WR 50: Worcester County Maps Collection |
1 map drawer
(1690 - 1982)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 50 |
| Creator(s): | See individual map |
| Acquisition: |
The Worcester County Maps collection was donated to the library by a variety of sources. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Scott, July 2023 |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Worcester County Maps collection contains over 50 maps. These maps cover the areas of Worcester County, the Eastern Shore, and Maryland as a whole. Due to the size of the maps, the majority of the collection has not been digitized.
The Worcester County Maps collection has been arranged loosely by subject matter of the maps. They have been separated into folders by theme, which are described below. As they are currently arranged, some numbers have been skipped, or are not assigned to items. The Inventory List reflects that numbering system to better locate items.
Folders are listed by their location in each drawer; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Maps
Worcester County (Md.)—History
Location Terms
Assateague Island (Md.)
Berlin (Md.)
Ocean City (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Worcester County (Md.)
Folder 1: Maryland
1. The State of Maryland From the Best Authorities by Samuel Lewis, 1795
2. Maryland and Its Legends, cartoon map, not drawn to scale
3. Map of Maryland, State of Maryland Department of Geology, Mines, and Water Resources, 1961
Folder 2: Worcester County Misc. Reproductions of Historical Maps
5. Map of Worcester County by Hon. James B. Robins, c. 1800.
6. Excerpt of Griffith’s Map of Maryland 1794. Reprinted in the Worcester Democrat, June 1955
8. A map section of Worcester County by Hon. James B. Robins, c. 1800.
9. Tracing of 1800 map of Worcester County by James B. Robins, keyed with town locations
10. Map of General Distributors, Inc. Snow Hill service area, in 8 pieces, published in The Democratic Messenger abt. 1955
11. Hand drawn map of Worcester County, no date
12. Illustration of Somerset County Hundreds in 1700, from a paper by Tom Davidson
13. Illustration of Worcester County boundaries in 1742, a working map by K.P. Fisher, 1977.
14. Illustration of Eastern Shore in 1661, a working map by K.P. Fisher, 1977.
15. Illustration of Somerset Seaboard Side in 1666, a working map by K.P. Fisher, 1977.
Folder 3: Eastern Shore (Delmarva Peninsula)
16. “A Map of the Eastern Shore” drawn by Richard Q. Yardley, from Baltimore Sun Brown Section c. 1950
17. Map of the Baltimore, Chesapeake, and Atlantic Railway Company, 1906
18. Map of Delmarva Peninsula from Farmers Supply Co., Snow Hill, 1949 (2 copies)
Folder 4: Worcester County Land Use, Water
19. Report and maps of Water Use in Maryland, U.S. Geological Survey, 1983
23. Land Use and Land Cover, Salisbury, Delaware, New Jersey, Virginia, U.S. Dept. of the Interior Geological Survey, 1973.
Folder 5: Worcester County Soil Maps
21. Map of Worcester County Showing the Agricultural Soils, Maryland Geological Survey, 1929
Folder 6: Worcester County Highway Maps School Bus Routes
24. School Bus Route Map, Worcester County, Maryland. Maryland State Roads Commission, 1937
25. General Highway Map Worcester County, Maryland, State Roads Commission of Maryland, 1966, updated 1967
Folder 7: Worcester County Election District & Topography
28. Topographic Quad Sheets of Pocomoke River Scenic and Wild River system, 5 pages
Folder 8: Worcester County Election District & Topography
Folder 9: Berlin, Ocean Pines
31. “Berlin, Worcester County, Maryland. Prepared by the State Roads Commission of Maryland, Planning and Programming Division in Cooperation with the U.S. Department of Commerce Bureau of Public Roads,” 1966
32. Berlin, Maryland Map
33. Map of Berlin, intersection of N. Main Street and Broad Street, c. 1910
34. Copy of Berlin Map from 1877 Atlas
35. Map of Ocean City Expressway – Route 90
Folder 10: Ocean City, Assateague Island (AKA Ocean Beach)
36. Ocean City Plat Map, from brochure pre 1916
38. Plats of Ocean Beach of Assateague Island. Ocean Beach, Inc. c. 1960
Folder 11: Pocomoke City (AKA Newtown, Stevens Landing)
39. Pocomoke City, Maryland State Highway Administration, 1972
40. Newtown, Worcester County, Plat with business references, before 1877
41. Pocomoke City, Maryland State Roads Division, 1957
Folder 12: Snow Hill, Nassawango (Iron Furnace)
42. Gray’s New Map of Snow Hill, Worcester County MD, 1877
43. Map from Historic Snow Hill Brochure by the Snow Hill Bicentennial Committee, 1976
44. Map of Nassawango Creek
45. Nassawango Iron Furnace & Vicinity, Worcester County Maryland, 1977
Folder 13: MD-DE-VA Coastline Nautical Charts
57. Fenwick Island to Chincoteague Inlet Coast Guard Map, 1949, 9th edition, first published 1912
Folder 14: Eastern Shore Snow Hill Satellite Photos
54. Satellite photograph of Snow Hill, MD, U.S. Geological Survey EROS, 1979
55. Satellite photograph of Snow Hill, MD, U.S. Geological Survey EROS, 1977
Folder 15: Worcester County Election Districts
56. Worcester County Maryland Board of Elections Map, 1984
Folder 16: Worcester County General Highway Map
58. General Highway Map, Worcester County, Maryland, 1982
Folder 17: MD-DE-VA Coastline Ancient c. 1690
59. The Ancient Seacoast of Maryland Including Part of Delaware and Virginia as it appeared in 1690 drawn by John L. Amrhein, Jr., Cartographer. Ryan & Black, Salisbury, MD., 1986
Folder 18: Pocomoke River Geological Quad.
61. Saxis Quadrangle Virginia-Maryland, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1968, edited 1973
62. Kingston Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1968, edited 1980
63. Pocomoke City Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1968, edited 1980
64. Dividing Creek Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1973
65. Girdletree Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1966, edited 1980
66. Public Landing Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1967
67. Snow Hill Quadrangle, U.S. Department of Interior Geological Survey Topographic Map, 1966