of Foreign Wars Garrison Cap, WWII Helmet, 

News Articles

• "Wagner recalls WWII during OP Veterans Day," by Greg Ellison, Nov 14, 2019
• "Worcester County WWII Vet Receives Grant, Trip to New Orleans," by WBOC Meteorologist John Conway, Sep 23, 2022
• "WWII Ordnance Fragment Found on Assateague," by Sam Russo and Jack Ford, Jul 14, 2024

There are also several World War II memorials in Worcester County. 

Worcester County World War II Veterans Memorial 

• This memorial is dedicated to those who lost their lives serving during World War II. It is located on the lawn of the Worcester County Courthouse in Snow Hill, Maryland.
• Transcription: 
• 1941 - 1946
  This tablet is a memorial to the men of Worcester County who gave their lives for their country in World War II
  Adams, Arthur W. • Bailey, Warren • Barnes, Herman R. • Bonnevidde, Walter P. • Coston, Felton B. • Donoway, Voyd J. • Doushe, Thomas J. • Dungan, Leon L. • Dunn, Leland Law • Ewell, James E. • Ferenczy, Joseph • Hall, Alvin E. • Hastings, Leroy • Hayman, Alfred C., Jr. • Holloway, Archer C. • Horton, Everett Rock • Jones, Lewis E. • Lynch, Charles W. • Lynch, Mark J. • Mason, Leonard John • Matthews, Francis E. • McCabe, William R. • Merrill, Henry F. • Morris, William H. • Nelson, Richard E. • Parker, Walter H. • Payne, William P. • Peede, Floyd B. • Phillips, Wilson L. • Purnell, Edward, H. • Quilien, Norman J. • Quilien, Sydney L. • Scott, Paul J. • Selby, Harry B. • Showell, Daniel W. • Smack, Joseph P. • Stant, Linwood B. • Taylor, John H. • Taylor, Joseph B. • Tilghman, David C. • Townsend, Linwood B. • Vickers, Howard W. • Washington, Olden E. • Wilson, Coulborn S. • Wyatt, Lloyd V. • Hastings, H. Jackson
  And a tribute to all who served

• Information about the memorial can be found here. 

  • Historical Marker Database 

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean City, MD, and honors those who served in all wars from Worcester County. Several men who served in World War II are featured on the Worcester County Veterans Memorial. Their website includes biographies on or stories from these veterans.

Berlin War Veterans Memorial Plaque A

• This memorial is located at 2 West Street, Berlin, MD, and commemorates those from Worcester County who were killed in action or missing in action during World War II. It was presented by the Boggs Disharoon American Legion Auxiliary Unit XX, Berlin, MD and the Burbage Funeral Home in Berlin on May 27, 1995. 
• National War Memorial Registry 

Ocean City High School World War II Memorial

• This memorial is located in the Town of Ocean City offices. The plaque reads:
• Erected by the P.T.A. in honor of students of Ocean City High School who so heroically served in the Armed Forces 1941 - World War II - 1945 and dedicated to the memory of these who sacrificed their lives for democracy, peace, and justice. 
• Linwood E. Townsend, H. Jackson Hastings, Harry E. Selby, Edmund L. Massey, Norman J. Quillen, Mark J. Lynch
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry 

Ocean City World War II Europe - N. Africa Campaign Memorial Plaque

• Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
• Historical Marker Database 
• National War Memorial Registry

Ocean City World War II Pacific Campaign Memorial Plaque

• Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry

Swindler Park

• A park in Worcester County near Berlin, MD is named after Leland Swindler. 
• Inscription: This park is dedicated to the memory of Leland Stanford Swindler Brigadier General USMC Born 1893 - Died 1993 Soldier, sailor and marine he entered the service in 1912, served in WWI, the China Campaign, WWII and the Korean War. He was decorated for his accomplishments at the battle of Iwo Jima as commander of the 8th Field Depot and concurrently as the Landing Force Shore Party Commander. He was buried at Arlington National Cemetery with full military honors.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry 

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War II in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• Finding Aids
  • "The Bulge", Battle of, Belgium, 1945.
  • Atomic Bombings, Hiroshima & Nagasaki, 1945
  • Iwo Jima, Battle of, Japan, 1945.
  • Normandy, Battle of, France,1944.
  • Pearl Harbor (Hawaii), Attack on, 1941
  • Peleliu, Battle of, Palau, 1944.
  • World War II Veterans
  • World War, 1939-1945

Enoch Pratt Free Library

• World War II in Maryland Primary Sources 

Maryland State Archives

• Military Records Guide

General

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to World War I on a National level. 

Fold3: World War II Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of World War II records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Worcester County 

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Cold War in Worcester County. 

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean City, MD, and honors those who served in all wars from Worcester County. Several men who served in the Cold War are featured on the Worcester County Veterans Memorial. Their website includes biographies on these veterans.
  • Robert B. Adair
  • James P. Coyne

Ocean City Smaller Conflicts After WWII Memorial Plaque

• Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
• Includes information on Cuba 1961, Dominican Republic 1965, Lebanon 1982, Grenada 1983, Panama 1989, Gulf War (Kuwait and Iraq) 1991, Somalia 1993, Haiti 1994, Bosnia 1994-1995, Kosovo 1999.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry

Maryland 

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Cold War in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• Finding Aids
  • Cold War
  • Cold War, 1947-1991

Worcester County

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Korean War in Worcester County. 

National Archives

U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Korean War for Home-State-of-Record: Maryland

• PVT Charles Hastings, Army, 1932 - Aug. 15, 1950
  • Member of Company H, 2nd Battalion, 5th Cavalry Regiment, 1st Cavalry Division.
  • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Evergreen Cemetery, Berlin, MD
• 1LT Granville H. Truitt, Army, 1929 - Feb. 23, 1953
  • Member of Company G, 2nd Battalion, 38th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Infantry Division.
  • Awarded posthumous Silver Star.
  • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Bates Methodist Church Cemetery, Snow Hill, MD
• CPL Willie Waters, Army, 1925 - Aug. 11, 1950
  • Member of Company I, 3rd Battalion, 9th Infantry Regiment, 2nd Infantry Division.
  • Awarded Purple Heart, National Defense Service Medal, Korean Service Medal, Republic of Korea Presidential Unit Citation, United Nations Service Medal, Republic of Korea War Service Medal, Combat Infantryman Badge
  • Listed as Missing in Action on August 11, 1950. Presumed dead on December 31, 1953.
  • Find a Grave, Memorial, Honolulu Memorial, Courts of the Missing
  • Find a Grave, Memorial, National Korean War Veterans Memorial, Washington, D.C.
• PFC Esley Wise, Army, 1924  - Jul. 23, 1950

There are several memorials in Worcester County dedicated to those who served in the Korean War.

Worcester County Korean War Memorial Marker

• There is a memorial marker for those from Worcester County who died in service during the Korean War. It is located on the Worcester County Courthouse lawn in Snow Hill, MD.
• Dedicated to the memory of the men of Worcester County who gave their lives for our country in Korea.
• Berrien, Henry Lee • Truitt, Granville Handy • Wise, Esley • Wooten, Clarence T.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry

Berlin War Veterans Memorial Plaque B

• This memorial is located at 2 West Street, Berlin, MD, and commemorates those from Worcester County who were killed during the Korean War. It was dedicated in 1995. 
• National War Memorial Registry 

Ocean City Korean War Memorial Plaque

• Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry

Swindler Park

• A park in Worcester County near Berlin, MD is named after Leland Swindler. 
• Inscription: This park is dedicated to the memory of Leland Stanford Swindler Brigadier General USMC Born 1893 - Died 1993 Soldier, sailor and marine he entered the service in 1912, served in WWI, the China Campaign, WWII and the Korean War. He was decorated for his accomplishments at the battle of Iwo Jima as commander of the 8th Field Depot and concurrently as the Landing Force Shore Party Commander. He was buried at Arlington National Cemetery with full military honors.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry 

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean Pines, and is dedicated to many who served in Worcester County. There are several Korean War veterans included in this memorial. Their website includes biographies on these veterans.  
  • William "Bill" Carper
  • Albert W. "Al" Ferguson
  • Sherman E. Flanagan, Jr.
  • Harry Holowach
  • Palmer Theron McCormac
  • George Mulholland
  • Robert Reinhold
  • Arthur James Tatum
  • Francis P. "Frank" Villani

Maryland 

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Korean War in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• Finding Aids
  • Korean War, 1950-1953
  • Korean War, 1950-1953.

General 

There are a few national organizations and archives which have records related to the Vietnam War. 

Fold3: Korean War Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of Korean War records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Worcester County

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Vietnam War in Worcester County. 

National Archives

• U.S. Military Fatal Casualties of the Vietnam War for Home-State-of-Record: Maryland
  • This record lists those who were killed in action in the Vietnam War from Maryland. Those from Worcester County are listed below. Their memorials are also listed under each veteran. 
  • LCPL Frederick Wood Bivens, Jr., Marine Corps, Pocomoke City, Mar. 19, 1947 - Apr. 30, 1967
    • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Ebenezer Methodist Church Cemetery
    • Find a Grave, Memorial, National Vietnam Veterans Memorial
  • SGT Michael Edward Gordy, Marine Corps, Snow Hill, Nov. 4, 1946 - Apr. 18, 1969
    • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Bates Methodist Church Cemetery
    • Find a Grave, Memorial, National Vietnam Veterans Memorial
  • PFC Alphonso Lee Harmon, Marine Corps, Berlin, Apr. 9, 1946 - Nov. 13, 1967
    • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Atlantic City Cemetery
    • Find a Grave, Memorial, National Vietnam Veterans Memorial
  • MAJ Nutter Jerome Wimbrow III, Air Force, Whaleysville, Mar. 12, 1939 - Dec. 26, 1972
    • Find a Grave, Burial Site, Dale Cemetery
    • Find a Grave, Memorial, Honolulu Memorial
    • Find a Grave, Memorial, National Vietnam Veterans Memorial

Vietnam Veterans of America - Ocean City Chapter 1091

• The Vietnam Veterans of America was founded in 1978 to support Vietnam veterans and their families. This chapter was founded in 2013, and chartered in 2014. They focus on providing programs and education to support Veterans, active military personnel, and their families. They meet at the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD. 

Worcester County Vietnam War Memorial Marker

• There is a memorial marker for those from Worcester County who died in service during the Vietnam War. There have been two plaques in this spot dedicated to Vietnam veterans. The first plaque listed 18 names, and had the following inscription
  • Dedicated to the Memory of the Men of Worcester County Who Gave Their Lives For Our Country in Vietnam.
    Berger, Barry Howard • Bivens, Frederick Wood, Jr. • Briddell, Charles Littleton • Brown, Mitchell David • Gordy, Dennis Welton • Gordy, Michael Edward • Harmon, Alphonso Lee • Hayward, Lewis Morrison • Holland, John Devolt • Marshall, Frank Freddy, Jr. • Merrill, Gregory Vincent • Pusey, Kenneth Lee • Savage, Roland Clifton • Smack, John Kenneth • Sturgis, Ronald Lee • Trower, Robert Lee • Whealton, Richard, Jr. • Wimbrow, Nutter Jerome III
• There was some pushback from the community regarding the plaque, as community members argued that some of those listed did not die in Vietnam, and others were not from Worcester County. The plaque was updated around 2022-2023, and despite changes, still had pushback from community regarding accuracy. The new plaque reads as follows
  • Dedicated to the Memory of the Men of Worcester County and All Others Who Gave Their Lives in Service For Our Country During the Vietnam War
    Berger, Barry Howard • Bivens, Frederick Wood, Jr. • Briddell, Charles Littleton • Gordy, Michael Edward • Harmon, Alphonso Lee • Hayward, Lewis Morrison • Wimbrow, Nutter Jerome III
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry 
• "County Disappoints With Memorial Handling, Voices From The Readers," Rhonda Dykes, Belva Dennis, Abby Mason, The Dispatch, Oct. 12, 2023

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean Pines, and is dedicated to many who served in Worcester County. There are several Vietnam War veterans included in this memorial. In 2018, a memorial bench was added to the memorial which recognizes eight local men who were killed during the Vietnam War; Barry H. Berger of Ocean City, Frederick W. Bivens of Pocomoke, Charles L. Briddle of Berlin, Michael E. Gordy of Snow Hill, Alphonso L. Harmon of Berlin, Lewis M. Haywood of Pocomoke, Freddie Marshall Jr. of Snow Hill and Nutter J. Wimbrow III of Whaleyville. In April 2021, a traveling Vietnam Veterans Memorial exhibit visited Ocean Pines. The following year, thanks to a gift from the Vietnam Veterans Memorial Fund in Washington D.C., the exhibit was able to be made a permanent display at the memorial. The display is a panel The Wall That Heals, which names 516 soldiers who died during the Vietnam War. 

• "Fallen troops honored as Vietnam memorial bench unveiled in Ocean Pines," Gray Hughes, The Daily Times, Mar. 30, 2018
• "Bench Honors Eight Worcester Men Killed In Vietnam War," Charlene Sharpe, The Dispatch, Apr. 2, 2018
• "Vietnam memorial rolls into Pines," Greg Ellison, Bayside Gazette, Apr. 22, 2021
• "Worcester County Veterans Memorial service returns, addition of new panel honoring Vietnam soldiers," Javari Burnett, WMDT, May 30, 2022
• Several men who served in the Vietnam War are featured on the Worcester County Veterans Memorial. Their website includes biographies on these veterans.  
  • Robert B. Adair 
  • Barry Howard Berger
  • Charles Dennis "Denny" Bowers 
  • James P. Coyne
  • Sherman E. Flanagan, Jr.
  • Michael Edward Gordy
  • David Meldrum Hart
  • Glenn Carroll Hoppert
  • George Mulholland
  • William "Bill" Rakow
  • E. Jack Tyndall
  • Nutter Jerome Wimbrow, III

Berlin War Veterans Memorial Plaque C

• This memorial is located at 2 West Street, Berlin, MD, and commemorates those from Worcester County who were killed during the Vietnam War. It was dedicated in 1995. 
• National War Memorial Registry 

U.S.S. Decatur Memorial Anchor & Plaque 

• This memorial is located in Stephen Decatur Park in Berlin, MD.
• The plaque is displayed on a large anchor and reads: Anchor from the U.S.S. Decatur, (DD-936) Forrest Sherman Class. Commissioned in 1956. Decommissioned in 1965. Re-commissioned in 1967. Decommissioned in 1983, receiving 6 battle stars for Vietnam service. This anchor was obtained through the best efforts of the Class of 1967, Scott Wimbrow Contractors, Berlin/OC Jaycees and other alumni.
• National War Memorial Registry - Plaque 
• National War Memorial Registry - Anchor

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to the Vietnam War in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Research Center at Salisbury University

• Finding Aids
  • Vietnam War
  • Vietnam War, 1955-1975

General 

There are a few national organizations and archives which have records related to the Vietnam War. 

Fold3: Vietnam War Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of Vietnam War records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

Following the September 11 attacks in 2001, the United States led a campaign to target militant organizations such as Al-Qaeda and Taliban. This was referred to as "The War on Terror," or the official name the "Global War on Terrorism" In 2009, the name of this operation was changed to "Overseas Contingency Operation." Another campaign under this conflict was "Operation Inherent Resolve," begun in 2014.

This conflict included the War in Afghanistan (2001-2021), The Iraq War, or Second Gulf War (2003-2011), and The War in Iraq (2013-2017).

Worcester County

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to these wars in Worcester County.

News Articles 

• "Bronze Star Winner returns home," Bayside Gazette 

PFC SAMUEL R. BOWEN
Samuel Bowen Blvd, Berlin, MD Interpretive Sign
Berlin native Private First Class (PFC) Samuel Robert "Smokey" Bowen, born on September 6, 1965, grew up on Flower Street and surrounding areas. Bowen graduated from Stephen Decatur High School in 1983 and enlisted in the U. S. Army five years later. During this stint, he gained a love for cooking and became a fixture in many local restaurants after retiring in 1991. Bowen moved to Ohio and joined the 216th Engineer Battalion of the Ohio National Guard in 1999, later marrying his wife Melanie. Though he was a cook, he volunteered to be closer to action. While dispatched to Iraq on June 16, 2004, Bowen carried a fellow soldier to safety after they were both wounded by shrapnel, earning him the Bronze Star. On July 7, a grenade fatally wounded him, making him the 1,000th soldier to die in the war. Nearly 500 supporters attended his local memorial service at St. Paul United Methodist Church. Bowen was posthumously promoted to PFC and awarded the Purple Heart, Distinguished Service of Ohio, and Defender of Freedom medals. On Memorial Day in 2013, Berlin dedicated Samuel Bowen Boulevard and an interpretive sign to the town's first native killed in Iraq.

There are a few memorials in Worcester County dedicated to those who served in the Middle East. 

Worcester County Veterans Memorial

• This memorial is located in Ocean City, MD, and honors those who served in all wars from Worcester County. Several men who served in the wars in Afghanistan or Iraq are featured on the Worcester County Veterans Memorial. Their website includes biographies on these veterans.
  • Pfc. Samuel R. Bowen
  • Christopher F. "Chris" Carper
  • Agnes Frances Carney Gilsdorf

World Trade Center Beam 

• This plaque is located at Firefighter's Plaza on the South Boardwalk in Ocean City, MD.
• Inscription: Once part of the World Trade Center, this twisted piece of steel rests here as an enduring memorial to the 343 New York City firefighters who perished in their desperate attempt to save lives on September 11, 2001. We will never forget.
• Historical Marker Database
• National War Memorial Registry - Memorial
• National War Memorial Registry - Plaque 

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to these wars in Maryland. 

Edward Nabb Center at Salisbury University

• Iraq War, 2003-2011

General 

There are a few national organizations and archives which have records related to the these wars.

Fold3: Afghan War Records

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes several publications of World War II records. 
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card. 

National Archives

• George W. Bush Presidential Library
  • This library is operated by the National Archives and Records Administration, and preserves and shares records of the Administration of President George W. Bush. They have a few research guides related to these conflicts. 
  • Global War on Terror
  • The Iraq War
  • September 11, 2001 Terrorist Attacks

The library has several books related to the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Worcester County

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to miscellaneous wars, veterans organizations, and military actions in Worcester County.

News Articles

• "Wounded warriors: ‘They’re warriors forever’," Brian Shane, DelmarvaNow, Nov. 11, 2014
• "Worcester County Veterans Remember Their Friends and Family Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice," Kyle Orens, WBOC, May 29, 2023

Veterans Organizations and Support

American Legion - Synepuxent Post 166

• The American Legion is a Veterans Service organization that was founded in 1919. Post 166 is located in Ocean City, Maryland, and was founded in 1946. They first met at Sacco's Restaurant in downtown Ocean City, then the John Dale Showell building, before purchasing the land they are currently on in 1950, and constructing the present building in 1953-1954. Post 166 currently has over 800 members, and participates in Memorial Day and Veterans Day observances in Ocean City and Worcester County. They also have a colorguard that attends special events, sponsor local Scouts groups, and provide scholarships to local high school students.

Maryland's Commitment to Veterans - Worcester County 

Memorials

• Berlin War Veterans Memorial
  • This memorial, located at 2 West Street Berlin, MD in 1995 is dedicated to soldiers from Worcester County who served and died in military service. There are plaques for those who served in World War II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War, which are listed under their respective headings. More information about this memorial can be found here
    • National War Memorial Registry
  • There are also a few sections of this memorial dedicated to those in wars not listed above, they are the following:
    • Berlin War Veterans Memorial Dedication Stone
      • This memorial reads "To Those Who Served, In Honor of the Living, In Memory of the Dead" and honors all veterans. 
      • National War Memorial Registry
    • Berlin War Veterans Memorial Plaque D
      • This memorial honors LCPL Charles Keith Bailey, who served in the Lebanon Marine Barracks. 
      • National War Memorial Registry
• In Memory of the Deceased Who Served to Protect Our Country
  • War memorial tablet located on the lawn of Pocomoke City Hall & Municipal Building. 
  • Reads: In Memory of the Deceased Who Served to Protect Our Country Honor the Dead by Helping the Living V.F.W. Post 8622
  • Historical Marker Database 
  • National War Memorial Registry 
• Northside Park Military Flag Plaza & Memorial
  • Inscription: Dedicated in honor of all who have served our country in the United States Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard and Merchant Marine in this and every generation from a grateful community. Saturday, May 21, 2005. The Love of America Committee & the Town of Ocean City.
  • Historical Marker Database

• Ocean City Smaller Conflicts After WWII Memorial Plaque

  • Located in the American Legion Post 166 in Ocean City, MD
  • Includes information on Cuba 1961, Dominican Republic 1965, Lebanon 1982, Grenada 1983, Panama 1989, Gulf War (Kuwait and Iraq) 1991, Somalia 1993, Haiti 1994, Bosnia 1994-1995, Kosovo 1999.
  • Historical Marker Database
  • National War Memorial Registry
• Worcester County Veterans Memorial
  • This memorial is located in Ocean Pines, MD, and honors those who served in all wars from Worcester County. Several people who served in the military branches during times other than the wars listed above are honored on this memorial. Their website includes biographies on these veterans.
    • Ed Moran
    • Kenneth Stickevers

The library has several books related to the Worcester County's involvement in other wars.

Maryland

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to miscellaneous wars, veterans organizations, and military actions in Maryland.

Edward Nabb Center

Finding Aid

• Folklife - Army
• Folklife - ROTC
• Folklife - War
• Gulf War
• Military History
• Military service --- United States
• Philippine-American War, 1899-1902
• Spanish-American War, 1898
• War

Maryland Center for History and Culture

• Source Guide to Maritime Collections

Maryland State Archives

• Military Records Guide

National Archives

• Researching Military Records at the National Archives

General

The following organizations, archives, and websites have information and records related to miscellaneous wars, veterans organizations, and military actions on a National level.

Fold3

• Fold3 is a database of military records owned by Ancestry. Their collection includes records for many wars. Some not listed above include
  • Indian and Mexican American Wars
  • Spanish American War Records
• If you are a resident of Maryland, the Enoch Pratt Free Library has a subscription to Fold3 Library Edition. Maryland residents can get an eCard here, or visit in person to get a physical card.