Interested in Local History and Genealogy? Look no further! This guide will show you all the resources we have to offer at the Worcester County Library regarding Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogical research.
The main Local History and Genealogy collection is located at the Snow Hill Branch, named the Worcester Room. However, the other four branches also have a Local History and Genealogy collection, located in Maryland Rooms.
The Worcester County Library is dedicated to preserving the history of Worcester County, Md. In doing so, we have amassed a medium sized archive of special collections that we are making available to our patrons.
The Oral History & Folklife collection - included are ~100 oral histories bringing to life the history of Worcester County, Md.
The Historical Photograph collection - included are ~3,000 photographs of Worcester County, Md.
William D. Pitts Collection - This collection comprises 19,780 items of land survey records relating to Worcester County and lands just beyond the County's borders. Materials date from 1677 to 1982.
High School Yearbook collections - we have many yearbooks of all the high schools in Worcester County, Md going as far back as 1904
Records/Papers - we have many records and papers of clubs, businesses, and individuals from Worcester County, Md.
The main genealogy collection for the Worcester County Library resides in the Worcester Room in the Snow Hill Branch. The Worcester Room has an extensive collection of Genealogy resources.
The Worcester Room's focus is the Genealogy and Local History of Worcester County, Maryland. However, our collection also contains many resources from our neighbor counties: Somerset, Wicomico, Accomack (VA), and Sussex (DE), as well as other holdings from throughout Maryland, Delaware and Virginia. The Worcester Room is open during our regular branch hours.
The Worcester Room collection contains books, maps, microfilm, tree charts and file folders, and other research sources.
Need some helpful tips on how to manage your own personal collection? We have a guide on how to manage your family treasures.
With this guide we will be discussing how to self preserve:
1. Family Papers
2. Print Photographs
3. Digital Prints