WR 76: The Great Pocomoke Fair Collection |
1 folder
(1907 - 1994)
Bulk: 1907-1930
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 76 |
| Creator(s): |
Multiple creators, mainly The Great Pocomoke Fair, others unknown |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
This collection contains booklets, programs, microfilm pages and articles pertaining to the Great Pocomoke Fair in Pocomoke City, Maryland, which ran from 1901-1930. Also included is a Season Ticket to the Pocomoke Fair of 1912, and a Pocomoke City Postcard.
The Great Pocomoke Fair began in 1901, and was located on the corner of Second and Broad Street in Pocomoke City. It was organized by a group of men who formed the Pocomoke Fair and Agricultural Association of Pocomoke City, Worcester County, Maryland. The fair showed off agricultural harvests, handiwork, and livestock, had activities such as horse racing, sideshows, games, merry-go-rounds, and food. Visitors could purchase a single admission ticket, or a membership ticket that allowed the guest to go in and out of the fair. They also released an annual catalog that listed the events of the fair, as well as other things to do in town nearby. The final fair was held in 1930. A full history of the fair can be found in this collection.
This collection contains items related to the Great Pocomoke Fair. These showcase the events, rules and regulations, and history of the event. Due to the size of the collection, items are in one series.
The Great Pocomoke Fair records have been arranged in the same order as they were originally discovered, which is loosely in chronological order, with similar document types grouped together. A more formal arrangement may be done at a later date.
This collection is housed in the same document box as WR 67-75, 77-78, and 81.
Topical Terms
Agriculture
Fairs
Livestock
Corporate Names
B. C. & A. Railway Company
The Great Pocomoke Fair
National Trotting Association
Pocomoke Fair and Agricultural Association
Personal Names
Costen, Maurice W.
Gladding, Ray V.
King, William F.
Schoolfield, William S.
Twilley, Samuel J.
Location Names
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Folder 1