WR 41: Various Publications on Worcester County collection |
1 document boxes (0.25 cubic feet)
(1892 – 1965)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 41 |
| Creator(s): |
See Scope and Content |
| Acquisition: |
The Various Publications on Worcester County collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by E. I. Oswald, Mrs. Willard Evans, and the rest are unknown. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, October 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
This collection contains single issues of historic interest, reports, pamphlets, etc. A detailed explanation of the contents will be available in the Scope and Content section.
“Sermon: By the Rev. Samuel F. Hotchkin” (1892) By: Rev. Oliver H. Murphy
Included is a brief history of church membership of the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Delaware. Also included is a 1787 list of Pew holders in the Parish church at Rehoboth, Delaware.
“Teachers’ Manual” (1902) By: The Maryland State Board of Education
This manual has the 1902 state education curriculum for grades first through seventh in the State of Maryland. The subjects covered are: Reading, Language Lessons, Spelling and Phonics, Arithmetic, Elementary Science, Geography, History, Grammar, Physiology and Hygiene, Vocal Music, Drawing, Writing, Civics, and Supplemental Exercises.
“Worcester County: The Land of Opportunity” (1926)
This 1926 booklet is an informational brochure for Worcester County. The booklet is split between five chapters. The chapters are: Agriculture, Ocean City, Berlin, Snow Hill, and Pocomoke City. The agriculture chapter discusses what crops Worcester County grows, and how they have great produce. The other four chapters discuss the main industry in each location, along with tourist attractions.
“Hub of a Nation” (~1930) By: Registered Source International
This publication includes scenic places on popular road trails From Ohio to Maryland. Included are information on Easton, Salisbury, and Ocean City, Maryland. There are a couple pages on vacationing at Ocean City, along with some advertisements for local hotels.
“Maryland Tercentenary” (1934) By: The Maryland State Department of Education
This booklet was published through the Maryland State Department of Education’s School Bulletin. The contents discuss ways for schools to celebrate the three-hundred year founding of Maryland. Included are ideas to have plays, pageants, and other fun activities for elementary aged children.
“Snakes of Maryland” (1936) By: Howard A. Kelly, Audrey W. Davis, & H. C. Robertson
This scientific book was written for High schoolers in Maryland. The book goes in depth about snakes, and includes a section discussing each species of snakes located in Maryland. The book has many pictures and illustrations to accompany the descriptions.
“The Economic and Social Status of Rural Negro Families in Maryland” (1948) By: A. B. Hamilton & C. K. McGee
This 1948 booklet is a research report to understand the needs of African Americans living in Maryland. Conducted by the Maryland Extension Services, the purpose of this study was to gain an understanding of how African Americans were living in rural areas, rather than urban ones. The focus is on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Southern Maryland. The main topics covered are population and income status.
“Let’s Get Acquainted” (1965) By: James H. Davis
This is a research report on Methodism on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. Included are statistical data on Methodism, such as population, income, number of churches and their members, minister and pastor data, and distribution of members. Also included is data on white and nonwhite churches. This is due to nonwhite churches being allowed to join the Delaware and Peninsula Conferences for Methodism in 1965. Before 1965, there were different conferences for white and nonwhite Methodist Churches.
Topical Terms
African Americans—Maryland
African Americans—Social Life and customs—20th century
Education
Methodism
Snakes
Worcester County (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century
Corporate Names
Maryland State Board of Education
Location Terms
Berlin (Md.)
Ocean City (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Worcester County (Md.)
Box 1
1. “Sermon: By the Rev. Samuel F. Hotchkin”, 1892
2. “Teachers’ Manual”, 1902
3. “Worcester County: The Land of Opportunity”, 1926
4. “Hub of a Nation”, ~1930
5. “Maryland Tercentenary”, 1934
6. “Snakes of Maryland”, 1936
7. “The Economic and Social Status of Rural Negro Families in Maryland”, 1948
8. “Let’s Get Acquainted”, 1965