WR 3: Amanda Dennis Poetry and Obituary Scrapbook |
1 flat box (.75 cubic feet)
(1861-1903)
Bulk: 1870-1890
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 3 |
| Creator(s): |
Rev. Daniel W. Anstine (1858-1947) |
| Acquisition: |
The Amanda Dennis Poetry and Obituary Scrapbook collection was donated to the Worcester County Library from the Julia A. Purnell Museum. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, August 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Amanda Dennis Poetry and Obituary Scrapbook collection contains multiple newspaper clippings. The newspaper clippings in the beginning of the scrapbook are published poems by Amanda Elizabeth Dennis (1841-1923). In the later part of the scrapbook, the newspaper clippings are about church gathers, events happening in Worcester County in the 1880s, and obituaries. The majority of the later newspaper clippings are of obituaries. The obituaries included range from Pennsylvania to the Eastern Shore.
Amanda Elizabeth Dennis (1841-1923) was born in Powellville, Maryland (now part of Wicomico County). During her younger years, she lived in Baltimore City, where she attended the Western Female High School. After graduating, she returned to the Eastern Shore to pursue a teaching career at St. John’s School near Powellville. She proceeded to teach there for more than 25 years. Remembered as a poet, many of her poems were published in the Baltimore Sun and by Lippincott. In the later part of her life, she lived near St. Martins, Maryland, with her niece. Dennis is buried in Buckingham Cemetery in Berlin, Maryland.
Included in this collection are many published poems by Amanda Elizabeth Dennis (1841-1923). All the published poems are newspaper clippings, compiled in to a scrapbook. Later in the scrapbook are miscellaneous information about churches and other events happening in the Worcester County area in the late 1800s.
Also included are obituaries that can be used for genealogical information. Some of the people mentioned are:
Ida Frances Anstine of Berlin, Md. ( -1894)
Levi Hubbard Anstine of Seaford, Del. ( -1888)
Mary H. Bounds of Friendship, Md. ( -1887)
Eleanor Pusey Bounds of Friendship, Md. ( -1887)
Jenny Davis of Powellville ( -1884)
William Ellis of Laurel, Del. ( -1891)
Rev. John Edward Tyson Ewell of Accomack County ( -1902)
Elmer G. McAllister of Vienna, Md. ( -1930)
This is not an exhausted list of all the obituaries included in this collection.
The scrapbook has been left in its original order.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Eastern Shore (Md. And Va.)—Genealogy
Eastern Shore (Md. And Va.)—Social life and customs—19th century
Poetry
Poetry—Women
Worcester County (Md.)—Women History
Personal Names
Anstine, Daniel W. (1858-1947)
Dennis, Amanda Elizabeth (1841-1923)
Location Terms
Berlin (Md.)
Powellville (Md.)
Vienna (Md.)