WR 4: Snow Hill History Scrapbooks |
1 flat box (.75 cubic feet)
(1642 – 1986)
Bulk: 1920-1970
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 4 |
| Creator(s): |
J. Howard Adkins (1918-2006) & Louise H. Adkins (1920-1998) |
| Acquisition: |
The Snow Hill History Scrapbooks collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by J. Howard Adkins & Louise Adkins. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, August 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Snow Hill History Scrapbooks collection contains two scrapbooks that discuss the history of Snow Hill and the All Hallows Episcopal Church. There are newspaper clippings, pamphlets, and other materials that paint a history of the town of Snow Hill and the All Hallows Episcopal Church. The timeline covers from the founding of Snow Hill in 1642 until the 1970s. The majority of the information pertains to the 20th century.
J. Howard Adkins (1918-2006) was born 1918 in Rockawalkin, Maryland and died 2006 in Salisbury, Maryland. J. Howard Adkins was a life member of the National Society of Sons of the American Revolution and the Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum. Adkins was also an elder and trustee of the Faith Chapel Presbyterian Church of Berlin, Maryland.
Louise H. Adkins (1920-1998) was born 1920 in Snow Hill, Maryland and died 1998 in Salisbury, Maryland. Louise H. Adkins was a member of the Samuel Chase Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution and a member of the Hoornkill Chapter Daughters of American Colonists. Adkins was also a deacon and trustee of the Faith Chapel Presbyterian Church in Berlin, Maryland.
This Husband and Wife research duo are the developers of the Adkins Historical and Museum Complex in Mardela Springs. They both have created scrapbooks and collected local history related to the Eastern Shore.
Included in the scrapbooks are newspaper clippings, photographs, postcards, brochures, pamphlets, and a few hand written notes.
The folder contains one hand written and four typed notes on the town of Snow Hill, Maryland.
The first scrapbook is titled “Salute to Snow Hill”, and details a large amount of information on Snow Hill in the 20thCentury. Also included is information on the Pocomoke River pertaining to Snow Hill. There is also some information on Ocean City in the early 1900s.
The second scrapbook does not have a title, but focuses almost exclusively on the All Hallows Episcopal Church of Snow Hill, Maryland. The scrapbook includes historic information and pictures, as well as information on the Church up until the 1970s.
There is one folder followed by two scrapbooks. The scrapbooks have been left in their original order.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Churches—Maryland
Church buildings
Snow Hill (Md.)—History
Snow Hill (Md.)—History, Local—Pictorial works
Snow Hill (Md.)—Social life and customs
Corporate Names
All Hallows Episcopal Church
Personal Names
Adkins, J. Howard (1918-2006)
Adkins, Louise H. (1920-1998)
Location Terms
Ocean City (Md.)
Pocomoke River (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Box 1
1. Notes, Snow Hill, 1986
2. Snow Hill Scrapbook, 1642-1971
3. All Hallows Episcopal Church Scrapbook, 1642-1975