Skip to Main Content

Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy

Local History and Genealogy Magazines

We have a collection of several magazines based on genealogy, Maryland history, and historical research. The magazines in our collection may be viewed in the Worcester Room at the Snow Hill Branch. If you have any questions about these, or would like to make an appointment to view them please email History@worcesterlibrary.org.

The Worcester County Library does not own the rights to any of these publications, please obtain permission from each magazine before publishing any materials in this collection. 

The magazines included in our collection are listed below.

Maryland & Delmarva Genealogy Magazines

Maryland Genealogical Society Bulletin

The Maryland Genealogical Society Bulletin was published by the Maryland Genealogical Society from 1960-2007. It was followed by the Maryland Genealogical Society Journal. The MGS has made the Table of Contents and Indexes for all issues available on their website here. Online scans of full issues are available on their website to MGS members. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 14, Numbers 1-4, Feb, May, Aug, Nov 1973 
  • Volume 15, Numbers 1-4, Feb, May, Aug, Nov 1974
  • Volume 16, Numbers 1-4, Feb, May, Aug, Nov 1975
  • Volume 17, Numbers 1-4 & Supplement, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1976​​​​​​​
  • Volume 18, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1977
  • Volume 19, Numbers 1, 4 & Supplement, Winter, Fall 1978
  • Volume 20, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1979
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 21, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1980
  • Volume 22, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1981
  • Volume 23, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1982
  • Volume 24, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1983
  • Volume 25, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1984
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 26, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1985
  • Volume 27, Numbers 1-4 & Surname Listing & Membership Directory, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1986​​​​​​​
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 28, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1987
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 29, Numbers 1-3, Winter, Spring, Summer, 1988
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 30, Numbers 1-4 & Membership Directory, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall, December 1989
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 31, Numbers 1-4 & Membership Directory, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall, December 1990
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 32, Numbers 1-4 & Membership Directory, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall, December 1991
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 33, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1992
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 34, Numbers 2-3, Spring, Summer, 1993​​​​​​​
  • ​​​​​​​Volume 36, Number 1, Winter 1995

Maryland Genealogical Society Journal

The Maryland Genealogical Society Journal is published by the Maryland Genealogical Society from 2008-Present. It was preceded by the Maryland Genealogical Society Bulletin. The MGS has made the Table of Contents and Indexes for all issues available on their website here. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 49, Number 3, 2008
  • Volume 50, Numbers 1-3, 2009
  • Volume 51, Numbers 1-3, 2010
  • Volume 52, Numbers 1-3, 2011
  • Volume 53, Numbers 1-3, 2012
  • Volume 54, Numbers 1-3, 2013
  • Volume 55, Numbers 1-3, 2014
  • Volume 56, Numbers 1-3, 2015
  • Volume 57, Numbers 1-3, 2016
  • Volume 58, Numbers 1-3, 2017
  • Volume 59, Numbers 1-2, 2018
  • Volume 61, Number 1, 2020

Maryland Magazine of Genealogy

The Maryland Magazine of Genealogy was published by the Maryland Historical Society (now the Maryland Center for History and Culture) from 1978-1982. This was merged with the Maryland Historical Magazine in 1983. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 1, Number 1, Fall 1978
  • Volume 2, Numbers 1-2, Spring, Fall 1979
  • Volume 3, Numbers 1-2, Spring, Fall 1980
  • Volume 4, Number 1, Spring 1981
  • Volume 5, Numbers 1-2, Spring, Fall 1982

The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist 

The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist was created by editor Raymond B. Clark Jr. in St. Michaels MD. It was released from 1959-1990. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 6, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1965
  • Volume 13, Number 2, April 1972
  • Volume 14, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1973
  • Volume 15, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1974
  • Volume 16, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1975
  • Volume 17, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1976
  • Volume 18, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1977
  • Volume 19, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1978
  • Volume 20, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1979
  • Volume 21, Numbers 1-4, January, April, July, October 1980
  • Volume 22, Number 4, October 1981
  • Volume 24, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1983
  • Volume 25, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1984
  • Volume 26, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1985
  • Volume 27, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1986
  • Volume 28, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1987
  • Volume 29, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1988
  • Volume 30, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall 1989
  • Volume 31, Numbers 1-3, Winter, Spring, Summer 1990

Maryland History and Lifestyle Magazines

Chesapeake Bay Magazine

Chesapeake Bay Magazine features articles on boating and life in the Chesapeake Bay area. It was has been published from 1971- Present day. It was first published under the name Chesapeake Bay and Bay Country. It was founded in Reedville, MD, and is now based in Annapolis, MD. The official website of the magazine is here. An assortment of issues from 2018-2023 are readable online here. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 38, Numbers 9-12, Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr 2009 
  • Volume 39, Numbers 1-11, May, June, July, Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov 2009, Dec 2009/Jan 2010, Feb, Mar, Apr 2010
  • Volume 40, Numbers 1-9, May, June, July, Aug, Sep, Oct, Nov 2010, Dec 2010/Jan 2011, Feb 2011

Chesapeake Life

Chesapeake Life was a lifestyle magazine centered on the Chesapeake Bay area. It was first published in 1996, and was purchased by Alter Communications in 2001. Its last issue was released in 2011. Publications under Alter Communications are now published by Mid-Atlantic Media. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 15, Numbers 1-6, February, April, June, August, October, November 2009
  • Volume 16, Numbers 1-3, Winter, April, Summer 2010
  • Volume 17, Numbers 1-2, Winter, Spring 2011 

Maryland Historical Magazine

The Maryland Historical Magazine is published by the Maryland Center of History and Culture (formerly the Maryland Historical Society). It was started in 1906, and is still in publication today. The MCHC has made full scans of all past issues from 1906-2019 available to view on their website here. Issues from 2008-2021 can be read online here. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 1, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1906
  • Volume 2, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1907
  • Volume 3, Numbers 1-4 & Index, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1908
  • Volume 4, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1909
  • Volume 5, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1910
  • Volume 6, Numbers 1, 2, 4, Mar, June, Dec 1911
  • Volume 7, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1912
  • Volume 8, Numbers 1-4 & Index, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1913
  • Volume 9, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1914
  • Volume 10, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1915
  • Volume 11, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1916
  • Volume 16, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1921
  • Volume 17, Number 1, Mar 1922
  • Volume 19, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1924
  • Volume 20, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1925
  • Volume 21, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1926
  • Volume 22, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1927
  • Volume 23, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1928
  • Volume 24, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1929
  • Volume 25, Numbers 2-4, June, Sept, Dec 1930
  • Volume 26, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1931
  • Volume 27, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1932
  • Volume 28, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1933
  • Volume 29, Numbers 1-4, Mar, June, Sept, Dec 1934
  • Volume 30, Numbers 1, 2, 4, Mar, June, Dec 1935
  • Volume 31, Numbers 1-2, Mar, June 1936
  • Volume 52, Number 1, Mar 1957 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 53, Number 4, Dec 1958 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 55, Number 4, Dec 1960 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 60, Number 4, Dec 1965 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 63, Numbers 2-3, Summer, Spring 1968 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 67, Numbers 1, 4, Spring, Winter 1972 (at Berlin branch)
  • Volume 72, Numbers 2-4, Summer, Fall, Winter 1977
  • Volume 73, Numbers 1 & 4, Spring, Winter 1978
  • Volume 74, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1979
  • Volume 75, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1980
  • Volume 76, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1981
  • Volume 77, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1982
  • Volume 78, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1983
  • Volume 79, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1984
  • Volume 80, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1985
  • Volume 81, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1986
  • Volume 82, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1987
  • Volume 83, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1988
  • Volume 84, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1989
  • Volume 85, Numbers 2-4, Summer, Fall, Winter 1990
  • Volume 86, Number 1, Spring 1991
  • Volume 87, Numbers 1-3, Spring, Summer, Fall 1992
  • Volume 88, Number 2, Summer 1993
  • Volume 89, Number 1, Spring 1994
  • Volume 90, Number 1, Spring 1995
  • Volume 91, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1996
  • Volume 92, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1997
  • Volume 93, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1998
  • Volume 94, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 1999
  • Volume 95, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2000
  • Volume 96, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2001
  • Volume 97, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2002
  • Volume 98, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2003
  • Volume 99, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2004
  • Volume 100, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2005
  • Volume 101, Numbers 1-3, Spring, Summer, Fall 2006
  • Volume 102, Numbers 3-4, Fall, Winter 2007
  • Volume 103, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2008
  • Volume 104, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2009
  • Volume 105, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2010
  • Volume 106, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2011
  • Volume 107, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2012
  • Volume 108, Numbers 1-4, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter 2013
  • Volume 109, Number 1, Spring 2014
  • Volume 113, Number 2, Fall/Winter 2018
  • Volume 114, Numbers 1-2, Spring/Summer, Fall/Winter 2019
  • Volume 115, Number 1-2, Spring/Summer, Fall/Winter 2020
  • Volume 116, Numbers 1-2, Spring/Summer, Fall/Winter 2021
  • Volume 117, Number 1, Spring/Summer 2022

MDHS News

MDHS News was published by the Maryland Historical Society (now the Maryland Center for History and Culture) to update members on upcoming events, exhibits, and more. It has since been merged with the Maryland Historical Magazine and email newsletters. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Spring/Summer 2008

Maryland Life

Maryland Life was a lifestyle magazine published by Great State Publishing from 2005 to 2013. After ending publication in 2013, the website was taken down. An archived version of the site can be viewed here. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 5, Issues 1-3, 5-6, Jan/Feb, Mar/Apr, May/June, Sep/Oct, Nov/Dec 2009
  • Volume 6, Issues 1-5, Jan/Feb, Mar/Apr, May/June, July/Aug, Sep/Oct 2010

Maryland Magazine

Maryland Magazine was published by Maryland Magazine Inc. in Baltimore, MD.

  • Volume 2, 1969-1970
  • Volume 3, 1970-1971
  • Volume 4, 1971-1972
  • Volume 5, 1972-1973
  • Volume 6, 1973-1974
  • Volume 7, Autumn 1974-Summer 1975
  • Volume 8, Autumn 1975-Summer 1976
  • Volume 9, Autumn 1976-Summer 1977
  • Volume 10, Autumn 1977-Summer 1978
  • Volume 11, Autumn 1978-Summer 1979
  • Volume 12, Autumn 1979-Summer 1980
  • Volume 17, Number 3, Spring 1985
  • Volume 19, Number 2, Winter 1986
  • Volume 21, Numbers 2-3, Winter 1988, Spring 1989
  • Volume 23, Number 2, Winter 1990
  • Volume 25, Numbers 1-6, Autumn, Winter 1992, Spring, Summer, Fall, Dec 1993
  • Volume 26, Numbers 1, 3, 4, Feb, June, Aug 1994
  • Volume 27, Numbers 1-6, Feb, Apr, June, Aug, Oct, Dec 1995
  • Volume 28, Numbers 1-8, Jan, Feb, Mar, Apr, June, July/Aug, Sep/Oct, Nov/Dec 1996
  • Volume 29, Number 1, Jan/Feb 1997

General History and Genealogy Magazines

AASLH History News

History News is a magazine published by the American Association for State and Local History. It was first published in 1949, and was preceded by State and Local History News. A subscription to the magazine is included with an AASLH membership, and issues from the last 3 years can be purchased by non-members on their website. More information on the magazine can be found here. Past issues are available online through JSTOR here. The Worcester County Library has the following issues:

  • Volume 60, Numbers 2-4, Spring, Summer, Autumn 2005
  • Volume 61, Numbers 1-4, Winter, Spring, Summer, Autumn 2006
  • Volume 62, Numbers 1, 3, 4, Winter, Summer, Autumn 2007
  • Volume 63, Numbers 1 & 4, Winter, Autumn 2008
  • Volume 61, Numbers 1-3, Winter, Spring, Summer 2009

American Spirit

A magazine published by The Daughters of the American Revolution

  • Volume 156, No. 1-2, Jan/Feb, Mar/Apr 2022

Family Tree Magazine

  • Volume 23, Issue 1-6, Jan/Feb, Mar/Apr, May/June, July/Aug, Sept/Oct, Nov/Dec 2022
  • Volume 24, Issue 1, January/February 2023

History Magazine Quarterly

  • Volume 23, No. 4, Winter 2021/2022
  • Volume 24, No. 1-3, Spring, Summer, Fall 2022

 

Send us a Message

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159