Skip to Main Content

Archive Collections Portal

WR 65: John S. Hill Collection

5 document boxes

(1878 – 1929)

Bulk: 1905-1929

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:

 WR 65
Creator(s): Created by various sources, collected by John S. Hill.
Acquisition:

Unknown
Language(s): English
Use: Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:

“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:

Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022.
Related Materials: WR 24: Stockton High School Collection
Separated Materials: None.

Abstract

The John S. Hill Collection is comprised of a series of documents collected by John S. Hill over the course of his life time. These files include the school records of his family members, programs and invitations for school events, personal, academic, and professional correspondence, and his own writing in the form of poetry, books, and other publications. Some schools included in these records are Girdletree High School, Ocean City High School, Stockton High School, and Maryland State Normal School.

Administrative History / Biographical Note

Biographical Note coming soon.

Scope and Content Note

Series I: School Files, 1901-1929: The files contain the school records of members of the Hill family, and school event invitations and programs.

Series II: Correspondence: Communication on various topics such as this collection, school/education matters, publishing, personal matters, and letters to the editor.

Series III: Publications: Publications include poetry, books, and photographs by John S. Hill.

Arrangement Statement

The John S. Hill Collection records have been arranged into three series, SCHOOL FILES, CORRESPONDENCE, and PUBLICATIONS. An effort has been made to separate items into folders in each box in the approximate order in which Mr. Hill had organized his papers. Inventory list is only given to the folder level, not the item level.

Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Education

Publishing

Corporate Names

Girdletree High School

Maryland High School Association

Ocean City High School

Stockton High School

Tri-County Institute

Personal Names

Hill, Charles Edgar

Hill, Esther Ellen

Hill, John James

Hill, John S.

Hill, William Asher

Location Terms

Girdletree (Md.)

Ocean City (Md.)

Stockton (Md.)

Inventory List

Series I: School Files

Box 1

  1. Hill, Charles Edgar: School Records, 1909-1922
  2. Hill, Esther Ellen: School Records, 1914-1925
  3. Hill, Esther Ellen: Maryland State Normal School Records
  4. Hill, William Asher: School Records, 1905-1915
  5. Financial Report of Board of Education Worcester County, 1926
  6. Girdletree High School Invitations and Programs, 1920-1923
  7. Ocean City High School Invitations and Programs, 1924-1929
  8. Stockton High School Alumni Banquet Invitations, 1907-1922
  9. Stockton High School Alumni Banquet Programs, 1907-1922
  10. Stockton High School Alumni Banquet Duplicates, 1907-1922
  11. Stockton High School Commencement Invitations, 1902-1923
  12. Stockton High School Commencement, Play, Contest Programs, 1901-1922
  13. Stockton High School Commencement, Play, Contest Programs Duplicates
  14. Stockton High School Patrons’ Day Programs, 1909-1911
  15. Schools, Colleges, Sunday School Invitations, Programs, etc., 1894-1927
  16. Tri-County Institute, 1905-1915

Box 2

  1. Maryland High School Association, 1908
  2. Teachers’ Examination Records
  3. Attendance Records Worcester County Schools, 1922-1926
  4. School Record Book #1- Stockton, 1885-1900
  5. School Record Book #2- Stockton, 1901-1922; Girdletree, 1922-1923
  6. Teachers’ Examination Papers Worcester County, 1903-1916
  7. Retirement Plan for Teachers State of Maryland

Series II: Correspondence

Box 3

  1. Correspondence Re: John S. Hill Collection
  2. Correspondence Re: Letters to the Editor
  3. Correspondence Re: Personal
  4. Correspondence Re: Publishing
  5. Correspondence Re: Student Behavior
  6. Correspondence Re: Worcester County Teachers’ Salary Suit
  7. Correspondence Re: Professor Hill’s Character
  8. Newspaper Clippings: Personal
  9. Newspaper Clippings: General

Series III: Publications

Box 3 (cont.)

  1. Poetry: “A Bunch of Posies”, 1878-1900
  2. Poetry: “Mementoes”, 1884
  3. Photographs
  4. Phrenology- “The Temperaments”
  5. Scrapbook: Poetry, School Records, Newspaper Clippings, Copies of Senate Bills

Box 4

  1. J. Noshill: The Autobiography by Professor John S. Hill
  2. The Trail of the Serpent by Professor John S. Hill (A novel concerning Prohibition)

Box 5

  1. Fair Play and the Golden Rule by Professor John S. Hill (copy 1)
  2. Fair Play and the Golden Rule by Professor John S. Hill (copy 2)
  3. Marion Mears by Professor John S. Hill (copy 1)
  4. Marion Mears by Professor John S. Hill (copy 2)
  5. Stories of the Eastern Shore by Professor John S. Hill

Attached Documents

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159