LibGuides: Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy: Resources

Free Databases

The Worcester County Library subscribes to a few databases that are great for Local History and/or Genealogy research.

*Our Digitized Microfilm database does not need a Library Card number to log in.

*Ancestry is only available for access in our physical branches.

Ancestry Library Edition
Locate genealogical and historical records from around the world, including census and vital records, immigration and passport records, plus books, photos, and more. Please note: this resource is only available within the library.
Gale: Genealogy Connect
Hosted with Gale’s Virtual Reference Library, this collection of eBooks features topics such as the American Revolution, Aristocracy, Emigration and Immigration, Family History, Public Records, and more -- all cross-searchable and always available.
Gale OneFile: News
Find authoritative periodical information in this full-text newspaper index. Key features include searching articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields.
HeritageQuest Online
A comprehensive genealogical source powered by Ancestry that includes census collection, city directories, military records, wills and probate records, images from the Freedman’s Bank, US Serial Sets, and plenty of maps and photos.
NewsBank Local Newspapers
Search full-text and archived articles from local newspapers including the Bay Times (8/2/06-current), The Capital (1/1/02-current), Dorchester Star (6/30/06-current), Kent County News (11/30/06-current), Record Observer (8/4/06-current), Star Democrat (11/16/05-current) and the Times Record (8/2/06-current).
Worcester County Library Digitized Microfilm
The library's microfilm collection housed in the Worcester Room of the Snow Hill Branch has been digitized by Advantage Companies, Inc. The collection consists of newspapers, church records, mortality records, census records, wills and other court records. The database can be searched using keywords or narrowed down by title or year of the document. An Advanced Search option provides more detailed filters. Funding for this project was provided through the Beulah V. Riley Trust.

Local Historic Locations

Worcester County Library is not the only entity in Worcester County, Md that has a dedication to preserving our past. Those other entities are listed here.

The Calvin B. Taylor House Museum
A carefully restored early nineteenth century house, located in Berlin’s National Register Historic District, the main block of the house has been furnished as a house museum and the west wing as a gallery displaying local memorabilia.
Costen House Museum
The Costen House Museum, located in Pocomoke, was the home of Dr. Isaac Costen, a medical doctor during the Civil War. He moved to Pocomoke, then Newtown after the war, and was elected mayor of Pocomoke City in 1888 after serving in politics for fifteen years. Even after his death in 1931, the home was lived in by members of his family for over a century. The museum was founded in 1974 by Myrtle A. Polk and a group of public-spirited citizens, known as the Spirit of Newtown Committee, who formed when the home was threatened by demolition.
Delmarva Discovery Museum
Located on the banks of the beautiful Pocomoke River, the Delmarva Discovery Museum is housed in a historic Art Deco brick building, originally built in 1922 as a garage. The museum was conceived as a place where visitors could explore the rich history and natural world of Delmarva, the peninsula consisting of Delaware and the Eastern Shores of Maryland and Virginia. Today the museum offers a variety of exhibits, public events, and educational programs for visitors of all ages.
Furnace Town
The Furnace Town Foundation provides community and educational programming, sharing the lore of those who worked in service of the Nassawango Iron Furnace, and lived in the Pocomoke Forest. We steward and interpret the Village of historic buildings, and their collections, to provide connections to the past, and the natural world. It is also home to the Mt. Zion One Room Schoolhouse, previously located on Ironshire Road, and moved in 2015 after fundraising efforts by the WCHS.
Germantown School Community Heritage Center
A 2 room school was erected on the property by the Rosenwald Foundation in 1923. Grades 1, 2 and 3 in one room and Grades 4, 5, 6 & 7 in the other room. Pot belly stoves were used to heat room. When the Board of Education of Worcester County no longer needed such a school, on December 11, 1962, for the sum of $1, the Board of Education of Worcester County turned over the deed and property to the County Highway Association who ripped out the floor and windows and used it as truck and storage garage.
Historic Horse Trail
Ramble and roam along this historically rich coast and countryside, replete with beautiful scenery that was shaped by both its coastal waters and indigenous horses.
Historic St. Martin's Church Foundation
St. Martin’s Church is a valuable resource in promoting the county’s historical and cultural heritage through educational programs and tourism. Therefore, the museum will open during many county historical open houses and museum days to promote our mission of preservation and education. It is a not for profit community educational center for the purpose of preserving the heritage of the site.
Julia A. Purnell Museum
Today, the Julia A. Purnell Museum offers exhibits interpreting many aspects of Worcester County’s history. A time-line parallels the history of the County with that of the nation as a whole. The People of the Pocomoke exhibit informs visitors about the history of regional Native Americans. A “general merchandise” store exhibit welcomes guests back to a time when the community was built around the local general store. The Victorian Era is also represented, complete with displays of clothing, jewelry, toys, and household items. Machines illustrate the many “modern” improvements that took place during Julia Purnell’s lifetime. With such a wide variety of exhibits, the Julia A. Purnell Museum offers something for everyone.
Mar-Va Theater Performing Arts Center
The Mar-Va Theater is located in Pocomoke City, and is a historic theater that still shows movies and plays.
Ocean City Lifesaving Station Museum
Take some time to reminisce with our Ocean City Memories or let yourself travel back through time to join the heroic Surfmen of the US Life-Saving Service on a rescue mission.
Rackliffe Plantation House Museum
Rackliffe House Trust, a private non-profit foundation, has entered into a long-term lease with the Maryland Department of Natural Resources for the purpose of restoring the notable 18th century plantation house overlooking Sinepuxent Bay... and upon completion of reconstruction to open the property to the public as the Coastal Heritage Center, focusing on the life and times of the early seaside "merchant-planters."
Sturgis One Room School and Heritage House
Sturgis One Room School Museum, Inc. is an organization that actively works to preserve, promote, and protect the rich cultural heritage of Sturgis One Room School and educate our youth to value the school's cultural and historical richness.
Worcester County Historical Society
The Worcester County Historical Society is a non-profit organization dedicated to the preservation of the history of Worcester County. They meet several times a year, and help support the various museums in the county.

There are also several organizations in the surrounding counties that may have information useful to researchers of the Worcester County area. Some of these are listed below.

Delaware Public Archives
The Delaware Public Archives contains records of Delaware state and local governments including census materials, vital statistics, tax assessments, probate/estate records, land deeds, and military records. They also have many genealogically related materials that were of private origin, such as family histories, bible records, church records, manuscript genealogies, and newspapers.
Eastern Shore of Virginia Heritage Center
The Eastern Shore of Virginia Heritage Center is part of the Eastern Shore Public Library. They house collections of material relating to the history, genealogy, and culture of the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
Edward H. Nabb Research Center
The Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture at Salisbury University is a research center for university students and outside researchers. It contains photographs, archival documents, books, and other resources related to Wicomico County, the nearby counties of Worcester, Dorchester, Somerset, Accomack, VA, Northampton, VA, and Sussex, DE, as well as the Eastern Shore as a whole. They also house Special Collections related to the history of the University.
Genealogy and History of the Eastern Shore of Virginia
A webpage compiling research done on genealogy and history on the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
GHOTES Genealogy and History of the Eastern Shore
Facebook group regarding genealogy and history on the Eastern Shore of Virginia.
Lower Delmarva Genealogical Society
The Lower Delmarva Genealogical Society is an organization that focuses on assisting members in genealogical research and helping preserve records. They include the following counties: Sussex, DE; Dorchester, Wicomico, Worcester, Somerset, MD; Accomack, Northampton, VA.
Lower Delmarva Roots
A Facebook group where you can post genealogical questions, research, and stories from Northampton, Accomack VA, Somerset, Worcester, Wicomico, Dorchester MD and Kent, Sussex Co. DE.
Miles Files
This page contains about 102,000 names from the Eastern Shore counties of Accomack and Northampton, Virginia; Somerset, Worcester and Wicomico, Maryland; and Sussex Co, Delaware. Each entry has information on the person with citations to the sources, and links to family members. The information was compiled by researcher M.K. Miles and is housed by the Virginia Eastern Shore Public Library.
Somerset County Historical Society
The Somerset County Historical Society was established in 1965 and serves to preserve and document the history of Somerset County, MD. They hold meetings and programs, support local restoration projects, and house historical objects and documents.

Maryland Resources

Digital Maryland
Digital Maryland is a collaborative, statewide digital preservation program of the Enoch Pratt Free Library/Maryland State Library Resource Center. Users can search and explore historical and cultural documents, images, audio, and videos that record Maryland’s history.
Legacy of Slavery in Maryland
This page, created by the Maryland State Archives collects records related to slavery and enslaved people in Maryland including censuses, certificates of freedom, and runaway ads. They also feature case studies, interactive maps, exhibits, and links to other resources.
Maryland Center for History and Culture
The Maryland Center for History and Culture — formerly the Maryland Historical Society — is the oldest continuously operating nonprofit cultural institution in the state. MCHC is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization that houses a collection of 7 million books, documents, manuscripts, and photographs, and 350,000 objects in its museum and library located in Baltimore.
Maryland Genealogical Society
The Maryland Genealogical Society is a non-profit membership organization, that focuses on researching genealogy, heraldry, history, or biography. Their goals include assisting with genealogical research and helping preserve and index records related to genealogy. They have some records and research guides available on their website.
Maryland Genealogy Network
A Facebook group with the purpose of "sharing genealogical and historical information and to help others in researching family history" in Maryland.
Maryland Historic Trust
The Maryland Historical Trust is the state agency dedicated to preserving and interpreting the legacy of Maryland’s past. Through research, conservation and education, the Maryland Historical Trust assists the people of Maryland in understanding their historical and cultural heritage. Part of the Maryland Department of Planning, the Maryland Historical Trust serves as Maryland’s State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) pursuant to the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966. In addition to its administrative office in Crownsville, the Maryland Historical Trust includes the Jefferson Patterson Park & Museum in St. Leonard, Maryland, which houses the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory.
Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties
The Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties is a database of historic homes, businesses, and other properties that have been surveyed by the Maryland Historic Trust and the Maryland Department of Planning. It can be searched by number, property name, address, or county.
Maryland State Archives
The State Archives serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Its holdings date from Maryland's founding in 1634, and include colonial and state executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; church records; business records; state publications and reports; and special collections of private papers, maps, photographs, and newspapers.
Mayis Indigenous Records
Mayis, “path,” “to go on,” is a database of records related to the Chesapeake region’s Indigenous Peoples. Browse our alphabetical index of terms about Tribal peoples and places found in our current database of Maryland government documents. Many Indigenous terms are found in documents with different spellings. Select the first term listed on the left to see all related spellings in the search results. If you select an alternative spelling, you’ll see only that spelling across all of our records. The focus of our first project phase covers the years 1632-1800.
Medusa, Maryland's Cultural Resource Information System
Medusa is a map based tool that allows you to access information about architectural and archeological resources recorded in the Maryland Inventory of Historic Properties (MIHP) and the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP), as well as properties on which MHT holds preservation easements. Medusa also includes information on resources that have been evaluated for National Register eligibility (Determinations of Eligibility - DOEs).
University of Maryland Libraries
The University of Maryland Libraries Special Collections contains records related to the state of Maryland,

Additional Resources

These resources include sources and materials covering genealogy from a National level, or may cover specific racial, religious, or ethnic groups. Please also visit our Research Guides for more specialized resource recommendations.

National / General Genealogy Resources

Ancestry Library Edition

Locate genealogical and historical records from around the world, including census and vital records, immigration and passport records, plus books, photos, and more. Please note: this resource is only available within the library.

Genealogy - Daughter of the American Revolution

Family Search

Online Research Help
- Information about connecting with research specialists, community research groups, and more.

Resources for Genealogists - National Archives

The National Archives is home to many records that can be useful to your family research including Census Records, Immigration Records, and Military Records. They also have many free charts and forms to document your information, genealogy workshops and events, articles and videos with tips and tricks, and more.

National Genealogical Society

Genealogy Research Guide - Smithsonian Libraries

USGenWeb

Specialized Genealogy Resources

African American / Black

Black History and Genealogy Research Guide
- Research Guide created by Worcester County Library staff with local resources and national resources related to Black History and Genealogy.

Catalan

Introduction to Catalan Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old Catalan documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Chinese

China Families
- Site with genealogical information on Chinese people from the 1850s to 1940s, created by the University of Bristol.
ChinaGenWeb
- A user generated guide to Chinese genealogical resources, organized by province.
Chinese Historical Society of North America
- Collections
Family Search
- Chinese Genealogy
  - Family Search has a page that links to all resources and records related to Chinese Genealogy. This page allows you to search by locations or record types, and links to other pages and articles. Some useful pages include the following:
  - Chinese Online Genealogy Records
    - Links to all Chinese Genealogy Records located on the Family Search website. This includes Church Records, Immigration Records, Newspapers, and more.
  - Chinese Research Tips and Strategies
    - General tips and resources on Chinese research, as well as links to more specific research strategies.

My China Roots
- Database with many Chinese records including Chinese Exclusion Records, Family Tree Books or Zupus, Census Records, Immigration Records and more.
- They also have a Blog with stories, genealogy tips, and more.
- Their Research Wiki also has articles and resources aimed towards getting started with your research.
Language and Names
- Chinese Genealogical Word List - Family Search
  - A list of words that you might come across in Chinese genealogy records and their translation and meaning.

Dutch

Websites and Resources
- Dutch Ancestors - Centrum voor familiegeschidedenis
  - A website from a Dutch center for family history compiling genealogical data from many archives in the Netherlands. Primarily in Dutch.
- Dutch and Belgian Archives and Societies - OpenArchives
- Dutch Genealogy
  - Website by Yvette Hoitink, a professional genealogist based in the Netherlands. Includes blog posts with tips and information about Dutch records, as well as genealogical research services.
- Netherlands Genealogy - Family Search
  - Overview of all records, articles, and resources related to the Netherlands and Dutch Genealogy on Family Search.
- Netherlands: Genealogical Collections - EuroDocs
- NetherlandsGenWeb
Articles and Tips
- 4 Pro Tips for Finding Dutch Family History Resources - LegacyTree Genealogists
Language and Naming
- Dutch Genealogy Terminology (Dutch to English) - Ancestry
- Introduction to Dutch Paleography - BYU
  - A guide to reading old Dutch documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

English

Introduction to English Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old English documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Filipino

French

Language and Naming
- French Genealogy Terms - Ancestry
- Introduction to French Paleography - BYU
  - A guide to reading old French documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

German

Language and Naming
- German to English Genealogy Terms - Ancestry
- Introduction to German Paleography - BYU
  - A guide to reading old German documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.
- Occupation Terms (German to English) - Ancestry
- Relationship Terms (German to English) - Ancestry

Hindu

Irish

Introduction to English Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old Irish and English documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Italian

Language and Naming
- Introduction to Italian Paleography - BYU
  - A guide to reading old Italian documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.
- Italian Genealogy Terms (Italian to English), Part 1 - Ancestry
- Italian Genealogy Terms (Italian to English), Part 2 - Ancestry
- Occupation Terms (Italian to English), Part 1 - Ancestry
- Occupation Terms (Italian to English), Part 2 - Ancestry
- Relationship Terms (Italian to English) - Ancestry

Japanese

Jewish

American Jewish Archives
American Jewish Historical Society
Family Search
- Jewish Genealogy Research
- Jewish Genealogy Research Outline
Getting Started in Jewish Genealogy - B&F: Jewish Genealogy & More
JewishGen - The Global Home for Jewish Genealogy

Mexican

Introduction to Spanish Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old Spanish documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Muslim

Native American

Indigenous History and Culture Research Guide

Norwegian

Polish

Portuguese

Puerto Rican

All About Portuguese History, Genealogy, and Immigration - Portugal Dual Citizenship
- This page from the Portugal Dual Citizenship website compiles many resources related to Portuguese Immigration and Emmigration, Church Records, Family Tree tips, and more.
Family Search
- Portuguese Genealogical Word List
  - A guide to Portuguese words you are likely to find in genealogical sources, and their English translations.
Introduction to Portuguese Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old Portuguese documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Russian

Introduction to Russian Paleography - BYU
- A guide to reading old Russian documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.

Scottish

Spanish

General Records
- Spain Genealogy Guide - Family Search
  - This guide from Family Search highlights records, research guides, articles, and more related to Spanish Genealogy research.
  - Spain Online Genealogy Records - Family Search
- Legacy Tree Onsite: A Guide to Spanish Genealogy & Family History Resources
- SpainGenWeb
- Spain Records - Ancestry
  - Records from Spain on Ancestry include Baptisms, Phone Book Indexes, Police Files, Maps, and more.
Language, Words, and Naming
- Introduction to Spanish Paleography - BYU
  - A guide to reading old Spanish documents including handwriting, language, old terminology and more.
- Spain Naming Customs - Family Search
- Spanish Genealogical Word List - Family Search
- Spanish Genealogy Terminology - Ancestry

Swedish

American Swedish Institute
Ancestry
- Sweden Records
  - Records from Sweden on Ancestry including Birth Records, Emigration Records, Church Records, and more.
Beginner’s Guide to Swedish Genealogy Research - LegacyTree
Family Search
- Sweden Genealogy
  - An overview to all Swedish records, articles, and research guides available on Family Search. Records can be viewed by county or record type on this page.
- Sweden Compiled Genealogies
- Sweden Research Page
- Swedish Family History for Beginners
Swedish American Genealogy Group - Facebook
- Private Facebook group for those to ask questions about researching their Swedish and Swedish American ancestors.
Swedish-American Historical Society
Swedish Genealogical Society of Minnesota
- Research Tools
Swedish Genealogy Guide
Swedish Roots
- A website by The Federation of Swedish Genealogical Societies that gives a guide to Swedish family history and records.
Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center
- Genealogy Resources

Language, Words, and Naming

Charts and Forms

It can be useful to use different charts or forms to keep track of your research notes. Several Archives or Genealogical organizations have forms available for public use, which are listed below.

Take & Make Family Group Sheets
Extra Copies of the Family Group Sheets included in our April 'Take & Make' Activity
6 Generation Pedigree Chart
This pedigree chart / family tree courtesy of Misbach Enterprises was included in our April 'Take & Make' Activity. It can also be filled in digitally using this PDF.

Family Search - Genealogy Research Forms
Family search has a compilation page of forms from several other websites. This includes Census Worksheets, Family Group Sheets, Research Calendars, Timelines, and more.
Ancestry - Free Charts and Forms
While Ancestry is a paid site, they have a few free forms available. These include an Ancestral Chart, Correspondence Record, Source Summary, and Family Group Sheet.
National Archives - Charts and Forms
The National Archives has several forms including many Census forms, Immigration Forms, and Genealogy Activities for Kids.
Family Echo
This is a free family tree builder, that only requires an email log in to save your progress.
Misbach Enterprises - Free Charts
This publisher has several free PDF genealogy charts. They also have several larger ones available for purchase.

Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy

History & Genealogy Programs

Free Databases

Local Historic Locations

Maryland Resources

Additional Resources

Charts and Forms

Send us a Message