Skip to Main Content

Archive Collections Portal

WR 84: American Field Service Clubs Collection

2 document boxes

(1960-1986)

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:

 WR 84
Creator(s): This collection was compiled by Joanne Mason. The items in this collection were created by several creators.
Acquisition:

Unknown
Language(s): English
Use: Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:

“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:

Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, February 2023.
Related Materials: WR 23: Snow Hill High School collection, WR 28: Stephen Decatur High School collection, WR 29: Pocomoke High School collection
Separated Materials: None.

Abstract

This collection pertains to exchange students coming to Worcester County and living with local families and attending school as part of the American Field Service program. Included are newspaper clippings, photographs, pamphlets, graduation announcements, and letters. The dates covered are 1960-1986.

Administrative History

The American Field Service first began in 1915 during World War I as the American Ambulance Field Service, which was a group of American volunteers who helped the French army transport wounded soldiers to hospitals. By 1917 they no longer served only as medical transportation, but worked in other aspects of military transportation, changing their name to simply American Field Service. The group served as an ambulance service again during World War II. After the world wars, the organization shifted away from a military based group, and established the American Field Service International Scholarships, which brought students from across the world to study at high schools in America. The Worcester County schools participated in this program, starting in 1960 at Snow Hill High School, but expanding to the other high schools in the area. Between 1960 and 1986, students came to study from Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Finland, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Italy, Jordan, the Netherlands, Peru, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, and more countries. They also participated in the Americans Abroad program, where Worcester County students studied in countries around the globe. The AFS program still is in existence, with over 50 organizations in over 80 countries. It is unknown if the Worcester County Public Schools still participates in this organization.

Scope and Content Note

This collection was originally in the format of a scrapbook containing newspaper clippings, photographs, graduation announcements, letters, and other materials related to the students who studied abroad. Over time the scrapbook has deteriorated, and it has been mostly disassembled to preserve the items within. Where possible, the items have been kept in their original order and layout. The original scrapbook was in a loose chronological order, so this collection follows suit.

Arrangement Statement 

The American Field Service Clubs collection has been arranged in the same order as the original scrapbook, which is loosely in chronological order, with articles on each student typically grouped together. The collection organization has not been altered from the original organization, so the chronological organization is not exact.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

             Education

             Travel

Corporate Names

Americans Abroad

American Field Service

Pocomoke High School

Snow Hill High School

Stephen Decatur High School

Worcester County Public Schools

Personal Names

             Galatti, Stephen

             Hansen-Stomner, Britt

             Leenen, Helga

             Lorca-Marino, Maria

Mason, Joanne D.

             Location Names

Berlin (Md.)

Pocomoke City (Md.)

Snow Hill (Md.)

Inventory List

Box 1

Folder 1 (1960-1972)

  1. “American Field Service International Scholarships” pamphlet
  2. Stephen Galatti biographic notes, 1964
  3. Newspaper clipping: “Miss Stomner of Norway to Attend Snow Hill High”, 1960 (in 3 pieces)
  4. Photograph of Britt Hansen-Stomner and unknown boy
  5. Newspaper clipping: “Political Campaigns and Election Thrill Norwegian Exchange Student” (in 3 pieces)
  6. Newspaper clipping: “Walk Together Talk Together” by Joanne Mason, Mar. 1970
  7. Photograph of Britt Hansen-Stomner, 1961
  8. Correspondence between Mr. & Mrs. Stomner and Mr. & Mrs. Mason (with envelope), Dec. 1961
  9. Christmas card from Britt Stomner to Mr. & Mrs. Mason
  10. Snow Hill High School Commencement Invitation for Brit Hansen-Stomner, 1961
  11. Newspaper clipping: "Norwegian Exchange Student Finds Skiing on Water Exciting Twist”
  12. Newspaper clipping: “Exchange Student ‘Tachy’ Likes ‘Real Green Town’” (2 pieces), Dec. 1961
  13. Newspaper clipping “Second Exchange Student for 62-63 Arrives in County Last Thursday”, 1962
  14. Correspondence between Helga Leenen and Mr. & Mrs. Mason, Feb. 1963
  15. Newspaper clipping: “Scouts Sit With Helga”, Mar. 1963
  16. Newspaper clipping: “Mudje’s Engaged”, (Mujde Yurdacan)
  17. Photograph of Nic, note to Miss Joanne on reverse
  18. Christmas card from Nic to Unknown, 1964
  19. Photograph of Nic with Christmas message to Mason family, 1965
  20. Christmas card, from Nic to Mason family, 1969
  21. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student”, 1964
  22. Photograph of Catherina deBeaufort in Netherlands
  23. Photograph of deBeaufort family in Netherlands
  24. Newspaper clipping, “Girl From Brazil to be Snow Hill Exchange Pupil” (Tania “Nika” Lindermann), July 1966
  25. Newspaper clipping, “Christmas Story in Brazil” (Tania “Nika” Lindermann), 1966
  26. Newspaper clipping: “Birthday Party (Tania “Nika” Lindermann)”
  27. Christmas card from Nika to Mrs. Mason, Dec. 1967
  28. Newspaper clipping: Members of Mortonettes in Washington, July 1967
  29. Newspaper clipping: “Stephen Decatur Has Exchange Student for ‘67” (Teresa Colace), 1966
  30. Newspaper clipping: “41 Exchange Students Have Stay in County”, July 1967
  31. Newspaper clipping: “41 Foreign Students Visit Beachcomber Land”, July 1967
  32. Newspaper clipping: “Exchange Students Play in Surf at Ocean City”, July 1967
  33. Newspaper clipping: “42 AFS Students Visit Salisbury”, July 1978

Folder 2 (1960-1972)

  1. Newspaper clipping “South African Student to Study in Snow Hill” (Sheila McKenzie), 1967
  2. Newspaper clipping “Seventh Foreign Student Coming to Snow Hill” (Sheila McKenzie), 1967
  3. Newspaper clipping “S.H.H.S.’s South African Exchange Student” (Sheila McKenzie), 1968
  4. Newspaper clipping “South African Yule in Summer” (Sheila McKenzie)
  5. Correspondence, Sheila McKenzie to Masons, 1967
  6. Newspaper clipping “Girls Upset by Pocomoke” 1967
  7. Newspaper clipping, “Fish Story,” 1967
  8. Newspaper clipping, “Visit to Snow Hill” 1968
  9. Newspaper clipping, “SHHS Cleanup”
  10. Newspaper clipping, “May Court”
  11. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Senior Due to Graduate” 1968
  12. Commencement invitation Snow Hill High School Sheila Mackenzie, 1968
  13. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Hit at Critics” 1968
  14. Correspondence between “Mrs. Joanne” and “DeeDee”, 1967
  15. Photos of exchange students
  16. Newsletter regarding Sheila McKenzie, 1967
  17. Newspaper clipping, Engagement of Carina de Beaufort and Patrick Goossens, 1968
  18. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Sturgis AFS Exchange Student” (Ann Sturgis), 1967
  19. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Girl Left this Week for England Trip” (Ann Sturgis), 1967
  20. Newspaper clipping regarding Ann Sturgis, 1968
  21. Photograph, Sheila Mackenzie, Becky Payne, and unidentified person(s)
  22. Photograph, Sheila Mackenzie, Becky Payne, and unidentified person(s)
  23. Photograph, Sheila Mackenzie, Becky Payne, and unidentified person(s)
  24. Newspaper clipping, “SHHS Student to be in Brazil for Year” (Lee Shockley), 1968
  25. Postcard from Lee Shockley to Mrs. Ralph Mason, 1968
  26. Christmas card from Sheila Mackenzie to Masons, 1969
  27. Newspaper clipping, “Lucinda Lee Shockley”
  28. Postcard from Lee Shockley to AFS Committee, 1968
  29. Newspaper clipping, “1969 May Court at Snow Hill High School” (Lee Shockley), 1969
  30. Newspaper clipping, “Lee Honored by Party” 1969
  31. Photograph of Lee Shockley at party 1969
  32. Photograph of Lee Shockley at party 1969
  33. Newspaper clipping, “Exchangee Speaks to Women” (Lee Shockley), 1969
  34. Photograph of AFS Bake club
  35. Newspaper clipping, “Editor’s Scratch Pad by Dick Moore,” Jul 1968
  36. Newspaper clipping, “Paul Parsons Named as Exchangee From Snow Hill” 1968
  37. Newspaper clipping, “Ordained” (Paul Parsons), Jun 1978
  38. Newspaper clipping, “Letter Sent by Exchangee to Local Residents” by Paul Parsons (2 parts) July 1968
  39. Newspaper clipping, “Paul H. Parsons”
  40. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student Named to Come to Snow Hill” (Raul Tettamanti), Aug 1968
  41. Newspaper clipping, “Raul Oscar Eduard Tettamanti”
  42. Photograph of Raul Tettamanti and Carina de Beaufort, Aug 1968
  43. Photograph of Raul Tettamanti and host parents Louis and Loretta Shockley, 1968
  44. News clipping “Walk Together Talk Together” (Carina de Beaufort), Mar 1968
  45. Photograph at Frontier Town of Raul Tettamanti, Carina deBeaufort, and two others, Aug 1968
  46. Photograph of Carina de Beaufort and Loretta Shockley
  47. Photograph of Carina de Beaufort and Louis Shockley
  48. Photograph of Raul Tettamanti, Loretta Shockley, and Louis Shockley
  49. Photograph of Raul Tettamanti, Carina de Beaufort, Lois Shockley, and Lynn Shockley
  50. Photograph of Carina de Beaufort, Lois Shockley, and Lynn Shockley
  51. Photograph of unknown girls at the beach
  52. Photograph of unknown girls at the beach
  53. Newspaper clipping, “Worcester Family Opens Its Heart to Students” (photograph of Raul Tettamanti, Lynn Shockley, Carina de Beaufort, and Louis Shockley Jr.), Aug 1968
  54. Commencement Invitation, Snow Hill High School, Raul Tettamanti, June 1969
  55. Ribbon labelled “Raul Tettamanti, Argentina, 1968-1969”
  56. Newspaper clipping, “90 Degrees at Argentine Yule” (Raul Tettamanti)
  57. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student is Our Farthest Visitor” (Raul Tettamanti) Jun 1969
  58. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Assembly” 1969
  59. Newspaper clipping, “Walk Together Talk Together” Jan 1969
  60. Photograph at birthday party, possibly Raul Tettamanti and Loretta Shockley, Apr 1969
  61. Photograph at birthday party, possibly Raul Tettamanti and Lee Shockley, Apr 1969
  62. Photograph at birthday party, possibly Raul Tettamanti, Apr 1969
  63. Photograph at birthday party, possibly Raul Tettamanti and Lee Shockley, Apr 1969
  64. Photograph of band, Apr 1969
  65. Photograph of band, Apr 1969
  66. Newspaper clipping, “Letter From Former Exchangee” (Brit Hansen-Stomner), July 1969
  67. Newspaper clipping “Girl From Honduras to Study in Worcester” (Norma Martinez), July 1969
  68. Newspaper clipping, “People Patter” (Norma Martinez)
  69. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student due here” (Aasta Kravik), July 1969

Folder 3 (1960-1972)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “Exchangee is Named for Next Year at SHHS” (Norma Martinez), July 1969
  2. Photograph of Nancy Nicholson, Dianna Davis, Esther Costello, and Norma Martinez
  3. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student” (photo of Aasta Kravik)
  4. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Norma, Si!”, Oct 1969
  5. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student at Snow Hill” (Norma Martinez), Oct 1969
  6. Newspaper clipping, “Student Finds Yule Similar to Her Own” (Norma Martinez)
  7. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Girls Upset Pocomoke High, 56 to 53”, (Norma Martinez)
  8. Newspaper clipping, “American Field Service Looking For a Family”
  9. Program, Snow Hill High School, 1970
  10. Newspaper clipping, “Two Named in Exchange Program” (Regina Trader and Esther Costello)
  11. PTA Meeting form (Norma Martinez)
  12. Program, “American Field Service Day” Mar 1970
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill High School Hosts A.F.S. Visitors”
  14. Newspaper clipping, “A.F.S. Day is Held”, 1970
  15. Photograph of Regina Trader, Esther Costello, Anne Timmons, and Norma Martinez at AFS Open House Apr 1970
  16. Newspaper clipping, “Former Exchange Student”, photograph of Brit Stomner Bohnstalen, Jan Bohnstalen, and Anne Guro Stonmer Hove, Apr 1970
  17. Newspaper clipping, “Editorial: Help Your American Field Service”
  18. Photograph at AFS Open House, Norma Martinez, Mabel Jones, Brit Bonstalen, and one unidentified person, Apr 1970
  19. Photograph of Mabel Jones and Brit Bonstalen, Apr 1970
  20. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unidentified people, unknown date
  21. Photograph of Norma Martinez at Cambridge High School, Nov 1970
  22. Photograph of Norma Martinez, John Hewlett, and others at AFS Party, Mar 1970
  23. Photograph of Norma Martinez at AFS Party, Mar 1970
  24. Photograph of Norma Martinez at AFS Party, Mar 1970
  25. Photograph of Norma Martinez and John Hewlett at AFS Party, Mar 1970
  26. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Meet” (Norma Martinez, Graciela Luisetti, Lee Shockley), 1970
  27. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Student is Ready to Return” (Norma Martinez-Angeles), Jun 1970
  28. Newspaper clipping, photograph of Norma Martinez and Mrs. Ralph Mason Jr., 1970
  29. Newspaper clipping, “The Perfect Senior Girl”
  30. Newspaper clipping, “Student to Leave S.H.” (Norma Martinez), 1970
  31. Name card of Norma Martinez, 1970
  32. Photograph of Norma Martinez, 1970
  33. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unknown people
  34. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unknown people
  35. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unknown people
  36. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unknown people
  37. Photograph of Norma Martinez and unknown girl
  38. Newspaper clipping “Snow Hill Girl Going to S.A.” (Esther Costello), June 1970
  39. Correspondence, from Esther Costello to Mrs. Ralph Mason Jr. (with envelope), July 1970
  40. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Girl to Make Trip” (Esther Costello). 1970
  41. Correspondence, from Esther Costello to Mrs. Ralph Mason Jr., June 1970
  42. Photograph of unknown boy at the beach
  43. Photograph with “Welcome to Snow Hill” banner and unidentified people
  44. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign Students Will Visit S.H. During Week”
  45. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign Students Visit Worcester”, July 1970
  46. Newspaper clipping, “Families in Snow Hill to Host AFS’ers” July 1970
  47. Photograph of AFS students at Wallops Station, July 1970
  48. Photograph of unidentified students, Nov 1970
  49. Photograph of unidentified student, Nov 1970
  50. Photograph of unidentified students, Nov 1970
  51. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Visit S.H.,” 1970
  52. Newspaper clippings, “Assateague- Climax to Year in America by AFS Students,” July 1970 (9 pieces)
  53. Newspaper clipping, “New Exchange Student is Now in Snow Hill” (Napaporn Daungratantrai ), Aug 1970
  54. Newspaper clipping from “People Patter” about Napaporn Daungratantrai, Aug 1970
  55. Photograph of Napaporn Daungratantrai and unidentified people
  56. Photograph of Napaporn Daungratantrai and unidentified woman
  57. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student Expresses Views About Christmas Here” (photograph of Napaporn Daungratantrai and Esther Costello), Jan 1971
  58. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, A.F.S. Day picture of Napaporn Daungratantrai and others
  59. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Norma Esther Martinez is Wed to Zadok H. Cherrix IV,” Dec 1970 (3 copies)
  60. Newspaper clipping, “Reunion Was Wonderful Gift for Young Couple” (Norma Martinez), 2 pieces
  61. Commencement invitation, Snow Hill High School, Napaporn Daungratantrai and photograph of Napaporn, Esther Costello and another girl, June 1971
  62. Correspondence, Thank you note from Napaporn Daungratantrai  to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Mason
  63. Newspaper clipping regarding Jan Willey’s birthday, Mar 1972
  64. Photograph of Jennie Fulton, Jan Wiley, Martha Fulton, and Charles Fulton at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972

Folder 4 (1972-1976)

  1. Photograph of Richard Lynch, Debbie Cherrix, Deborah Cropper, Jan Willey, and Martha Fulton at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972
  2. Photograph of Martha Fulton, Jan Wiley, and Jennie Fulton at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972
  3. Photograph of Jennie Fulton, Deborah Cropper, and other unidentified people at her birthday party, Mar 1972
  4. Photograph of Charles Fulton, Jan Willey, Jennie Fulton, and others at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972
  5. Photograph of Jennie Fulton and Jan Wiley at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972
  6. Photograph at Jan Willey’s birthday party, Mar 1972
  7. Photograph of Jan Wiley at her birthday party, Mar 1972
  8. Newspaper clipping, “Christmas is Warm in South Africa,” (Jan Willey), 1971
  9. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “U.S. Similar to Australia Comments AFS Student” (Jan Willey), Oct 1971
  10. Newspaper clipping, “Costello-Chan Wedding Vows Said in Bethesda” (Esther Costello), Dec 1972
  11. Newspaper clipping, photo of Esther Costello, Napaporn Duangratanatrai, Angela Costa, and Sergio Ornales
  12.  ‘The Eagle’ article, “Belgium summer planned” (Elaine Payne), 1972
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Payne Will Be in AFS Overseas Program” (Elaine Payne), 1972
  14. Photograph of Elaine Payne
  15. Program, “AFS Service Day,” Apr 1972
  16. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  17. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  18. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  19. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  20. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  21. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  22. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  23. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  24. Photograph of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  25. Caption for photographs of Elaine Payne and Randi Svinelid, May 1972
  26. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student is Selected for SDHS” (Alexander von Bulow), 1972
  27. Newspaper clipping, “New Exchange Student Will Come to S.H.” (Angela Sordano), Jul 1972
  28. Newspaper clipping , “AFS Members Learn About Life in Italy” (Angela Sordano)
  29. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Nuovo amico arrives” (Angela Sordano), Oct 1972
  30. Newspaper clipping, Angela Sordano and Sandy Richardson at Snow Hill Halloween parade, 1972
  31. Photograph of Angela Sordano and Sandy Richardson at Snow Hill Halloween parade, 1972
  32. Photograph of Angela Sordano and unknown girl
  33. Newspaper clipping, “Christmas in Turin is Family Celebration” (Angela Sordano), 1972
  34. Newspaper clipping, “Candidates Being Interviewed for Americans Abroad,” Nov 1972
  35. Photograph of four girls, one of them Angela Sordano?
  36. Newspaper clipping, “11 Exchange Students Visit City for Day,” Feb 1973
  37. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Looking for Home for Student,” Jan 1973
  38. Newspaper clipping, “Local student wins scholarship abroad” (Carolyn Stutsman)
  39. Newspaper clipping, “Museum trip planned by AFS,” Feb 1973
  40. Photograph of Carolyn Stutsman and Lucile Taylor, Jun 1973
  41. Newspaper clipping, “AFC Student” (Carolyn Stutsman), May 1973
  42. Photograph of Carolyn Stutsman, Jun 1973
  43. Newspaper clipping, “Berlin Student is Exchangee to France” (Brice Showell), 1973
  44. Program, Snow Hill High School Graduation, Jun 1973
  45. Correspondence, Thank you card from Angela Sordano to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Mason, 1973
  46. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Student Plans to Leave for Home” (Angela Sordano ), Jun 1973
  47. Photograph of Angela Sordano at Snow Hill graduation, Jun 1973
  48. Photograph of Angela Sordano, Roger Richardson, and Mrs. Richardson at Snow Hill graduation, Jun 1973
  49. Photograph of Sandy Richardson and Roger Richardson at Snow Hill graduation, Jun 1973
  50. Photograph of Angela Sordano and Sandy Richardson at Snow Hill graduation, Jun 1973
  51. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS student prepares to return home” (Angela Sordano), Jul 1973
  52. Newspaper clipping, “Italian Student Loses Wallet in Salisbury Area” (Angela Sordano), 1973
  53. Newspaper clipping, Lost and Found notice (Angela Sordano), 1973
  54. Newspaper clipping, “Two Worcester Youths are on Overseas Tour” (Carolyn Stutsman, Brice Showell, Angela Sordano), Jul 1973
  55. Photograph of Carolyn Stutsman and Angela Sordano, Jun 1973
  56. Photograph of Carolyn Stutsman and Brice Showell, Jun 1973
  57. Photograph of Carolyn Stutsman, Angela Sordano, and Brice Showell, Jun 1973
  58. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Newsbriefs” (Carolyn Stutsman)
  59. Newspaper clipping, “Swiss Student Will Come to Snow Hill Area” (Christa Mader), Jul 1973
  60. Newspaper clipping, “Swiss Student Will Come to Snow Hill Area” (Christa Mader), Jul 1973
  61. Program, Church announcement about Christa Mader 1973
  62. Photograph of Christa Mader at Bethany Beach
  63. Address card and picture of Christa Mader
  64. Newspaper clipping, “Swiss Girl Will be AFS Exchangee in Snow Hill” (Christa Mader), Sept 1973
  65. Newspaper clipping, “Swiss Girl Will be AFS Exchangee in Snow Hill” (Christa Mader), Sept 1973
  66. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “SHHS Welcomes AFS Student” (Christa Mader), 1973
  67. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Christa Surprised by Similarities,” 1972 Eagle
  68. Photograph of three unidentified people, probably Carolyn Stutsman, Christa Mader, and Joanne Mason
  69. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “AFS Student returns” (Carolyn Stutsman), Oct 1973
  70. Newspaper clipping, “Shockley-McDowell Vows are Said in Snow Hill Church” 1973
  71. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign Students Study Here” (6 pieces)
  72. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student Arrives” (Christa Mader), Oct 1973
  73. Newspaper clipping, “Senior Class Officers Elected,” Oct 1973
  74. Photograph of Christa Mader, Carolyn Stutsman, Joanne Mason and unidentified people
  75. Photograph of Christa Mader and Dave, Oct 1973

Folder 5 (1972-1976)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “Homecoming in Snow Hill,” Oct 1973 (2 pieces)
  2. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students and Families Have Annual Get Together,” (Christa Mader) Nov 1973
  3. Photograph of Steen Sorensen, Christa Mader, Mimi Mentasti, and Mark Wright at AA Regional Screening, Nov 1973
  4. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Have ‘Get Together’ On Shore,” Nov 1973
  5. Photograph of AFS Students at AFS Get Together, Nov 1973
  6. Photograph of Eloise Cropper, Sidney Cropper, Christa Mader, and William Payne at AFS Get Together  1973
  7. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Sets Lunch For People in Snow Hill,” Feb 1974
  8. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students are Guests Here of Rotary Club” (2 pieces)
  9. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Club planned AFS day for students”
  10. Newspaper clipping, “Decatur Chapter of AFS Hosting Students for Week,” Mar 1974
  11. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student” (Raul Tettamanti), Aug 1968
  12. Newspaper clipping, “Former Exchange Student Dies” (Raul Tettamanti), Mar 1974 (2 pieces)
  13. Ribbon, “Raul Tettamanti- Argentina- 1968-1969”
  14. Commencement program, Snow Hill High School, Christa Mader, Jun 1974
  15. Newspaper clipping on Christa Mader’s graduation, Jun 1974
  16. Newspaper clipping on Christa Mader’s graduation, Jun 1974
  17. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students to Make Visit to Worcester” May 1974
  18. Newspaper clipping on AFS visit and Sheila MacKenzie
  19. Newspaper clipping, “Former Exchange Student Visits American Family” (Sheila MacKenzie), Jun 1974
  20. Newspaper clipping, “Former AFS Student Makes Visit to Snow Hill Family 1974” (Sheila MacKenzie), May 1974
  21. Newspaper clipping, “Senior Citizens get glimpse of Swiss” (Christa Mader), Jun 1974 (2 pieces)
  22. Photograph of Christa Mader visiting MAC Center, Jun 1974
  23. Newspaper clipping, “Senior Citizens Hear Talk On Life in Switzerland” (Christa Mader), Jun 1974
  24. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS Plans for Visit of 42 Students Here,” Jun 1974
  25. Photograph of Christa Mader, Eloise Cropper, Sidney Cropper, and unknown, Jun 1974
  26. Program, Newark United Methodist Charge, (Christa Mader), Jun 23 1974
  27. Program, Newark United Methodist Charge, (Christa Mader), Jun 30 1974
  28. Newspaper clipping, “Who said parting is such sweet sorrow?,” 1974
  29. Photograph of unidentified AFS students at the beach
  30. Photograph of unidentified AFS students at the beach
  31. Newspaper clipping, “Barn Serendipity,” Jul 1974
  32. Correspondence from Bob to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Mason Jr., Jul 1974
  33. Correspondence from unknown to Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Mason Jr., Jul 1974
  34. Newspaper clipping, “41 AFS students visit resort on way home,” Jul 1974
  35. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Pay Visit to Snow Hill While on Tour,” Jul 1974
  36. Photograph of AFS Students
  37. Photograph of AFS Students
  38. Photograph of AFS Students
  39. Photograph of AFS Students
  40. Photograph of AFS Students
  41. Photograph of AFS Students
  42. Photograph of AFS Students
  43. Newspaper clipping, Birth announcement for Norma Martinez and Zadok Cherrix IV, Jul 1974
  44. Photograph of Norma Cherrix, Francisco Eduardo Cherrix, and Zadok Cherrix V, Jul 1974
  45. Photograph of Norma Cherrix, Zadok Cherrix IV, Francisco Eduardo Cherrix, and Zadok Cherrix V, Jul 1974
  46. Photograph of Francisco Eduardo Cherrix “Frankie”, and Zadok Cherrix V “Chucky”, Sep 1974
  47. Captions of Cherrix photographs, 1974
  48. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign visitor fostering proper English” (Jorge Maluf), Aug 1974
  49. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange student arrives from Paraguay” (Jorge Maluf), Aug 1974
  50. Newspaper clipping, “First exchange student set to be In Pocomoke” (Paulo Erdos), 1974

Folder 6 (1972-1976)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange student hosted by Masons” (Dagmar Landtau), Jul 1974
  2. Newspaper clipping, “Exhangee in Snow Hill is from Germany” (Dagmar Landtau), Jul 1974 (2 pieces)
  3. Newspaper clipping, “German Student to Study in Snow Hill High” (Dagmar Landtau), Jul 1974
  4. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS welcomes Landtau, exchange student,” Oct 1974
  5. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Student Honored at Dinner in Snow Hill” (Dagmar Landtau), Oct 1974
  6. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Dagmar adapts to SHHS,” Oct 1974
  7. Newspaper clipping, “Exchangees Tell About Their Christmas”
  8. Newspaper clipping, “SHHS Exchangee”
  9. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Student is From Turkey” (Sureyya Erdarcan), Nov 1974
  10. Photograph from AFS Day, Daisy Hancock, Paul Bailey, and 3 unidentified students, 1975
  11. Photograph of AFS Students at AFS Day, including Dagmar Landtau
  12. Photograph of Class Trip to New York City
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Visit Snow Hill in Program,” Feb 1975
  14. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Wilson AFS Exchangee This Summer” (Esther Wilson)
  15. Newspaper clipping, “E. Wilson to travel abroad”
  16. Commencement invitation & envelope, Snow Hill High School, Dagmar Landtau, Jun 1975
  17. Photograph of Dagmar Landatu at graduation, Jun 1975
  18. Photograph of Dagmar Landatu at graduation, Jun 1975
  19. Program, Snow Hill High School Commencement Exercises, Jun 1975
  20. Program, Snow Hill High School Senior Night, May 1975
  21. Newspaper clipping, “Party Set for Exchangee” (Dagmar Landtau and Esther Wilson)
  22. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Will Be Honored” (Dagmar Landtau and Esther Wilson)
  23. Photograph of AFS Students
  24. Notes, List of Names from AFS Open House, Jun 1975
  25. Newspaper clipping about AFS Open House (Dagmar Landtau and Esther Wilson), Jun 1975
  26. Photograph of Dagmar Landtau, Esther Wilson, and parents
  27. Photograph of Dagmar Landtau, Esther Wilson, and two unidentified people, Jun 1975
  28. Correspondence, Postcard from Dagmar Landtau to Joanne Mason
  29. Correspondence, Postcard from Dagmar Landtau to Joanne Mason, 1975
  30. Correspondence, Postcard from Pauline to Joanne Mason, 1975
  31. Correspondence, Postcard from Eloise to Ralph and Joanne Mason, 1975
  32. Correspondence, Postcard from Christa Mader to Joanne Mason, 1975
  33. Newspaper clipping, “Jordanian girl to study here” (Ghada Yashar), Aug 1975
  34. Newspaper clipping, “Young Woman From Jordan Visits Shore” (Ghada Yashar), Aug 1975
  35. Newspaper clipping, “15 Years Ago, This week in August, 1960” (Britt Stomner)
  36. Newspaper clipping, “Soroptimists Announce Program Changes,” Apr 1975
  37. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Wilson to Speak to S.H. Rotary,” Sep 1975
  38. Newspaper clipping, “S.H. Exhangee from Jordan,” Aug 1975
  39. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Jordanian exchange visits shore,” Oct 1975
  40. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Welcomes Exchange Student” (Ghada Yashar), Sep 1975 (2 pieces)
  41. Flag of Jordan labeled ‘Milton Outten’
  42. Photograph of Eloise Cropper, Sidney Cropper, Mrs. David Hancock, Ghada Yashar, Daisey Hancock at AFS chapter dinner, Sep 1975
  43. Photograph of Esther Wilson, Eloise Cropper, and Ghada Yashar, Sep 1975
  44. Newspaper clipping, “Local Group May Request” (Ghada Yashar)
  45. Newspaper clipping, Ghada Yashar speaking at Snow Hill Senior Center, Mar 1976
  46. Correspondence, Thank You note from Ghada Yashar to unknown (Mrs. Mason?)
  47. Newspaper clipping about exchange program between SHHS and Edison High School, Apr 1976 (2 copies)
  48. Newspaper clipping about Ghada Yashar’s visit to Senator Malkus’s house, Mar 1976
  49. Photograph of Betsy Malkus, Ghada Yashar, and Mrs. Fred Malkus, Mar 1976
  50. Photograph of students including Ghada Yashar and Betsy Malkus, Mar 1976
  51. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Have Night in Salisbury,” Apr 1976
  52. ‘The Eagle’ clipping, “Ghada must return to Wadi Seer,” Jun 1976
  53. Photograph of Ghada Yashar and Daisy Hancock, 1975
  54. Photograph of Ghada Yashar and unknown woman, P. Bounds?
  55. Brochure, Winterthur in the Spring, 1976
  56. Program, Snow Hill High School Graduation, Nancy Mason, Jun 1976
  57. Invitation, AFS International Scholarships Breakfast, May 1976
  58. Photograph of Ghada Yashar and Daisy Hancock at graduation, Jun 1976
  59. Caption of Daisy Hancock photo
  60. Newspaper clipping, “Cathy Early To Go To Iceland In AFS Program,” Jun 1976 (4 pieces)
  61. Newspaper clipping, “Visitors Depart” (Allan Erick Kocher, Eeva Nikula, G. Catherina Melin, and Ghada Yashar), Jul 1976
  62. Newspaper clipping, “Ghada Yashar Leaves After Year At Snow Hill High,” Jul 1976
  63. Photograph of Mrs. David Hancock and Ghada Yashar, Jul 1976
  64. Newspaper clipping, “AFS bound for Finland” (Eeva-Liisa A. Nikula), Jul 1976

Folder 7 (1976-1979)

  1. Photo album index, 1976-1978
  2. Newspaper clipping “Exchange Student Set To Come To Pocomoke” (Cheryl Davis), 1976
  3. Newspaper clipping, Cherie Davis at raffle, Dec 1976
  4. Newspaper clipping, Cherie Davis and Paul Coombs at Open House, 1976
  5. Newspaper clipping, Cheryl Davis at Allen family home
  6. Newspaper clipping, “Young Australian Seeks AFS Home in Snow Hill” (Paul Coombs), Feb 1976
  7. Newspaper clipping, “Seeking Family for Exchange Student” (Paul Coombs), Feb 1976
  8. Photograph of Paul Coombs and others
  9. Newspaper clipping, “Kunsman’s to be ‘Parents’ to Australian AFS Student” (Paul Coombs)
  10. Newspaper clipping about Paul Coombs, Aug 1976 (2 pieces)
  11. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Family Night Features Local and Visiting Student” (Paul Coombs and Cathy Early), Sep 1976
  12. Photograph of Cathy Early at AFS Family Night, Sep 1976
  13. Photograph of Paul Coombs at AFS Family Night, Sep 1976
  14. Photograph from AFS Family Night, Sep 1976
  15. Photograph from AFS Family Night, Sep 1976
  16. Photograph from AFS Family Night, Christina Early, Paul Coombs, and others, Sep 1976
  17. Photograph from AFS Family Night, Cathy Early, Paul Coombs, Christa Mader, and others, Sep 1976
  18. Newspaper clipping, Cathy Early at Rotary Club, Nov 1976
  19. Photograph of Cathy Early, Paul Coombs, and Christa Mader at AFS Family Night, Sep 1976
  20. Photograph of AFS Students
  21. Photograph of AFS Students
  22. Spaghetti Dinner Advertisement, 1977
  23. Photograph from Spaghetti Dinner, Feb 1977
  24. Photograph of Paul Coombs and Cathy Early at Spaghetti Dinner, Feb 1977
  25. Newspaper clipping, AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Aline Payne and Randy Coates, Feb 1977
  26. Newspaper clipping, AFS DC Trip advertisement, Feb 1977
  27. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Day Held in Snow Hill for International Students,” Mar 1977
  28. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students From New York Visiting Pocomoke This Week,” Apr 1977
  29. Photograph of Cheryl Davis, Paul Coombs, and James Freeny, Mar 1977
  30. Photograph of AFS Students, 1977
  31. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Tell Rotarians About Lives,” Apr 1977
  32. Photograph of Joyce Njeri Lauri
  33. Photograph of Kim Rongaard
  34. Photograph of Paul Coombes
  35. Photograph of Arthur Gregory Shead, 1975
  36. Photograph of Cheryl Lynn Davis
  37. Photograph of Unknown girl
  38. Photograph of AFS Students
  39. Commencement invitation, Snow Hill High School, Paul Coombes, Jun 1977
  40. Correspondence, Paul Coombes to Joanne Mason, 1977
  41. Newspaper clipping, “Behind in Time,” Song written by Paul Coombes, Apr 1977
  42. Photograph of Paul Coombes and two unidentified women, 1977
  43. Newspaper clipping, “Reception held for Exchange Student Leaving Snow Hill” (Paul Coombes), 1977
  44. Photograph of Paul Coombes and others, 1977
  45. Photograph of Eloise Cropper, Rev. and Mrs. William Kunsman, and David Kunsman, 1977
  46. Photograph of Paul Coombes and unidentified girl, 1977
  47. Photograph of Paul Coombes and Kunsman family
  48. Newspaper clipping, AFS Students on Bus Trip, Jun 1977
  49. Photograph of Greg Shead, Cherie Davis, and Paul Coombes, Jun 1977
  50. Newspaper clipping “To the People of Snow Hill,” Paul Coombes, Jun 1977
  51. Newspaper clipping, “Thai Exchange Student Coming to Snow Hill” (Benjalak Huayrerai), Jul 1977 (2 pieces)
  52. Photograph of Lois Dougherty
  53. Photograph of Lois Dougherty and Benjalak Huayrerai
  54. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Exchange Student Available to Speak to Groups” (Benjalak Huayrerai)
  55. Newspaper clipping, “Dinner Held for S.H. Exchange Student” (Benjalak Huayrerai), Oct 1977
  56. Church pamphlet clipping, Benjalak Huayrerai, Sep 1977
  57. Newspaper clipping, Benjalak Huayrerai and Cindy Bounds, Dec 1977
  58. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai and Cindy Bounds, Dec 1977
  59. Photograph of Nevelyn Daugherty, Benjalak Huayrerai, Kirk Daugherty, Dec 1977
  60. Photograph of AFS Students, Oct 1977
  61. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai
  62. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai
  63. Newspaper clipping, “Pocomoke AFS Set to Hear Snow Hill Exchangee Speak” (Benjalak Huayrerai), Feb 1978 (3 pieces)
  64. Newspaper clipping, “Host an AFS foreign student”
  65. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai, Feb 1978
  66. Newspaper clipping, “Laurel Hosts AFS Students”
  67. Newspaper clipping, AFS Students visit State House
  68. Newspaper clipping, Engagement of Catherine Shields Early

Folder 8 (1976-1979)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students,” Mar 1978
  2. Newspaper clipping “Students in Annapolis,” Mar 1978
  3. Newspaper clipping, AFS students in Annapolis, Mar 1978
  4. Photograph of Lois Daugherty, Kirk Daugherty, Sen. Homer White, and Benjalak Huayrerai, Mar 1978
  5. Photograph of Kirk Malkus, two unidentified women, and Sen. Homer White, Mar 1978
  6. Photograph of unidentified people
  7. AFS US Newsletter, Feb 1978
  8. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai, Paul Kremer, Diane Lauterbour, Sen. Homer White, Elisabeth Baarnhielm, Coralie Ford, Mar 1978
  9. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai, unknown boy, Nevelyn Daugherty, Kirk Daugherty, Mike Daugherty, and Ann Coates, Jun 1978
  10. Newspaper clipping, “Rotary Plays Hosts to Exchange Students,” Apr 1978
  11. Newspaper clipping, Kathy Serman, Dec 1977
  12. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Catherine Shields Early is wed to Michael McJilton,” May 1978
  13. Photograph of Regina Witt for graduation
  14. Photograph of Kathy Serman and Jackie
  15. Photograph of Kathy Serman, Jackie, and Benjalak Huayrerai
  16. Photograph of AFS Students including Benjalak Huayrerai
  17. Photograph of unidentified people, maybe Lois Daugherty and Benjalak Huayrerai
  18. Photograph of unidentified people
  19. Program clippings, Newark Unites Methodist Charge (Kathy Serman), May 1978
  20. Invitation, Snow Hill High School Graduation, Benjalak Huayrerai, Jun 1978
  21. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai at graduation, Jun 1978
  22. Return address of Benjalak Huayrerai, 1978
  23. Program, Snow Hill High School Commencement, Jun 1978
  24. Program, Snow Hill High School Senior Night, Jun 1978
  25. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Student’s Legacy: Year of Fond Memories” (Benjalak Huayrerai), Jun 1978
  26. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS honors Benji and her American family,” Jun 1978
  27. Newspaper clipping, Benjalak Huayrerai pictures
  28. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Are Leaving Host Families” (Elisabeth Baarnhielm, Coralie Ford, Paul Kremer, Diane Lauterbour, Benjalak Huayrerai), Jul 1978
  29. Newspaper clipping, Benjalak Huayrerai and Daugherty family, Jul 1978
  30. Photograph of people including Benjalak Huayrerai
  31. Photograph of AFS student
  32. Photograph of AFS students (names listed in 458)
  33. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai and unidentified boy
  34. Photograph of Benjalak Huayrerai and two unidentified girls
  35. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Bid Farewell to American Families,” Jul 1978
  36. Photograph of AFS Students, Jul 1978 (names listed in 458)
  37. Newspaper clipping, “Pocomoke AFS chapter hears field development specialist,” Jun 1978
  38. Newspaper clipping, “Exchangee coming to Pocomoke” (Pedro Hernandez), Aug 1978
  39. Photograph of unidentified AFS students including Ana Carolina Cayuela
  40. Photograph of unidentified AFS students
  41. Photograph of unidentified AFS students including Ana Carolina Cayuela
  42. Photograph of unidentified AFS students
  43. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange student is now in Snow Hill” (Ana Carolina Cayuela), Aug 1978
  44. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and unidentified person, 1978
  45. Newspaper clipping, “CROP Walkers Raise $1,400” (Carolina Cauyela)
  46. Business Card of Benjalak Huayrerai at Ramathibodi Hospital
  47. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and unidentified girl
  48. Newspaper clipping, “Far From Home But Happy” (Carolina Cayuela), Sep 1978
  49. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and unidentified boy with note to Joanne Mason on back
  50. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and two unidentified women
  51. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and two unidentified women
  52. Newspaper clipping, “’White Christmas’ is not snow” (Carolina Cayuela)
  53. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela, Marie and unidentified girl
  54. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela and three unidentified students
  55. Program, AFS Day at Snow Hill High School, Mar 1979
  56. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill students at school for the deaf,” Jan 1979
  57. Newspaper clipping, “Unique Exchange,” Jan 1979
  58. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Strickler to be AFS Student to Turkey” (Cherie Strickler), Jun 1979
  59. Photograph of AFS students including Carolina Cayuela
  60. Photograph of AFS students including Carolina Cayuela
  61. Photograph of Carolina Cayuela at graduation
  62. Newspaper clipping, “S.H. Senior Night Honors Grads” 1979
  63. Newspaper clipping, Carolina Cayeula departing, Jun 1979
  64. Photograph of unidentified students at graduation

Box 2

Folder 9 (1979-1981)

  1. Photograph of Snow Hill High School
  2. Photograph of AFS students
  3. Photograph of AFS students
  4. Clipping of AFS Logo
  5. Clipping, “Pre-Departure Orientation,” Jun 1979
  6. Photograph from AFS Orientation, Students including Carolina Cayuela, 1979
  7. Photograph from AFS Orientation, 1979
  8. Photograph from AFS Orientation, 1979
  9. Photograph from AFS Orientation, 1979
  10. Photograph of AFS students
  11. Caption of photo “Listening & Thinking”
  12. Photograph of Stephen Richards, 1979
  13. Caption of photo “Ready To Go Home…”
  14. Newspaper clipping, “American Field Service”
  15. Photograph of AFS students
  16. Newspaper clipping, “AFS’ers ‘taste’ ocean living,” Jul 1979
  17. Photograph of AFS students
  18. Photograph of man giving speech
  19. Photograph of Mrs. Serman, Kathy Serman, and Ann Coates, Aug 1979
  20. Photograph of Kathy Serman and Ann Coates, Aug 1979
  21. Photograph of Kathy Serman and Ann Coates, Aug 1979
  22. Newspaper clipping, “Traveling Student” (Kathy Serman), Aug 1979
  23. Correspondence from Kathy Sermen to Joanne Mason, Oct 1978
  24. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Bid Farewell to US,” Jul 1979
  25. Photograph of two unidentified women
  26. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS Observes 20th Anniversary,” Aug 1979
  27. Photograph of unidentified people
  28. Newsletter, AFS World, Apr 1982
  29. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Student in Snow Hill,” Aug 1979
  30. Newspaper clipping, “AFS program to begin at ctry school,” 1978
  31. Newspaper clipping about Worcester County AFS meeting, Dec 1978
  32. Photograph of Philippe Hennebert and Sonia Ravelo Ribotty, 1980
  33. Caption, “School Rivals – AFS Friends, Philippe & Sonia Fall 1980”
  34. Newspaper clipping, “Boating Mishap Hurts 5 Persons”
  35. Newspaper clipping, “Six injured in boat accident on river”
  36. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Conference Set in Easton,” Oct 1979
  37. Photograph of AFS students
  38. Photograph of AFS students
  39. Newspaper clipping, “AFS meets in O.C.,” 1980
  40. Photograph of AFS students including Roberto Silva,
  41. Photograph of AFS students including Alma Stromme
  42. Newspaper clipping, “AFS representatives meet in Ocean City,” Jan 1980
  43. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign Kids Attend Session,” Feb 1980
  44. Newspaper clipping, AFS’ers visit Annapolis, Apr 1980
  45. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students are Guests of Club,” Mar 1980
  46. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students ‘Parents,’” Apr 1980
  47. Newspaper clipping, “Horse show set April 12 in Pocomoke,” Apr 1980
  48. Photograph at Horse show, Apr 1980
  49. Photograph of B Moore
  50. Caption, “Snow Hill & Pocomoke AFS’ers Cooperative Weekend,” Apr 1980
  51. Photograph of AFS students at Cooperative weekend, Apr 1980
  52. Photograph of AFS students at Cooperative weekend, Apr 1980
  53. Photograph of unidentified people

Folder 10 (1979-1981)

  1. Newspaper clipping, Jun Tamai at graduation, 1980
  2. Photograph of AFS students
  3. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign exchange students end stay on Lower Shore,” Jun 1980
  4. Paper, “Welcome to the Center Stage”
  5. Photograph marked “End of Stay,” Jun 1980
  6. Photograph of AFS students singing at Rotary International
  7. Caption, “Students sing at Rotary International, Salisbury”
  8. Photograph of Vo-Tech School students, 1980
  9. Caption, “Touring Vo-Tech School Spring, 1980”
  10. Newspaper clipping, “Student leaves with fond memories” (3 pieces)
  11. Invitation, Pocomoke High School commencement Poul Eigil Soreson 1980
  12. Invitation, Snow Hill High School commencement Sonia Ravelo 1980
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Domestic exchange student in Snow Hill,” Jul 1980
  14. Photograph of Janet Amundson and Casi Yutzy
  15. Newspaper clipping, “AFS searches for family”
  16. Photograph of Andrea Clayville and Soraya Rodriguez, 1981
  17. Newspaper clipping, “S.H. AFS year starts with dinner,” Fall 1980 (2 pieces)
  18. Newspaper clipping, AFS members exchange York, PA
  19. Newspaper clipping, “Exchangee compares Christmas”
  20. Program, AFS International Weekend, 1981
  21. Photograph of AFS students
  22. Photograph of Soraya Rodriguez and unidentified girl, 1981
  23. Newsletter clipping, AFS World, Nov 1980
  24. Newspaper clipping, AFS students visit DC, May 1981
  25. Newspaper clipping, AFS students speak at Pocomoke Woman’s club
  26. Newspaper clipping about CROP walk
  27. Newsletter clipping, “New president for AFS!,” Mar 1981
  28. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Seeking City Sponsors,” Jun 1981
  29. Newspaper clipping, Snow Hill 20 Year Reunion, Jul 1981
  30. Newspaper clipping, “First AFS Student Reunited With US Family,” Jul 1981 (10 pieces)
  31. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange students to visit S.H. for weekend”
  32. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS Chapter hosts 40 students over weekend”
  33. Newspaper clipping, Letter to the Editor “AFS Alive and Thriving,” Jul 1981
  34. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Deuberry participates in exchange,” 1981
  35. Photograph of Janet Amundson and Casi Yutzy
  36. Newspaper clipping, Lilia Palomo and Laurel Scarborough, 1981
  37. Newspaper clipping, Helen Smitterberg, 1981
  38. Photograph of people at AFS banquet, including Lilia Palamo, Brenda Deuberry, and Helen Smittenberg, Sept 1981
  39. Photograph of Lilia Palamo, Brenda Deuberry, Helen Smittenberg, and William Yutzy at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  40. Photograph of Delores Bowden, Jan Bowden, Helen Smittenberg and James Bowden at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  41. Photograph of Lilia Palamo, Laurel Scarborough, Paul Scarborough, Mrs. Paul Scarborough, Danny Scarborough, Hope Scarborough at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  42. Photograph of Helen Smittenberg, Brenda Deuberry, and Lilia Palamo at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  43. Photograph of Brenda Deuberry and Helen Smittenberg at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  44. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS welcomes foreign students at Tuesday banquet,” Sept 1981
  45. ‘Resorter’ clipping, Eeva Nibula, Sept 1978
  46. Newspaper clipping, “S.H. hears from exchangee” (Joanie Thune), 1981
  47. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign exchange students end stay on Lower Shore,” Jun 1980

Folder 11 (1981-1983)

  1. Photo album index, 1981-1983
  2. Photograph of Scarborough family, Mom, Dad, Laurel, Danny, Hope
  3. Photograph of Bowden family, Annie, Jim, Delores, Jimmy, Jan, Benji
  4. Photograph of Lilia Palmo
  5. Photograph of Helen Smittenberg
  6. Patch, AFS Argentina
  7. Newspaper clipping, “AFS in Snow Hill Active in Exchange,” Sept 1980
  8. Agenda, AFS Annual Fall Conference, Oct 1981
  9. Photograph of AFS students including Lilia Palmo and Laurel Scarborough
  10. Photograph of Helen Smittenberg, Brenda Deuberry, and Lilia Palamo at AFS banquet, Sept 1981
  11. Newspaper clipping, “Northern & southern Yules compared,” Dec 1982
  12. Newspaper clipping, “From the Alps to the ocean”
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Looking forward to yule”
  14. Newspaper clipping, “Dr. Sartorius Sr. is Paul Harris Fellow”
  15. Newspaper clipping, “Cultural Exchange,” May 1982
  16. Newspaper clipping, “Special Guest”
  17. Newspaper clipping, “Pocomoke High hopes to form AFS chapter,” Jan 1982
  18. Newspaper clipping, AFS students at Bluegrass Music Festival
  19. Newspaper clipping, “AFS mother pays visit to Pocomoke exchangee family,” Jun 1982
  20. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Chapter to Hold Public Awareness Day,” May 1982
  21. Newspaper clipping, Pocomoke AFS International Tasting Party, May 1982
  22. Invitation, Pocomoke High School Commencement 1982, Rosario Jacqueline Daza, 1982
  23. Clippings from AFS World Newsletter, Apr 1982 (3 pieces)
  24. Photograph of William Dyal and Gwen Pemberton
  25. Photograph of unidentified person
  26. Photograph of Lilia Palamo, Gail Cooke, and Brenda Deuberry at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  27. Photograph of unknown people at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  28. Photograph of Lilia Palamo, Gail Cooke, and Brenda Deuberry at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  29. Photograph of unknown person at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  30. Photograph of Jan Bowden, Lilia Palamo, and an unidentified woman at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  31. Advertisement for AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1982
  32. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Make Trip to Annapolis,” Mar 1982
  33. Photograph of William S. Horne and AFS Students including Lilia Palamo, Mar 1982
  34. Photograph of Azy Durrer and unidentified person holding ‘Thank you Ocean City Lions’ sign
  35. Photograph of AFS students
  36. Photograph of AFS students including Azy Durrer and Lilia Palamo
  37. Photograph of Jerry Foote and Anne Glovier
  38. Photograph of AFS students and Ann Coates
  39. Photograph of Azy Durrer, Lilia Palamo and Rosario Daza
  40. Photograph of AFS students
  41. Newspaper clipping, AFS students in Ocean City
  42. Photograph of Azy Durrer and unknown person holding ‘Thank you Ocean City Lions’ sign
  43. Photograph of AFS students
  44. Photograph of AFS students
  45. Photograph of Lilia Palamo and Joanne Mason at AFS Farewell Picnic, Jun 1982
  46. Photograph of Lilia Palamo and unknown woman at AFS Farewell Picnic, Jun 1982
  47. Photograph of Lilia Palamo and two unknown people at AFS Farewell Picnic, Jun 1982
  48. Invitation to AFS Farewell Picnic, Jun 1982
  49. Newspaper clipping, “They’re Still Friends, English, Argentinian AFS Students Aren’t ‘Warring,’” May 1982
  50. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Are Friendly Foes,” May 1982
  51. AFS Roser, 1980-1981
  52. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill tells AFS student goodby,” Jul 1982
  53. Newspaper clipping, “AFS participants are recognized by board,” Jun 1982

Folder 12 (1981-1983)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “AFS students prepare for return home,” Jun 1982
  2. Newspaper clipping, “Student Enjoyed Year Spent in Yugoslavia,” Aug 1982
  3. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange Students Welcomed,” Aug 1982
  4. Newspaper clipping, “Ann Glovier Named to AFS Post,” Oct 1982
  5. Photograph of Jerry Foote, Rosario Daza, Ann Coates, and unidentified people
  6. Newspaper clipping, “Student from France in S.H.,” Sept 1982
  7. Photograph of Thierry Huguet and unidentified person at AFS Dinner, Sept 1982
  8. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS has first 1982 dinner-meeting,” Sept 1982
  9. Photograph of Thierry Huguet and William Yutzy at AFS Dinner, Sept 1982
  10. Photograph of William Yutzy and Richard Bolen at AFS Dinner, Sept 1982
  11. Photograph of Richard Bolen and Thierry Huguet at AFS Dinner, Sept 1982
  12. Newspaper clipping, “Student is Back: Young Man From El Salvador ‘Escapes’ Political Situation,”
  13. Newspaper clipping, “Grace Jones to Speak to AFS,” Dec 1982
  14. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Fall Conference is Saturday,” Oct 1982
  15. Photograph of Joanne Mason, Gwen Pemberton, and Ann Coates
  16. Program, AFS Fall Conference, Oct 1982
  17. Program, AFS Fall Conference, Oct 1982
  18. Photograph of unidentified people
  19. Photograph of Joanne Mason, Gwen Pemberton, and Ann Coates
  20. Photograph of Gwen Pemberton
  21. Photograph of unidentified people
  22. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Fall Conference Takes Place in Denton”
  23. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Baine is Snow Hill AFS candidate,” Dec 1982
  24. Newspaper clipping, “Student Going to California, AFS is Expanding Program,” Jan 1983
  25. Newspaper clipping about Jacqueline Baine, Jan 1983
  26. Photograph of Jacqueline Baine
  27. Photograph of Doris, Oliver, Jacqueline Baine, Joanne, and Sherron
  28. Caption, “Family of Jackie Baine”
  29. Newspaper clipping, “Soroptimists and Guest”
  30. Newspaper clipping, “Students Visit Annapolis,” Mar 1983
  31. Photograph of unknown people at AFS event
  32. Photograph of unknown people at AFS event
  33. Photograph of unknown people at AFS event
  34. Photograph of unknown people at AFS event
  35. Newspaper clipping, “International tasting party,” Feb 1983
  36. Newspaper clipping, Advertisement for AFS
  37. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill AFS wants host family”
  38. Newspaper clipping, Wedding Announcement for Dina Ray Jones and William C. Riley, Dec 1982
  39. Newspaper clipping, “Maid of Honor Travels From Peru For ‘Sister,’” May 1983
  40. Photograph of Dina Jones and unknown woman at wedding, May 1983
  41. Photograph of Thierry Huguet and unknown girl at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1983
  42. Photograph of Thierry Huguet and two unknown people at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1983
  43. Photograph of Thierry Huguet and two unknown people at AFS Spaghetti Dinner, Mar 1983
  44. Newspaper clipping, Peeking Around Pocomoke about AFS picnic
  45. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill High holds senior night,” Jun 1983
  46. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Students Meet Before Going Abroad,” Jun 1983
  47. Newspaper clipping, “AFS students visit Ocean City,” Jun 1983
  48. Photograph of AFS students
  49. Photograph of AFS students
  50. Photograph of
  51. Photograph of AFS students
  52. Photograph of AFS students
  53. Photograph of unknown people, maybe Rosa Hernandez?
  54. Newspaper clipping, “Dorchester Youths to be in AFS Program,” Jun 1983
  55. Newspaper clipping, “Foreign students to meet in Snow Hill for get-together”
  56. Newsletter clippings, AFS 1982 Departure, 1982
  57. Newspaper clipping, AFS picnic, Jun 1983
  58. Certificate, Outstanding Volunteer Service for Joanne Mason, Jun 1982

Folder 13 (1983-1985)

  1. Newspaper clipping, “New exchange student arrives here,” Aug 1983
  2. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Wheatley Weds Mr. Silva,” Sept 1983
  3. Newspaper clipping, “Attending Academy” (Carmen Graciela), Oct 1983
  4. Correspondence, Happy New Year card from Cai Bixia to Joanne Mason
  5. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill exchange is from Italy,” Sept 1983
  6. Newspaper clipping, “Nanticoke Powwow Planned Sept. 10-11,” Sept 1983
  7. Photograph of Rita Barchetti and Wynel Cooper
  8. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, probably John “Redbird” Moore, Sept 1983
  9. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  10. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  11. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  12. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  13. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  14. Photograph at Nanticoke Powwow, Sept 1983
  15. Brochure, The Nanticoke Indians: First People in the First State, 1983
  16. Photograph of AFS students, including Rita Barchetti, Nelson Hincatie, Leslie Murray
  17. Photograph of Jeanine Kleimo, Valerie Lopes, and Mary Shea
  18. Photograph of Asplen and Rollyson
  19. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Fall Conference is Oct 1.,” Sept 1983
  20. Newspaper clipping, “The witch used to bring presents in Italy”
  21. Photograph of Bixiti Chai, Stephanie Chissler, Nelson Hincatie, Leslie Murray, Rita Barchetti, and Jackie Baine at Worcester Co. Board of Education, Jan 1984
  22. Photograph of Bixiti Chai, Nelson Hincatie, Leslie Murray, Rita Barchetti, Jackie Baine, and unknown person at Worcester Co. Board of Education, Jan 1984
  23. Photograph of Rita Barchetti and Leslie Murray, Jan 1984
  24. Newspaper clipping, 1983-1984 AFS students honored by Board of Education
  25. Newsletter clipping, 4 Countries Send Teachers to U.S.,” Mar 1984
  26. Photograph of Nelson Hincatie, Leslie Murray, Susan Gibb, Carmen Graciela Melgarejo, Rita Barchetti, and Janette, Jan 1984
  27. AFS Decal
  28. Photograph of Rita Barchetti, Leslie Murray, Janette, Nelson Hincatie, and Susan Gibb at Maryland State House, Jan 1984
  29. Photograph of Joanne Mason and Carmen Graciela Melgarejo at Maryland State House, Jan 1984
  30. Photograph of Rita Barchetti, Leslie Murray, Janette, Nelson Hincatie, Susan Gibb, Carmen Graciela Melgarejo, Joanne Mason and in front of Bancroft Hall in Annapolis, Jan 1984
  31. Photograph of Rita Barchetti, Leslie Murray, Janette, Nelson Hincatie, Susan Gibb, Ann Glovier, and Carmen Graciela Melgarejo at Naval Academy, Jan 1984
  32. Photograph of Carmen Graciela Melgarejo and Susan Gibb in Annapolis, Jan 1984
  33. Caption, “Midshipman Carmen Graciela Melgarejo of Paraguay (’79-’80) with Susan Gibb, SDHS, AA to Paraguay, ’84-’85,” Jan 1984
  34. Caption, “AFS Day Trip to Annapolis,” Jan 1984
  35. Newsletter clipping, “Eastern Atlantic Region”
  36. Newspaper clipping, Carmen Graciela Melgarejo and Juanita Cullum at Naval Academy
  37. Newspaper clipping, AFS students honored at graduation, Jun 1984
  38. Newspaper clipping, Senior pictures of Rita Barchetti and Lesley Murray, Jun 1984
  39. Invitation to Snow Hill AFS Picnic, Jun, 1984
  40. Photograph of Rita Barchetti, 1984
  41. Photograph of Richard Bolen and Rita Barchetti at AFS Picnic, Jun 1984
  42. Newspaper clipping, “Miss Dennis is exchange student,” May 1984
  43. Newspaper clipping, “Decatur’s Chinese English teacher finds startling differences in U.S.,” Jan 1984
  44. Newspaper clipping, “Chinese Teacher Visits Berlin School,” Jan 1984
  45. Photograph of Bixia Cai and Rita Barchetti at Mt. Zion One Room School Museum, Jun 1984
  46. Photograph of Rita Barchetti at Mt. Zion One Room School Museum, Jun 1984
  47. Photograph of Rita Barchettiat Mt. Zion One Room School Museum, Jun 1984
  48. Photograph of Bixia Cai at Mt. Zion One Room School Museum, Jun 1984
  49. Caption, “Visit to Snow Hill,” Jun 1984

Folder 14 (1983-1986)

  1. Newspaper clipping, 3rd Annual International Taster’s Party, Bixia Tai and Linda Holland, Jun 1984
  2. Photograph of Joanne Mason, Bixia Tai, and unidentified man, Jun 1984
  3. Photograph of Bixia Cai and Joanne Mason, Jun 1984
  4. Newsletter, Joanne Mason resignation, Jun 1984
  5. Photograph of Ann Glovier and AFS students at Fondue Gallery in Ocean City, Jun 1984
  6. Photograph of Willard Pusey, Kathy Serman, Ann Glovier, Joanne Mason, and Jerry Rollyson
  7. Brochure for AFS
  8. Photograph of Bebe Ryan, Nelson Hincapie, Lesley Murray, and Rita Barchetti, Jun 1984
  9. Photograph of unidentified people
  10. Photograph of Lesley Murray, Rita Barchetti, Nelson Hincapie, and Janette at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  11. Photograph of Rita Barchetti at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  12. Photograph of Mauri, Amy Dorman, and Liz Richards at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  13. Photograph of suitcases and unidentified people
  14. Photograph of Joanne Mason and Jerry Rollyson
  15. Photograph of Lesley Murray and Bebe Ryan at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  16. Newspaper clipping, “AFS students gather in resort for pre-tip farewell dinner,” Jun 1984
  17. Newspaper clipping, “Area exchange students’ final party of the year”
  18. Photograph of 2 unidentified students, Janette, and Jackie Baine at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  19. Photograph of Ann Glovier and Kathy Serman at Fondue Gallery, Jun 1984
  20. Photograph of Jackie Baine and Rita Barchetti, Jun 1984
  21. Newspaper clipping, Snow Hill AFS officers, Jun 1984
  22. Drawing of AFS building
  23. Newspaper clipping, “Annual Conference,” Oct 1984
  24. Newspaper clipping, “AFS students attend conference,” Oct 1984
  25. Photograph of Murray Glendhill and Chris Pettit
  26. Photograph of AFS students, 1984
  27. Newspaper clipping, Pocomoke Junior Women’s Club and Pocomoke AFS Chapter, 1984
  28. Card from Bob and Charlotte Flinn
  29. Newspaper clipping, “Soroptimists hear exchanges talk,” Nov 1984
  30. Newspaper clipping, AFS Fall Conference advertisement, Oct 1984
  31. Newspaper clipping, “Chris Pettit returns from Mexican exchange,” Sept 1984
  32. Newspaper clipping, “Snow Hill Exchangee will return home to Australia next week,” Jun 1985
  33. Newspaper clipping, “Exchange students visit Snow Hill,” Jul 1985
  34. Newspaper clipping, “S.H. exchange reports on trip”
  35. Newspaper clipping, “In Brazil” (Jay Henman)
  36. Newspaper clipping, Letter to the Editor from Joanne Mason, Aug 1985
  37. Newspaper clipping, “Woman, 78, is Traveling Adventurer,” Feb 1986
  38. Newspaper clipping, “Invitation to Join the AFS”
  39. Newspaper clipping, “SHHS student participates in AFS program”
  40. Newspaper clipping, “Birckhead is Miss Heartlines Finalist,” Aug 1986
  41. Newspaper clipping, “Henman Visits Brazil in Exchange Program,” Sept 1985
  42. Newsletter, Connections: The AFS Newsletter, Spring 1987
  43. Newsletter, Connections: The AFS Newsletter, Summer 1987
  44. Program, AFS Fall Conference, Oct 1985
  45. Newspaper clipping, “Former AFS Student Now At UN,” Jun 1986
  46. Newspaper clipping, “AFS conference is held at PHS”
  47. Paper with list of AFS students
  48. Newspaper clipping, “Youths from all over the world travel for week’s stay in Snow Hill”
  49. Newspaper clipping, “AFS Program Has Fall Conference,” Oct 1985
  50. Newspaper clipping, “Walk Together Talk Together,” Dec 1967
  51. Newspaper clipping, “Walk Together Talk Together,” Mar 1970

Attached Documents

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159