Archive Collections Portal

WR 23: Snow Hill High School collection

8 document boxes (3.5 cubic feet)

(1904-2011)

Bulk: 1928-1976

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:	WR 23
Creator(s):	Snow Hill High School
Acquisition:	The Snow Hill High School collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by multiple different donors. The known donors are Janet Cooper, Peggy Peacock, Ann Hope, Edward Harris, with the rest being unknown.
Language(s):	English
Use:	Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:	“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:	Finding aid written by Alec Staley, September 2019, updated by Erin Pogue, October 2022, June 2023.
Related Materials:	None
Separated Materials:	None

---

Abstract

The Snow Hill High School collection mostly contains documents pertaining to Snow Hill High School. A large portion of this collection is the yearbooks that the Snow Hill High School has released. Although this collection does not include every year’s yearbook, it does cover many years from 1904-2011. However, the majority of the yearbooks cover the years of 1928- 1976.

The Snow Hill High School has changed the name of their yearbooks a few times. The yearbook names included in this collection are: “Fifteen-Two”, “The Representative”, “Round Up”, “The Keyhole”, “Eagle’s Eye”, and “Traces”. 

Also included in this collection are various memorabilia pieces that pertain to the Snow Hill High School. These cover topics such as graduation, reunions, school newspapers, clubs and organizations and includes newspaper clippings, handbills, programs, graduation announcements, and class notes. 

---

Administrative History / Biographical Note

The Snow Hill High School was founded in 1867 by Rev. William Mackey. It was located on Federal and Morris Streets until 1885 when the building was rebuilt. In 1937 a brick Georgian style building was constructed at Church and Ironshire Street. Originally, this 1937 school served only as a high school. This building then turned into an elementary school in 1957 after middle schools were established in the United States. In 1958, a modern brick building was constructed on Church Street. This building cost $819, 746 dollars to build. The high school’s enrollment in 1958 was 345 students. This is the same Snow Hill High School that is present today. There have been three renovations on the building. The first renovation was in 1966, the second in 1982, and the third in 2014.

The Snow Hill High School was segregated until 1970. Before 1970, black Americans living in Snow Hill had to go to the Worcester High School. The Worcester High School was located at the present day site of the Worcester Technical High School on Route 113 in Newark, Maryland.

---

Scope and Content Note

Series I: Yearbooks, 1904-2011: Included in this series are the yearbooks for the Snow Hill High School. Included is the “Fifteen-Two” 1904 yearbook, “The Representative” 1928-1932 yearbooks, “Round Up” 1939 yearbook, “The Keyhole” 1946 yearbook, “Eagle’s Eye” 1947-1970 yearbooks, and “Traces” 1974-2011 yearbooks.

*Not every yearbook from 1904-2011 is in this collection.

Series II: Commencement, 1917-1968: Included in this series are documents related to the commencement exercises at Snow Hill High School. This includes invitations, programs, newspaper clippings, and class notes.

Series III: Reunions, 1953-1997: Included in this series are items related to the reunion activities of Snow Hill High School graduates. This includes newspaper clippings, and programs from reunion events.

Series IV: School Newspapers, 1922-1988: Included in this series are newspapers and newsletters written by the students of Snow Hill High School. The name of this paper has changed over time, with the two in this collection being called “The Representative” and “The Eagle”.

Series V: Clubs and Organizations, 1929-1973: Included in this series are papers relating to the activities of Snow Hill High School clubs and organizations. These include concerts, plays, sports, or any other school groups. The collection consists of programs, pamphlets, and newspaper clippings. 

Series VI: Misc. Memorabilia, 1958: This series includes any documents pertaining to the Snow Hill High School that do not fall under any other series. It consists of the program for the dedication of the Snow Hill building

---

Arrangement Statement

The Snow Hill High School collection has been arranged into six series, YEARBOOKS, COMMENCEMENT, REUNIONS, SCHOOL NEWSPAPERS, CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS, and MISC. MEMORABILIA.

Yearbooks are dated based on the year of graduation rather than the academic school year (ex. Class of 1947 will be dated 1947 rather than 1946-1947). The Yearbooks are also organized chronologically. All other series are sorted chronologically as well. Reunions are sorted chronologically by graduation year, not by the year of the reunion.

Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

---

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Education

High School

Snow Hill (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century

Yearbooks

Corporate Names

Snow Hill High School

Location Terms

Snow Hill (Md.)

---

Inventory List

Series I: Yearbooks

Box 1

1. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
2. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
3. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
4. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
5. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
6. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
7. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904
8. Yearbook, Fifteen-Two, 1904

 

Box 2

1. Yearbook, The Representative, 1927
2. Yearbook, The Representative, 1928
3. Yearbook, The Representative, 1928
4. Yearbook, The Representative, 1929
5. Yearbook, The Representative, 1929
6. Yearbook, The Representative, 1929
7. Yearbook, The Representative, 1930
8. Yearbook, The Representative, 1930
9. Yearbook, The Representative, 1931
10. Yearbook, The Representative, 1931
11. Yearbook, The Representative, 1931
12. Yearbook, The Representative, 1931
13. Yearbook, The Representative, 1931
14. Yearbook, The Representative, 1932
15. Yearbook, Round Up, 1939
16. Yearbook, Round Up, 1939
17. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1946
18. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1946
19. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1946
20. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1946
21. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1946
22. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1947

 

Box 3

1. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1948
2. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1948
3. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1948
4. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1949
5. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1951
6. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1952
7. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1953
8. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1953
9. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1957

 

Box 4

1. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1958
2. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1959
3. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1961
4. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1961
5. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1963
6. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1964
7. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1965

 

Box 5

1. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1966
2. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1966
3. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1966
4. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1967
5. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1968
6. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1969
7. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1969

 

Box 6

1. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1970
2. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1972
3. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1972
4. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1974
5. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye. 1975
6. Yearbook, Eagle’s Eye, 1975

 

Box 7

1. Yearbook, Traces, 1975
2. Yearbook, Traces, 1976
3. Yearbook, Traces, 1987
4. Yearbook, Traces, 2002
5. Yearbook, Traces, 2006
6. Yearbook, Traces, 2009
7. Yearbook, Traces, 2010
8. Yearbook, Traces, 2011

Box 8

Series II: Commencement

1. Commencement Invitation, 1917
2. Commencement Program, 1922
3. Commencement Program, 1924
4. Commencement Invitation, 1931
5. Commencement Program, 1931
6. Commencement Invitation, 1933
7. Class Notes, 1933
8. Commencement Newspaper Clipping, 1937
9. Commencement Invitation, 1937
10. Commencement Invitation, 1937
11. Commencement Program, 1937
12. Class Notes, 1937
13. Commencement Program, 1945
14. Newspaper Clipping: “Snow Hill High School Will Graduate 34 Students Next Thursday June 5,” 1952
15. Commencement Program, 1968
16. Commencement Invitation for Katherine Shockley
17. Commencement Invitation for Charlotte Ann Warren

Series III: Reunions

18. Newspaper Clipping: “Snow Hill High Graduates Of 1903; Five Still Living,” 1953
19. Newspaper Clipping: “50^th Reunion” for Class of 1917, 1967
20. Newspaper Clipping: “SHHS Class of ’23 Has Reunion”, 1963
21. Newspaper Clipping: “Class of 1923 Snow Hill High Held Reunion”, 1953
22. Newspaper Clipping: “Ten From 1923 Graduating Class Met for Reunion”, 1958
23. Newspaper Clipping: 1923 Class Reunion, 1958
24. Newspaper Clipping on 50^th Reunion of Class of 1923, 1973
25. Newspaper Clipping on 50^th Reunion of Class of 1925, 1975
26. Newspaper Clipping: “Class of 1929 Has First Reunion,”  1959
27. Newspaper Clipping: “Class of 1932, Snow Hill High School, Hold Reunion 20 Years After,” 1952
28. Newspaper Clipping on 20^th Reunion of Class of 1937: “Reunites for 1st Time in 20 Years”, 1957
29. Newspaper Clipping on 30^th Reunion of Class of 1937, 1967
30. Newspaper Clipping on 40^th Reunion of Class of 1937: “Then…And Now”, 1977
31. Newspaper Clipping Scan: “Snow Hill High class of 1937 has reunion”, 1997
32. Class of 1937 60^th Reunion Program, 1997
33. Newspaper Clipping, “Reunion Held by Class of 1940, Snow Hill High School, ” 1952
34. Newspaper Clipping, “Reunion- Class of 1942,” 1960
35. Newspaper Clipping, “Class of ’46 Holds Rollicking Reunion,” 1961
36. Class of 1965 25^th Reunion Program, 1990

Series IV: School Newspapers

37. The Representative, October 1922
38. The Representative, October 1922, incomplete
39. The Representative, December 1922
40. The Representative, January 1923
41. The Representative, March 1923
42. The Representative, March 1923
43. The Representative, March 1924
44. The Representative, March 1926
45. The Representative, April 1926
46. The Representative, March 1927
47. The Representative, October 1927
48. The Representative, October 1928
49. The Representative, October 1928
50. The Representative, November 1928
51. The Representative, December 1928
52. The Representative, January 1929
53. The Representative, February 1929
54. The Representative, February 1929
55. The Representative, March 1929
56. The Representative, April 1929
57. The Representative, October 1929
58. The Representative, November 1929
59. The Representative, December 1929
60. The Representative, January 1930
61. The Representative, February 1930
62. The Representative, February 1930
63. The Representative, March 1930
64. The Representative, March 1930
65. The Representative, April 1930
66. The Representative, October 1930
67. The Representative, November 1930
68. The Representative, December 1930
69. The Representative, January 1931
70. The Representative, February 1931
71. The Representative, March 1931
72. The Representative, April 1931
73. The Representative, January 1932
74. Merry Christmas Service Broadcast, December 1944
75. The Eagle, January 1988

Series V: Clubs and Organizations

52. Program, Senior Class Play “Purple Towers”, 1929
53. Newspaper Clipping: “’Tulip Time’ will be Presented in New Auditorium December Second”, 1930
54. Program, Senior Class Play “Sue”, 1931
55. Program, PTA Play “Dying to Live”, 1935
56. Program, Senior Class Play “Gentlemen Prefer Blondes”, 1969
57. Football Pamphlet, 1973

Series VI: Misc. Memorabilia

52. Dedication Program, 1958

Attached Documents

Digitized versions of several of the documents can be viewed on CatalogIt here.