Archive Collections Portal

WR 68: WWI Records

1 document box

(1917 - 1920)

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:	WR 68
Creator(s):	Unknown
Acquisition:	Unknown
Language(s):	English
Use:	Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:	“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:	Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022.
Related Materials:	None.
Separated Materials:	None.

Abstract

The WWI Records contains various lists of men and women who served in World War I. Towns include Berlin, Snow Hill, Ocean City, Pocomoke City, Girdletree, Stockton, Newark and Whaleyville. Also, a list of men and one woman whose names do not appear on the list of inductions from Worcester County.

Administrative History

World War I, also known as The First World War, spanned from 1914-1918, and involved many European superpowers. The United States was brought into the war in April 1917.

Worcester County began registration for a selective draft in June 1917. This was conducted by a Board of Registry comprised of Sheriff George W. Truitt, Oliver D. Collins, Clerk of the Court, Dr. Paul Jones, as well as the regular registration judges of each district in the county. The first draftees from Worcester County reported for induction in September 1917. Their quota for the first draft was 152 inductees.

Scope and Content Note

The collection contains lists of men and women from Worcester County who served in World War I. The lists are separated by town, with the people listed alphabetically by last name. For each town the lists are also separated by race, with a different list for white men and black men. Any women, typically listed as nurses, are listed separately. There is also a list of those who were from Worcester County but were enlisted under other boards. Also included is an overview of the draft in Worcester County, and some war service records.

Arrangement Statement

The WWI Records have been arranged in the order in which they were originally stored, with names listed by town.

Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

This collection shares a box with WR 67, 69-78 and WR 81.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

             African American History

             Women’s History

             World War I

Personal Names

Collins, Oliver D.

Jones, Paul     

Truitt, George W.

Truitt, Reginald V.

Location Terms

Berlin (Md.)

Bishop (Md.)

Girdletree (Md.)

Ironshire (Md.)

Newark (Md.)

Ocean City (Md.)

Pocomoke City (Md.)

Selbyville (De.)

Showell (Md.)

Snow Hill (Md.)

St. Martins (Md.)

Stockton (Md.)

Taylorville (Md.)

Welbourn (Md.)

Whaleyville (Md.)

Worcester County (Md.)

Inventory List

Folder 1

1. List of Inducted Men from Berlin, MD.
2. List of Colored Men Inducted from Berlin, MD.
3. List of Inducted Men from Snow Hill, MD.
4. List of Enlisted Men from Snow Hill, Maryland.
5. List of Colored Men Inducted from Snow Hill, MD.
6. List of Men Enlisted and Inducted from Ocean City, Maryland.
7. Pocomoke City List of Inductions and Enlisted Men.
8. Colored Men Inducted from Pocomoke District.
9. Men of St. Martins who were in the Service.
10. List of Enlisted and Inducted Men from Girdletree, Maryland.
11. List of Colored Men Inducted from Girdletree, MD.
12. List of Enlisted and Inducted Men from Stockton, Maryland.
13. List of Colored Men from Stockton, MD.
14. List of Men Enlisted and Inducted from Welbourn, MD and Selbyville, DEL.
15. List of Men Enlisted and Inducted from Showell, Maryland.
16. List of Men Enlisted and Inducted from Bishop, MD.
17. List of Men from Ironshire, List of Men from Taylorville.
18. List of those who served in the late war from Newark, Maryland.
19. Ex-Service Men of Whaleyville, MD.
20. List of Men from Taylorville.
21. Those of Worcester County Men Drafted by Other Boards.
22. Operation of the Draft document, 1917-1919
23. List of men (and 1 woman) in the service of the United States whose names do not appear on list of inductions from Worcester County
24. War Service Records - Worcester County, 1920

Attached Documents