WR 29: Pocomoke High School collection |
4 document boxes (1.5 cubic feet)
(1875 – 1982)
Bulk: 1953-1982
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 29 |
| Creator(s): |
Pocomoke High School |
| Acquisition: |
The Pocomoke High School collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by Jean Scott, the estate of Herbert Bounds, and other unknown people. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, September 2019. Updated by Erin Pogue, October 2022. |
| Related Materials: | WR 23, 24, 26, 28, 78 |
| Separated Materials: |
Some yearbooks are being stored in the Pocomoke City Branch of the Worcester County Library. The yearbooks that are being held in Pocomoke are: 1912, 1963, 1964, 1969, 1970, 1971, and 1976. The 1969 in available both in this collection and at the Pocomoke City Branch. |
The Pocomoke High School collection mostly contains the yearbooks that the Pocomoke High School has released. Although this collection does not include every year’s yearbook, it does cover many years from 1953-1982.
Also included in this collection are various memorabilia pieces that pertain to the Pocomoke High School. These memorabilia pieces include graduation programs and invitations, newspaper clippings, and publications.
The collection also contains items from Pocomoke High School’s former names, Newtown High School, and Boston Public School.
In 1865 the Pocomoke High School was located in an old academy on Maple Street between Clarke Avenue and Second Street, with storerooms on Market Street.
In 1867 a building was constructed on Walnut Street and extended the building to it. Thomas F. Stevenson was the architect and builder. Capt. Henry Long, a leading merchant of the town, left $2,500 in his will toward its construction. It had four larger rooms, two recitation rooms and an upper and lower front hall.
The town was known as Newtown from 1865-1878, during which time the school was known as Newtown High School.
In 1895 the original building was enlarged. In 1905 another building was erected and in 1911 a third building took its place.
The present school was built in 1958 at a cost of $819,746, with an enrollment of 368. It has since undergone three renovations. The renovations occurred in 1966, 1984, and 2008. The 2008 renovation cost $48 million.
Series I: Yearbooks, 1953-1982: Included in this series are the yearbooks for the Pocomoke High School. The yearbooks are all titled the Papoose.
*Not every yearbook from 1953-1982 is in this collection.
Series II: Graduation, 1875-1942: Included in this series are items related to graduation exercises at Pocomoke High School. This includes programs, invitations, and newspaper clippings.
Series III: Publications, 1907: Included in this series are publications related to activities at Pocomoke High School. This may include school newspapers, newsletters, or other writings. It currently contains one issue of Pocomoke High School Monthly school newspaper from 1907
The Pocomoke High School collection has been arranged into three series, YEARBOOKS, GRADUATION, and PUBLICATIONS. Yearbooks are dated based on the year of graduation rather than the academic school year (ex. Class of 1982 will be dated 1982 rather than 1981-1982). All series are organized chronologically.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Collections WR 24 and WR 26 are stored in Box 4 of this collection.
Series I: Yearbooks
Box 1
1. Yearbook, Papoose, 1947
2. Yearbook, Papoose, 1948
3. Yearbook, Papoose, 1949
4. Yearbook, Papoose, 1951
5. Yearbook, Papoose, 1953
6. Yearbook, Papoose, 1954
7. Yearbook, Papoose, 1955
8. Yearbook, Papoose, 1956
Box 2
1. Yearbook, Papoose, 1965
2. Yearbook, Papoose, 1965
3. Yearbook, Papoose, 1966
4. Yearbook, Papoose, 1967
5. Yearbook, Papoose, 1968
6. Yearbook, Papoose, 1969
Box 3
1. Yearbook, Papoose, 1972
2. Yearbook, Papoose, 1973
3. Yearbook, Papoose, 1975
4. Yearbook, Papoose, 1977
5. Yearbook, Papoose, 1978
6. Yearbook, Papoose, 1979
Box 4
1. Yearbook, Papoose, 1980
2. Yearbook, Papoose, 1981
3. Yearbook, Papoose, 1982
Series II: Graduation
4. Commencement Program, Newtown High School, 1875
5. Souvenir Program, Boston Public School, 1906
6. Class Prophecy, 1909
7. Valedictory, 1909
8. Class Night Program, 1909
9. Commencement Program, 1909
10. Commencement Program, 1910
11. Commencement Program, 1914
12. Commencement Program, 1914
13. Commencement Invitation, 1914
14. Newspaper Clipping, “Commencement Days”, 1914
15. Commencement Invitation, 1915
16. Commencement Invitation, 1916
17. Commencement Program, 1923
18. Commencement Invitation, 1923
19. Commencement Program Scan, 1929
20. Graduation Program, 1939
21. Commencement Invitation, 1942
Series III: Publications
22. Pocomoke High School Monthly, 1907