Archive Collections Portal

WR 22: Annual Church Conferences collection

5 document boxes (2.25 cubic feet)

 (1920-1967)

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:	WR 22
Creator(s):	Eastern Shore Methodist Churches, Eastern Shore Methodist Episcopal Churches, and Eastern Shore Methodist Protestant Churches.
Acquisition:	The Annual Churches Conference collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by J. Howard Adkins and Louise H. Adkins.
Language(s):	English
Use:	Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:	“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:	Finding aid written by Alec Staley, September 2019.
Related Materials:	None.
Separated Materials:	None.

---

Abstract

The Annual Churches Conference collection includes the journals and yearbooks of the yearly meeting of all Eastern Shore Methodist Churches, Methodist Episcopal Churches, and Methodist Protestant Churches. These annual conferences were held in many cities on the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Delaware. Included are twenty-four of the official yearbooks and journals for the annual conference. The years covered are 1920-1967. 

The journals include various advertisements, meeting minutes, alphabetical and chronological roll of elders, deacons, probationers, retired and supernumeraries. Also included are reports of treasurers, memberships, schools, committees, and ordinations. There is also a directory of the local preachers in the area. 

---

Scope and Content Note

Series I: Methodist, 1940-1967: Included are the annual conference journals for the Eastern Shore Methodist Churches. The journals are all titled “Peninsula Annual Conference”.

Series II: Episcopal, 1920-1939: Included are the annual conference journals for the Eastern Shore Methodist Episcopal Churches. The journals are all titled “Wilmington Annual Conference”.

Series III: Protestant, 1936-1937: Included are the annual conference journals for the Eastern Shore Methodist Protestant Churches. The journals are all titled “Maryland Annual Conference”.

---

Arrangement Statement

The Annual Churches Conference collection has been arranged into three series, METHODIST, EPISCOPCAL, and PROTESTANT. 

Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

---

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Episcopal Church—Maryland and Delaware

Methodist Church—Maryland and Delaware

Protestant Church—Maryland and Delaware

Location Terms

Dover (Del.)

Salisbury (Md.)

Wilmington (Del.)

---

Inventory List

Series I: Methodist

Box 1

1. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1940

2. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1942

3. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1943

4. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1944

5. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1944

6. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1945

7. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1946

8. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1949

9. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1950

10. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1951

 

Box 2

1. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1952

2. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1954

3. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1955

4. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1956

5. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1957

6. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1958

7. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1959

8. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1960

9. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1961

 

Box 3

1. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1962

2. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1963

3. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1964

4. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1965

5. Journal, Peninsula Annual Conference, 1967

Series II: Episcopal

6. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1920

7. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1921

8. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1922

 

Box 4

1. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1923

2. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1924

3. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1925

4. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1932

5. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1933

6. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1934

7. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1935

8. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1936

9. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1937

10. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1938

 

Box 5

1. Journal, Wilmington Annual Conference, 1939

Series III: Protestant

2. Journal, Maryland Annual Conference, 1936

3. Journal, Maryland Annual Conference, 1937

---

Attached Documents