WR 81: Charles A. Hales Papers |
1 folder
(1941-1958)
Bulk: 1949
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 81 |
| Creator(s): |
Charles A. Hales, The Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Company of Maryland, The Commercial National Bank, The Corddry Company, Jim Hales, Johnny’s Radio Service, Maryland Civil Defense Agency, Paul D. Scarborough & Co., Prettyman King, Snow Hill Building and Loan Association, Snow Hill Mayor and Council, Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company, and W. T. Cherrix Hardware. |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Charles A. Hales Papers contain financial papers from various Snow Hill businesses between 1941-1958. This includes checks, receipts, invoices, statements, and fundraiser requests.
This collection contains financial documents collected by Charles A. Hales from various Snow Hill businesses between 1941-1958. Each business with more than one document associated has its own series, which are sorted chronologically. All official town business is another series, with the final series acting as a catch all for any businesses with a single document.
Series I: The Commercial National Bank, 1941-1946
Series II: W. T. Cherrix Hardware, 1949-1952
Series III: The Corddry Company, 1949-1954
Series IV: Johnny’s Radio Service, 1949-1955
Series V: Paul D. Scarborough & Co.
Series VI: Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company, 1949-1957
Series VII: Town Correspondence, 1949-1958: Notices and invoices from official town or state departments.
Series VIII: Misc. Businesses, 1949-1954: Documents from businesses which had fewer than two documents in this collection.
The Charles A. Hales Papers have been divided into eight series, The Commercial National Bank, W. T. Cherrix Hardware, The Corddry Company, Johnny’s Radio Service, Paul D. Scarborough & Co., Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company, Town Correspondence, and Misc. Businesses.
Within each series, the files are arranged chronologically. In the event that the date is unknown, that document is placed at the end of the series.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Also contained in this Document Box are collections WR 67-78.
Topical Terms
Business
Finances
Taxes
Corporate Names
The Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Company of Maryland
The Commercial National Bank
The Corddry Company
Johnny’s Radio Service
Maryland Civil Defense Agency
Paul D. Scarborough & Co.
Prettyman King Building and Painting
Snow Hill Building and Loan Association
Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company
W. T. Cherrix Hardware
Personal Names
Corddry, Harris S.
Hales, Charles A.
Hales, Jim E.
Nelson, Charles W.
Scarborough, Paul D.
Location Terms
Berlin (Md.)
Onancock (Va.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Box 1
Series I: The Commercial National Bank
Series II: W. T. Cherrix Hardware
Series III: The Corddry Company
Series IV: Johnny’s Radio Service
Series V: Paul D. Scarborough & Co.
Series VI: Snow Hill Volunteer Fire Company
Series VII: Town Correspondence
Series VIII: Misc. Businesses