Archive Collections Portal

1 folder

(1918)

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Abstract

The Winnie Dryden Notebook contains newspaper clippings and a Composition Book belonging to Winnie Dryden of Snow Hill; all pertaining to World War I soldiers.  Some clippings refer to local soldiers from the eastern shore. Other miscellaneous clippings are not specific to Worcester County.  The composition book has handwritten notes and clippings pasted inside, including World War I soldier clippings and poems.    

Scope and Content Note

This collection contains newspaper clippings regarding World War I soldiers, and poetry. They were collected into a composition notebook by Winnie Dryden from 1918. Clippings include letters to home, death announcements, and illustrations.

Arrangement Statement

Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

Also contained in this Document Box are collections WR 67-76, WR 78, and WR 81.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

World War I

Corporate Names

Personal Names

Dryden, Winnie

Tennyson, Alfred

Location Terms

Berlin (Md.)

France

Germany

Girdletree (Md.)

Pocomoke City (Md.)

Showell (Md.)

Snow Hill (Md.)

Inventory List

Box 1

1. Composition notebook with newspaper clippings
   1. Newspaper clipping: “M. Beachamp in 5-Day Battle”
   2. Poem: As You Picture Him in Your Dreams by Ruth Wright Kauffman
   3. Poem: The Soldier’s Wife by Frances Parkinson Keyes
   4. Poem: The Red Triangle by Daniel M. Henderson
   5. Newspaper clipping: “Metz is Won Back to Faithful France”
   6. Poem: The Camelious Hump
   7. Poem: What’s the Use by Xeno W. Putnam
   8. Poem: Charge of the Light Brigade
   1. Poem: To a Skylark
   10. Poem: Crossing the Bar by Alfred Tennyson
2. Newspaper clipping: “A. W. Hancock Died at Camp”
3. Newspaper clipping: “Ara J. Bowen Taken ‘Home’”, 1918
4. Newspaper clipping: “Wilson Martin Dies in France”
5. Newspaper clipping: “Corp. McAllen Writes His Father, W. J. McAllen”
6. Newspaper clipping regarding Elwood Carmean
7. Newspaper clipping regarding Ralph L. Brittingham
8. Newspaper clipping: “Corporal J. Calvin Bodley Writes Parents From France”
9. Illustration of Car
10. Illustration captioned “A Handshake the American Boys in London Will Not Forget”
11. Illustration captioned “Like Home, and With Real Home Folks in France”
12. Illustration captioned “The Sweetest Music to the Wounded are the Children’s Songs”
13. Poem: A Soldier’s Invocation to the “Y” by Corinne Roosevelt Robinson
14. Newspaper clipping: Illustration captioned “His Favorite Masterpiece”
15. Newspaper clipping: “President Wilson Sails for France”
16. Newspaper clipping: “Greatest War in History Ended Last Monday; Germany Signs Armistice”, 1918
17. Newspaper clipping: Illustration captioned “And It’s Friday the 13^th!” , 1918
18. Newspaper clipping: “French Returning to Homes in Wake of Americans, 1918”
19. Poem: A Good Slice of Home by Helen Gray Cone
20. Poem: American Consecration Hymn

Attached Documents