WR 69: Ernestine Bailey Papers |
1 document box
(1835-1993)
Bulk: 1992-1993
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 69 |
| Creator(s): |
Specifics unknown, likely compiled by Ernestine Jones Bailey. |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Ernestine Bailey Papers are an assortment of documents pertaining to Black history in Worcester County. This includes information on the founding of Ebenezer Methodist Church, in Snow Hill, Maryland in 1869. Also included are programs from events held at the church, including those of the Worcester County Branch of the National Association for Advancement of Colored People, founded in 1944. Also included are programs and newspaper articles about awards given to Black members of the community from 1992-1993. Also a membership card for the Maryland State Colored Teachers’ Association and Maryland School Bulletin from Lenora Drummond, who went on to become the secretary for the Worcester County NAACP.
The Ebenezer United Methodist Church was organized in 1869 after the trustees purchased a lot of land in Snow Hill from Rev. J. E. Carroll and his wife. This group of trustees included William Roxbury, Samuel Williams, William Dickerson, Charles Spencer, and Littleton Smith. This church was an offshoot of the Whatcoat Methodist Church, and was part of a circuit with Snow Hill, Hutts Chapel, Friendship, and Mt. Wesley. The first church was built in 1873, and was then destroyed by lightning. It was rebuilt in 1899.
The church has held many events over the years, both in house, and outside events. These include commencement exercises for local schools, music recitals, and community meetings. One group that met here was the Worcester County Branch of the National Association for Advancement of Colored People.
The Worcester County NAACP was founded July 1944 at Ebenezer Methodist Church. In attendance at the first meeting was a member of the Morgan State College branch, and the State Conference President. They then elected officers for the branch and discussed committees and responsibilities. There were 138 charter members.
This collection documents the history and community activities of the Ebenezer United Methodist Church, the Worcester County NAACP, and the accomplishments of several Black members of the community.
Due to the small collection size, the collection has not been sorted into separate series, but is simply arranged chronologically.
The Ernestine Bailey Papers have been arranged chronologically by dates discussed in the documents.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
This collection shares a box with WR 67-68, 70-78 and WR 81.
Topical Terms
African American History
Awards and Certificates
Churches and Religion
Education
Women’s History
Corporate Names
The Campbell School of Music
Community Foundation of the Eastern Shore
Ebenezer Methodist Episcopal Church
Ebenezer United Methodist Church
Hutts Chapel
Maryland State Colored Teachers’ Association
Maryland State Department of Education
Mt. Wesley
National Association for Advancement of Colored People
Snow Hill Citizens for Decent Housing
Snow Hill Grammar School
Snow Hill Rotary
Wesley Temple United Methodist Church
Whatcoat Methodist Episcopal Church
Personal Names
Bailey, Ernestine Jones (1929-2000)
Harewood, W. A.
McDowell, John Alexander
Robins, Lenora Drummond
Scott, Carrol
Taylor, Anne
White, I. Henry
Location Terms
Friendship (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Salisbury (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Worcester County (Md.)
Folder 1