WR 71: Klej Grange Collection |
1 document box
(1881)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 71 |
| Creator(s): |
Klej Grange, Station A, New York City |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
This collection contains an 1881 sales booklet on “Klej Grange”. This name represented about 5000 acres of land situated in Worcester County, Maryland. The booklet gives information on purchasing land in this area, and advice on lifestyle, churches, occupations and sanitary regulations. A map is included.
Klej Grange is a tract of about 5000 acres of land. It is in Worcester County, MD, about seven miles away from Snow Hill, eight miles away from Pocomoke City, and four miles away from Stockton. The tract was divided into parcels of 25 to 100 acres and sold to settlers at cost. There was a grist-mill, saw-mill, and school house located on the property. The purchase of the land was marketed to those coming from the city, noting the cost difference for land in New York and the distance to other cities via rail or boat.
This collection contains a single brochure advertising the purchase of land from Klej Grange in Worcester County, Maryland.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
This collection shares a box with WR 67-70, 72-78 and WR 81.
Topical Terms
Agriculture
Churches and Religion
Education
Railroads
Travel
Corporate Names
Five Points House of Industry Print
Old Dominion Steamship Co.
Location Terms
Chincoteague Bay
Klej Grange
New York (Ny.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Pocomoke River
Snow Hill (Md.)
Stockton (Md.)
Worcester County (Md.)
Folder 1