*Our Digitized Microfilm database does not need a Library Card number to log in.
*Ancestry is only available for access in our physical branches.
Here you can learn more about the Worcester County Library's Special Collections.
If you have any questions about a collection, please email History@worcesterlibrary.org or send us a message through our Contact Us tab.
Special Collections contain many collections, records, and papers relating to the history of Worcester County, Md. Most of these are located physically at the Snow Hill Branch.
Included are:
Archive Collections Portal - Contains over 100 unique collections related to Worcester County, Maryland. You can view most of these collections in-person at the Snow Hill Branch of Worcester County Library.
The Oral History & Folklife Portal- Contains ~100 oral histories bringing to life the history of Worcester County, Md.
The Historic Photograph collection - Contains ~3,000 photographs of Worcester County, Md. These are available to view on our Flickr website. Scroll down to see more.
William D. Pitts Collection - This collection contains 19,780 items of land survey records relating to Worcester County and lands just beyond the County's borders. Materials date from 1677 to 1982.
Please visit our Archive Collections Portal to view finding aids of our Special Collections!
Finding Aids describe the items included in each collection, as well as give some background to the subject or people mentioned in the collection.
You can view most of these collections in-person at the Snow Hill Branch of Worcester County Library.
Please visit our Oral History & Folklife Collection Portal to view these. All the oral histories are available in digital format. The originals are not available to the public due to the quality of the original cassettes.
The William D. Pitts collection contains 19,780 items of land survey records relating to Worcester County and lands just beyond the County's borders. Materials date from 1677 to 1982. These records are searchable via a database located at the Snow Hill Branch. Our staff members can help you navigate the databases.
Useful information to have when using this database:
-Platt Number
-List of all people who owned the land
-If you know what the land was called (ex. Silver Hill)
-If you know where the land is located (ex. Stockton)
The more information you have already conducted, the easier it is for us to help you search.
Included in the Historic Photograph Collections are photographs and postcards of Worcester County between 1890-1970. Click on the link above to view all the digitized photographs on Flickr.
Click on the link below to view:
Postcards of Worcester County - WR 52 Postcard collection, featuring various postcards of places in and around Worcester County from the early 1900s-1980s.
Assateague Island Slides - Historic Photographs of Assateague Island. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Berlin, Md Slides - Historic Photographs of Berlin, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Delmarva Slides - Photographs of places outside of Worcester County, Maryland, but still located on the Delmarva Peninsula. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Furnace Town, Md Slides - Historic photographs of Furnace Town near Snow Hill, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Newark, Md Slides - Historic photographs of Newark, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Pocomoke City, Md Slides - Historic Photographs of Pocomoke City, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Public Landing Slides - Historic photographs of Public Landing, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Ocean City, Md Slides - Historic Photographs of Ocean City, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Snow Hill, Md Slides - Historic Photographs of Snow Hill, Maryland. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Worcester County, Md Slides - Historic photographs of Worcester County, Maryland. Unknown locations are placed in this album, along with smaller towns such as Whaleyville and Stockton. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Worcester County Library Slides - Photographs of the history of Worcester County Library. WR 53 Historic Slides collection.
Enjoy these photographs below of Worcester County Library from the 1970s - 1990s.
