WR 37: Eastern Shore Biography collection |
1 document boxes (0.50 cubic feet)
(1898)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 37 |
| Creator(s): |
Chapman Publishing Company |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, October 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Eastern Shore Biography collection contains a published 1898 book titled “Portrait and Biographical Record of the Eastern Shore of Maryland”. This publication is split in two sections. The first section has an image and description of every US President up to the time of publication. The second section includes images and descriptions for prominent individuals on the Eastern Shore of Maryland. The counties covered are Caroline, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne’s, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico, and Worcester County.
Also included in this collection is an index for every individual and their location in the publication. The index was created in 1982 by Lottie Holsten, a library volunteer.
Although many noticeable people throughout the Eastern Shore are listed in this collection, there are a few prominent Worcester County individuals. Some of the prominent individuals include:
George W. Bishop (1826-1903)
Charles W. Clayville (1827-1898)
Isaac T. Costen (1832-1931)
Thomas Y. Franklin (1860-1946)
Clayton Oscar M. Purnell (1858-1936)
Governor John J. Walter Smith (1845-1925)
This is not an exhausted list of all the prominent individuals for Worcester County included in this collection.