Local History, Special Collections, and Genealogy

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1834-1835, incomplete

Worcester Sentinel and Farmers' and Mechanics' Shield, 1835-1837(?)

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Editor was J. W. Welch. Established October 16, 1835, last known issue published April 18, 1837. May have been succeeded by Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual.

"Marriages & Deaths of the Lower Delmarva, 1835-1840: From the Newspapers of Dorchester, Somerset, and Worcester Counties" compiled by F. Edward Wright, 1835-1846

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1835-1837

Maryland State Archives: 1835-1837

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1835-1837, assorted issues

Worcester Banner, 1838-1840

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established November 1838, last known issue published November 10, 1840. Exact end date unknown.

"Marriages & Deaths of the Lower Delmarva, 1835-1840: From the Newspapers of Dorchester, Somerset, and Worcester Counties" compiled by F. Edward Wright, 1839-1840

Edward Nabb Research Center: July 23, 30, Aug 20, Sept 24, Oct 1, 18, Nov 2, 19, 1839; Jan 21, Jun 23, 1840

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1839-1840

Maryland State Archives: 1838-1840

Worcester Banner, 1838-1840

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established November 1838, last known issue published November 10, 1840. Exact end date unknown.

"Marriages & Deaths of the Lower Delmarva, 1835-1840: From the Newspapers of Dorchester, Somerset, and Worcester Counties" compiled by F. Edward Wright, 1839-1840

Edward Nabb Research Center: July 23, 30, Aug 20, Sept 24, Oct 1, 18, Nov 2, 19, 1839; Jan 21, Jun 23, 1840

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1839-1840

Maryland State Archives: 1838-1840

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. It was established January 1846 under the title Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual. The paper went through several different name changes. It was published under the following titles:

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1846-1888, assorted issues

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1846-1888, assorted issues

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1846-1888, assorted issues

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

New Town Record, 1865-1871

Newtown, MD (Pocomoke City, MD)

Published weekly. Established by Albert J. Merrill. Merged with the Newtown Gazette (1869) to form the Newtown Record and Gazette (1871).

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Newtown Gazette, 1869-1871

Pocomoke City, MD

Established by William D. Clark. Merged with the New Town Record (1865) to form the Newtown Record and Gazette (1871).

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1846-1888, assorted issues

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

New Town Record, 1865-1871

Newtown, MD (Pocomoke City, MD)

Published weekly. Established by Albert J. Merrill. Merged with the Newtown Gazette (1869) to form the Newtown Record and Gazette (1871).

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Newtown Gazette, 1869-1871

Pocomoke City, MD

Established by William D. Clark. Merged with the New Town Record (1865) to form the Newtown Record and Gazette (1871).

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1888-1891

Newtown Record and Gazette, 1871-1874

Newtown, MD / Pocomoke City, MD / Snow Hill, MD

Formed by the merging of the New Town Record (1865) and the Newtown Gazette (1869) in October 1871. Published by Albert J. Merrill. the name was changed to Record and Gazette in 1878 when the town was renamed Pocomoke City. The name was changed again to Pocomoke Record and Gazette c. 1889. The paper was moved to Snow Hill in 1890 and was published as Record and Gazette. Continued by The Press (1891).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical: 1875-1891

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1866-1879

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1875-1889

Maryland State Archives: 1871-1874

Maryland State Archives: 1875-1891

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1846-1888, assorted issues

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester Democrat, 1880-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Merged with the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1896

Pocomoke City Times (The Times), 1882-1888

Pocomoke City, MD

Published weekly. Established by J. Lloyd Wilkinson. Publication ended after the plant was destroyed by a fire on November 22, 1888. No known issues archived.

Peninsula Ledger, 1885-1896

Pocomoke City, MD

Established by Albert J. Merrill. Merged with the Worcester Enterprise (1894) to form the Ledger-Enterprise (1896).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1896

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1896

Maryland State Archives: 1896

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1890

Eastern Shoreman, 1887-1890

Pocomoke City, MD

Weekly. Established around 1887 by Lorie C. Quinn. In 1889 the plant was moved to Crisfield and the newspaper was changed to the Crisfield Times.

Worcester County Library Physical: 1890

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1890

Maryland State Archives: 1890

Worcester County Shield, 1846-1890 (?)

Snow Hill, MD

Worcester County Shield, and Farmers' Manual, Shield & Manual and the Shield and Manual: Jan. 1846 - Oct. 1846

Worcester Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Oct. 1846 - Jul. 1847

Worcester County Shield, and Spirit of the Whig Press: Jul. 1847 - 1855

Worcester County Shield: 1855 - Feb. 1856

Worcester Shield: Feb. 1856 - Dec. 1856

Worcester County Shield: Jan. 1857-1890(?)

Worcester County Library Physical: 1856, 1857-1893

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester Democrat, 1880-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Merged with the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1896

Peninsula Ledger, 1885-1896

Pocomoke City, MD

Established by Albert J. Merrill. Merged with the Worcester Enterprise (1894) to form the Ledger-Enterprise (1896).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1896

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1896

Maryland State Archives: 1896

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1890

Eastern Shoreman, 1887-1890

Pocomoke City, MD

Weekly. Established around 1887 by Lorie C. Quinn. In 1889 the plant was moved to Crisfield and the newspaper was changed to the Crisfield Times.

Worcester County Library Physical: 1890

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1890

Maryland State Archives: 1890

The Press, 1891-1896(?)

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established April 4, 1891, succeeding the Record and Gazette. Exact publication dates unknown.

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1891

Worcester County Library Physical: 1891

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1891

Maryland State Archives: 1891

Peninsula Press, 1893-1898

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Exact dates unknown. Last known issue published May 26, 1898.

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1896-1897

Worcester County Library Physical: 1896-1899

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1896-1897

Worcester Enterprise, 1894-1896

Pocomoke City, MD

Published weekly. Established by a group of businessmen from Pocomoke City, MD. The newspaper merged with the Peninsula Ledger (1885) to form the Ledger-Enterprise (1896).

Ledger-Enterprise, 1896-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Published weekly. Formed from the merging of the Worcester Enterprise (1894) and the Peninsula Ledger (1885). Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1880) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Worcester County Physical: 1905-1910

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester Democrat, 1880-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Merged with the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Ledger-Enterprise, 1896-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Physical: 1905-1910

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1908-1910

Berlin Advance, 1904-?

Berlin, MD; Published weekly

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1908: Oct 31; 1910: Apr 22

Maryland State Archives: 1908-1910

Newspaper Clippings, 1900s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1900s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester Democrat, 1880-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Merged with the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Ledger-Enterprise, 1896-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Physical: 1905-1910

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1911-1922, assorted dates

Berlin Advance, 1911-1922

Berlin, MD

The People, 1914-1920(?)

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Exact dates of publication unknown.

Worcester County Library Physical: 1917-1920

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1917-1920

Maryland State Archives: 1917-1918

Newspaper Clippings, 1910s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1910s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973). Sometimes referred to as the Snow Hill Messenger.

Editors: C. L. Vincent and C. V. White (1925)

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Sources:

"Editors Meet In Outing At Ocean Resort," The Salisbury Times, Jul. 13, 1925, pg. 1

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Editors: James B. Byrd (1925)

Sources:

"Editors Meet In Outing At Ocean Resort," The Salisbury Times, Jul. 13, 1925, pg. 1

Worcester Democrat, 1880-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Merged with the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) to form the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921).

Editors: Edward J. Clark (1925)

Sources:

"Editors Meet In Outing At Ocean Resort," The Salisbury Times, Jul. 13, 1925, pg. 1

Ledger-Enterprise, 1896-1921

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Physical: 1905-1910

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1911-1922, assorted dates

Berlin Advance, 1911-1922

Berlin, MD

The People, 1914-1920(?)

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Exact dates of publication unknown.

Worcester County Library Physical: 1917-1920

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1917-1920

Maryland State Archives: 1917-1918

Worcester Democrat and Ledger-Enterprise, 1921-1953

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper was formed by the union of the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) and the Worcester Democrat (1880) and was continued by the Worcester Democrat (1953).

Worcester County Physical: 1922-1953

Newspapers.com: 1921-1942 (subscription needed)

Berlin-Ocean City News, 1929-1932

Berlin and Ocean City, MD. Published weekly. Merged with the Berlin Times to form the Eastern Shore Times (1932). No known issues archived.

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1/7/1929-12/17/1932

Newspaper Clippings, 1920s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1920s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

"Bits n' Pieces From Old Eastern Shore Newspapers" by George Elwood Richardson III: 1830-1938

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Berlin Times, 1872-1932

Berlin, MD

Said to have been established in 1872, but no known issues survive. Merged with Berlin-Ocean City News to form the Eastern Shore Times in 1932.

Worcester Democrat and Ledger-Enterprise, 1921-1953

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper was formed by the union of the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) and the Worcester Democrat (1880) and was continued by the Worcester Democrat (1953).

Worcester County Physical: 1922-1953

Newspapers.com: 1921-1942 (subscription needed)

Berlin-Ocean City News, 1929-1932

Berlin and Ocean City, MD. Published weekly. Merged with the Berlin Times to form the Eastern Shore Times (1932). No known issues archived.

Edward Nabb Research Center: 1/7/1929-12/17/1932

Eastern Shore Times, 1932-1970

Berlin and Ocean City, MD

Formed by the merging of the Berlin Times and the Berlin-Ocean City News and merged with the Maryland Beacon to form the Eastern Shore Times and Maryland Beacon (1970). Owned by Atlantic Publications, Inc., Accomac, VA in 1981.

Worcester County Library Physical: 1970, 1976

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1962: Nov 29

Newspaper Clippings, 1930s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1930s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Editors: Jack Culver (1946)

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Sources:

"Shore Editors Will Convene," The Salisbury Times, Aug. 21, 1946, pg. 4

Worcester Democrat and Ledger-Enterprise, 1921-1953

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper was formed by the union of the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) and the Worcester Democrat (1880) and was continued by the Worcester Democrat (1953).

Editors: Edward J. Clarke (1941)

Worcester County Physical: 1922-1953

Newspapers.com: 1921-1942 (subscription needed)

Pictures of Worcester Democrat staff, published on Dec. 23, 1941

Eastern Shore Times, 1932-1970

Berlin and Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1970, 1976

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1962: Nov 29

Newspaper Clippings, 1940s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1940s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Worcester Democrat and Ledger-Enterprise, 1921-1953

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper was formed by the union of the Ledger-Enterprise (1896) and the Worcester Democrat (1880) and was continued by the Worcester Democrat (1953).

Worcester County Physical: 1922-1953

Newspapers.com: 1921-1942 (subscription needed)

Eastern Shore Times, 1932-1970

Berlin and Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1970, 1976

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1962: Nov 29

Ocean City Post, 1952-

Ocean City, MD

Weekly

Worcester County Library: 1953-1973

Worcester Democrat, 1953-1973

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper continues the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921) and merged with the Democratic Messenger (1869) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1953-1972

Maryland State Archives: 1953-1973

Ocean News, 1958-

Ocean City, MD

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 7/29/1966,

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1965

Pocomoke Progress, 1959-1959

Pocomoke City, MD

Established March 12, 1959 by a group of businessmen from Accomac, VA. Publication ended on July 30, 1959. Published weekly.

The Resorter

The Ocean Pines Library has physical copies of The Resorter from 1958-1977

Newspaper Clippings, 1950s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1950s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Eastern Shore Times, 1932-1970

Berlin and Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1970, 1976

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1962: Nov 29

Worcester County Library: 1953-1973

Worcester Democrat, 1953-1973

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper continues the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921) and merged with the Democratic Messenger (1869) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1953-1972

Maryland State Archives: 1953-1973

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1969-1985

The Resorter

The Ocean Pines Library has physical copies of The Resorter from 1958-1977

Beachcomber, 1960(?)-

Ocean City, MD. Weekly. Free Distribution. Owned 1981 by Atlantic Publications, Inc., Accomac, Virginia

Worcester County Library Physical: 1967-1968, 1995 (60s at Ocean Pines Branch)

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 4/25/1975, 8/29/1980, 5/29/1981,

1975: Aug 15 (sect. 3), Aug 22 (sect. 2), 29 (sect. 2)

1976: Jun 18 (sect. 2), 25 (sec. 3); Jul 30

1977: Jun 10 (sect. B), 24 (sect. B)

1978: Jun 14; Jul 7;

1979: Jun 1 (sect. 2), 22 (sect. 2), 29 (sect. 3); Jul 6 (sections 1, 2, 3), 13, 20 (sections 2, 3), 27 (section 2); Aug 11 (section 2), 24 (sec. 2), 31

1980: Jul 4 (sect. 2), 18 (sect. 2, 3), 25; Aug 1, 8, 22, 29; Sep 5,

2001: May 11

From book: Salisbury University 1967: Jul 1; Worcester County Messenger, many not indexed

Maryland Coast Press, 1969-1988

Ocean City, MD

Established August 1969. Owned by Resort Publications, Inc., Ocean City, MD in 1981. Sold to Richard Lohmeyer of Berlin in March 1984. Merged with the Ocean City Times (1985) to form the Maryland Times-Press (1988)

Worcester County Library Physical: 1982-1984

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum:

1969: Dec 25

1970: Jan 1, 8, 15, 22, 29; Feb 19, 26; Mar 5, 12, 19, 26; Apr 9, 16, 23, 30; May 7, 14, 21, 28; Jun 4, 11, 18, 25; Jul 2, 9, 16, 23, 30; Aug 13; Sep 3, 10, 17, 24; Oct 1, 8, 15, 22, 29; Nov 5, 12, 19, 26

1980: Jul 9

1988: May 13 (incomplete); Jul 8 (incomplete),

Maryland State Archives: 1969-1980

Newspaper Clippings, 1960s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1960s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Democratic Messenger, 1869-1973

Snow Hill, MD

Published weekly. Established January 30, 1869. Merged with the Worcester Democrat (1953) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Worcester County Library Physical:1887-1970

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1911: Aug 12

Newspapers.com: 1881-1922 (subscription needed)

Eastern Shore Times, 1932-1970

Berlin and Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1970, 1976

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 1962: Nov 29

Worcester County Library: 1953-1973

Worcester Democrat, 1953-1973

Pocomoke City, MD

The newspaper continues the Worcester Democrat and the Ledger-Enterprise (1921) and merged with the Democratic Messenger (1869) to form the Worcester County Messenger (1973).

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1953-1972

Maryland State Archives: 1953-1973

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1969-1985

The Resorter

The Ocean Pines Library has physical copies of The Resorter from 1958-1977

Maryland Coast Press, 1969-1988

Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1982-1984

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1970-1979

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum:

1969: Dec 25

1980: Jul 9

1988: May 13 (incomplete); Jul 8 (incomplete),

Maryland State Archives: 1969-1980

Eastern Shore Times and Maryland Beacon, 1970-1973

Berlin, MD

Also published as the Eastern Shore Times Maryland Beacon, 1970. It was formed by the merging of the Maryland Beacon and the Eastern Shore Times (1932) and was continued by the Eastern Shore Times (1973).

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1970

Maryland State Archives: 1970

Eastern Shore Times, 1973-1985

Ocean City, MD

Continues the Eastern Shore Times and Maryland Beacon (1970) and was continued by the Ocean City Times (1985).

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1976

Maryland State Archives: 1973-1979

Worcester County Messenger, 1973-2005

Pocomoke City, MD

Formed by the merging of the Worcester Democrat and the Democratic Messenger on March 1, 1973. Owned by Atlantic Publications, Inc., Accomac, VA in 1981. Merged with Maryland Times Press (1988) to form the Worcester County Times (2005).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1976-1996

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1973-1990, 1992, 1993-2002

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1969-1985

Ocean City Week, 1974-

Ocean City, MD

Weekly, free distribution. Published by Resort Publications, Inc., Ocean City, MD.

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1977

Oceana, 1978-

Ocean City, MD.

Published weekly, free distribution. Owned by Southwell Communications, Inc., Ocean City, MD.

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum:

1978: Jun 23

1979: Jun 29; Aug 24

1980: Aug 1; Sep 5 (incomplete),

Newspaper Clippings, 1970s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1970s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Maryland Coast Press, 1969-1988

Ocean City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1982-1984

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum:

1969: Dec 25

1980: Jul 9

1988: May 13 (incomplete); Jul 8 (incomplete),

Maryland State Archives: 1969-1980

Eastern Shore Times, 1973-1985

Ocean City, MD

Continues the Eastern Shore Times and Maryland Beacon (1970) and was continued by the Ocean City Times (1985).

Worcester County Library Microfilm: 1976

Maryland State Archives: 1973-1979

Worcester County Messenger, 1973-2005

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1976-1996

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1973-1990, 1992, 1993-2002

Maryland Coastal Dispatch 1984-2024

Ocean City, MD. Published weekly with free distribution. Founded by Richard Lohmeyer of Berlin, MD in 1984. After his passing in 2005, Stewart Green became the publisher. Merged with OC Today to form OC Today/Dispatch in January 2024.

Maryland State Archives: 1988

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 4/11/1986, 11/2/2012, 1/26/2024,

Ocean City Times, 1985-1988

Ocean City, MD

Continues the Eastern Shore Times (1973) and merged with the Maryland Coast Press (1969) to form the Maryland Times-Press (1988)

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1985-1988

Maryland Times-Press, 1988-2005

Ocean City, MD

Formed by the merging of the Maryland Coast Press (1969) and the Ocean City Times (1985). Merged with the Worcester County Messenger (1973) to form the Worcester County Times (2005).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1994-1995

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1988-2004

Newspaper Clippings, 1980s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1980s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Worcester County Messenger, 1973-2005

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1976-1996

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1973-1990, 1992, 1993-2002

Maryland Coastal Dispatch 1984-2024

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1988-2004

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 4/11/1986, 11/2/2012, 1/26/2024,

Maryland Times-Press, 1988-2005

Ocean City, MD

Formed by the merging of the Maryland Coast Press (1969) and the Ocean City Times (1985). Merged with the Worcester County Messenger (1973) to form the Worcester County Times (2005).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1994-1995

Established in 1993 by Flag Publications, Inc.. Stewart Dobson became editor and company president in 1994.

Ocean City Today, 1993-2024

Ocean City, MD

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 12/31/2010, 11/2/2012, 12/28/2012, 1/27/2013, 3/11/2022, 1/26/2024,

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1993-2019

Ocean Pines Independent

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1994-1999

OC Digest

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1996-2019

Newspaper Clippings, 1990s

We have several newspaper clippings from the 1990s where we do not have the full paper. Those can be viewed on CatalogIt here.

Worcester County Messenger, 1973-2005

Pocomoke City, MD

Worcester County Library Physical: 1976-1996

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1973-1990, 1992, 1993-2002

Maryland Coastal Dispatch 1984-2024

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 1988-2004

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 4/11/1986, 11/2/2012, 1/26/2024,

Maryland Times-Press, 1988-2005

Ocean City, MD

Formed by the merging of the Maryland Coast Press (1969) and the Ocean City Times (1985). Merged with the Worcester County Messenger (1973) to form the Worcester County Times (2005).

Worcester County Library Physical: 1994-1995

Established in 1993 by Flag Publications, Inc.. Stewart Dobson became editor and company president in 1994.

Ocean City Today, 1993-2024

Ocean City, MD

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 12/31/2010, 11/2/2012, 12/28/2012, 1/27/2013, 3/11/2022, 1/26/2024,

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1993-2019

OC Digest

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1996-2019

Ocean Pines Progress: 2000-Present

Earliest found issues are from 2000, may have been published earlier.

Contact information, Worcester County Chamber of Commerce in Ocean Pines

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 2000-2007

Digital Issues on Issu: 2010-2025

OC Cable Channels

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 2002-2008

Worcester County Times, 2005-

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 2005-2009, 2012-2013

Maryland Coastal Dispatch 1984-2024

Established in 1993 by Flag Publications, Inc.. Stewart Dobson became editor and company president in 1994.

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 4/11/1986, 11/2/2012, 1/26/2024,

Ocean City Today, 1993-2024

Ocean City, MD

Ocean City Life-Saving Museum: 12/31/2010, 11/2/2012, 12/28/2012, 1/27/2013, 3/11/2022, 1/26/2024,

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1993-2019

OC Digest

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 1996-2019

Ocean Pines Progress: 2000-Present

Earliest found issues are from 2000, may have been published earlier.

Contact information, Worcester County Chamber of Commerce in Ocean Pines

Ocean Pines Library Physical: 2000-2007

Digital Issues on Issu: 2010-2025

Worcester County Times, 2005-

Enoch Pratt Free Library Microfilm: 2005-2009, 2012-2013

Maryland Coastal Dispatch 1984-2024