WR 33: Worcester County Public Schools Collection |
1 document box
(1944-2008)
Bulk: 1954-1968
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 33 |
| Creator(s): | Worcester County Public Schools |
| Acquisition: |
The Worcester County Public Schools collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by various unknown donors. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, January 2023. |
| Related Materials: | WR 23: Snow Hill High School collection, WR 24: Stockton High School collection, WR 26: Worcester High School collection, WR 27: Snow Hill Middle School collection, WR 28: Stephen Decatur High School collection, WR 29: Pocomoke High School collection, WR 32: Ocean City Elementary School collection, WR 65: John S. Hill collection, WR 74: Girdletree High School collection, WR 78: Buckingham High School collection |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
This collection contains publications and records regarding Worcester County Public Schools and the Board of Education. This includes calendars, reports, handbooks, and other documents regarding the daily operation and workings of the school system.
Worcester County Public Schools is the public school system in Worcester County, Maryland. For a full history of public education in Worcester County, see Hickory Stick to Computer Chip by Louise Ash, a history that was published by the Worcester County Retired Teachers Association in 1992.
This collection contains items created by and related to the Worcester County Public Schools, the Board of Education, and other organizations under their umbrella. It was formed from items located in the vertical files of the Snow Hill Branch that were removed for better preservation. Items related to specific schools can be found in their own collections, listed above under ‘Related Materials.’
The collection has been sorted into the following series:
Series I: Calendars, 1954-1996. This series is comprised of calendars given out at the beginning of each school year. These include events and holidays as well as a staff directory for each school, financial statements for the last year, and other information.
Series II: Annual Reports, 1944-1991. This series includes the annual reports for the Board of Education. These reports go over the budget, test scores, enrollment, and information about the different schools in the system.
Series III: Policies, 1956. This series includes documents given to WCPS staff going over policies of employees.
Series IV: Newsletters, 1958-2008. This series is comprised of newsletters sent from the Worcester County Board of Education to parents and students regarding the activities and other news of the school system.
Series V: Handbooks, 1986-1991. This series includes handbooks given to staff, students, and parents from Worcester County Public Schools. These include a directory of administration, dress codes, schedules, and other information that would be useful to students.
The Worcester County Public School Collection has been arranged into five series, CALENDARS, ANNUAL REPORTS, POLICIES, NEWSLETTERS, and HANDBOOKS.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Education
School
Corporate Names
Bishopville Elementary School
Buckingham Elementary School
Cedar Chapel Elementary School
Church Street Elementary School
Flower Street Elementary School
Girdletree Elementary School
Newark Elementary School
Ocean City Elementary School
Pocomoke Elementary School
Pocomoke High School
Ross Street Elementary School
Snow Hill Elementary School
Snow Hill High School
Stephen Decatur High School
Stephen Long Elementary School
Stockton Elementary School
Whaleysville Elementary School
Worcester County Public Schools
Worcester High School
Personal Names
Cooper, Paul D.
Dryden, Raymond C.
Hancock, Alfred S.
Hyde, Paul S.
Location Names
Berlin (Md.)
Bishopville (Md.)
Girdletree (Md.)
Ocean City (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Stockton (Md.)
Whaleysville (Md.)
Worcester County (Md.)
Series I: Calendars
Folder 1
Folder 2
Series II: Annual Reports
Folder 3
Folder 4
Series III: Policies
Folder 5
Series IV: Newsletters
Folder 6
Series V: Handbooks