WR 59: Johns Hopkins University Studies Collection |
1 document boxes (0.50 cubic feet)
(1892 – 1911)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 59 |
| Creator(s): | Johns Hopkins University Press |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Pogue, September 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Johns Hopkins University Studies Collection contains publications in the Historical and Political Science department from 1892 to 1911. These publications included a paper written by a faculty member of JHU or another institution, and were published monthly by The Johns Hopkins Press. The publications are given series number. Most of the publications in this collection contain papers on the topic of Maryland politics and history.
Johns Hopkins University was founded in 1876 in Baltimore, MD as a research university. It remains as an institution, with campuses all over Maryland, offering both undergraduate and graduate programs. It is perhaps best known for its medical school. The school is named after its first benefactor, Johns Hopkins, who was a Quaker entrepreneur. The university offers studies in history and political science at the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences at the bachelor, master, and doctoral level.
Johns Hopkins University Press was founded in 1878 to publish books, journals, and other academic texts. It is currently the oldest running university press.
Series I: Publications, 1892-1911: Publications from the monthly publication Johns Hopkins University Studies in Historical and Political Science edited by Herbert B. Adams. These publications cover various topics on Maryland history and politics.
The Johns Hopkins University Studies Collection has been arranged by publication date.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Colleges and Universities
Education
English Civil War
History
Maryland Revolution of 1689
Political Science
Religion
Corporate Names
Johns Hopkins Press
Johns Hopkins University
Personal Names
Adams, Herbert B.
Hollander, J. H.
Latane, John H.
Petrie, George
Sparks, Francis Edgar
Steiner, Bernard C.
Vincent, J. M.
Willoughby, W. W.
Location Terms
Baltimore (Md.)
Maryland
Virginia
Series I: Publications
Box 1
1. Historical and Political Science Published Papers, 1892
2. Historical and Political Science Published Papers, 1895
3. Historical and Political Science Published Papers, 1896
4. Historical and Political Science Published Papers, 1906
5. Historical and Political Science Published Papers, 1911