WR 2: Old Homes of Worcester County Scrapbook |
1 flat box (.75 cubic feet)
(1774 – 1971)
Bulk: 1938-1939
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 2 |
| Creator(s): |
Corinne Noble Warren Timmons (1889-1986) |
| Acquisition: |
The Old Homes of Worcester County Scrapbook collection was donated to the Worcester County Library from the Julia A. Purnell Museum. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, August 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Old Homes of Worcester County Scrapbook contains pictures and descriptions of historic homes in the Worcester County area. Most of the homes mentioned are located in Berlin. The descriptions include who owned the house, how it was constructed, and information about the architecture. Also included are newspaper clippings that have been added to the scrapbook after its creation, but are related to some of the houses. Not all houses have pictures to accompany the descriptions.
Corinne Noble Warren Timmons (1889-1986) lived most of her life around the Whaleyville area in Worcester County, Maryland. She was married to Edward Peter Timmons (1898-1942). From 1938-1939 she served as the Chairman of the organization “Old Homes” of Worcester County. During that time, she compiled lists of historic homes in the area into a scrapbook with the help of her fellow committee members. Corinne passed away in 1986 and is buried in the Whaleyville Maryland cemetery.
This collection documents old and historic houses in the Worcester County area from 1938-1939.
A few houses included in this scrapbook are:
“Beverly” – Pocomoke City
“Burleigh Cottage” – Berlin
“May Fair” – Sinepuxent Bay
“Whaley Homestead” – Whaleyville
“Ingleside / Box Hall” – Snow Hill
This is not an exhausted list of all the houses included in this collection.
The Old Homes of Worcester County Scrapbook collection has been organized in the original order that it was produced. Folders have been added with headings and dates.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Architecture—Maryland—Worcester County
Worcester County (Md.)—Buildings, structures, etc.—Pictorial works
Worcester County (Md.)—History, Local
Corporate Names
“Old Homes” of Worcester County
Personal Names
Timmons, Corinne Noble Warren (1889-1986)
Location Terms
Berlin (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Sinepuxent Bay (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Box 1
1. Scrapbook Front Cover, 1938-1939
2. Old Homes of Worcester County, part 1 of 2, 1774-1971
3. Old Homes of Worcester County, part 2 of 2, 1774-1971
4. Scrapbook Back Cover, 1938-1939