WR 17: Worcester County News collection |
5 folders (3 linear feet)
(1955 – 1962)
Bulk: 1955-1957
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 17 |
| Creator(s): |
Staff member in the County Commissioners office of Worcester County. |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, September 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: |
Oversize materials have been housed in the Worcester County Library’s Worcester Room flat file system in the Snow Hill Branch. |
The newspaper clippings collected were done so with the intent that they are of special interest and concern to members of the Worcester County Government. Many topics are included throughout the collection. Some of the topics included are funding for the Assateague Island Bridge, taxes in Ocean City, mental health needs, and more. The newspaper articles collected range from 1955-1957.
Many newspaper clippings are included in the collection, all pertaining to news happening on the Eastern Shore, and more specially Worcester County.
The first folder contains “What’s Happening in Annapolis” articles written by Myrtle A. Polk (1902-1995), who was a Worcester County Delegate. She was writing about issues happening in the State Government of Maryland and how it relates to the Eastern Shore. Such topics are funding of roads, use of chemical testing, medicine, and more. These articles were written in 1956-1957.
The second folder contains “Under the Courthouse Dome” articles written by E. G. Barnes ( - ). These articles discuss the challenges in the State Government of Maryland to build the Assateague Bridge. These articles were written in 1955-1956.
The third folder contains “Small Talk from the County Seat” articles written by Malissa Small (1912-2005). These articles are written from Snow Hill, Maryland and discuss everything happening in Worcester County. The topics that are included, but limited to, are school construction, taxes, property disputes, election results, and more. These articles were written throughout 1956 with one newspaper clipping from 1957.
The fourth folder contains articles regarding “Ocean Park”. “Ocean Park” is the public beach on Assateague Island that the State of Maryland controls. These articles go in depth as to who had claims to it, how the State took the claims, and the goals of “Ocean Park”. These articles were written in 1955-1960.
The fifth folder contains miscellaneous newspaper clippings. Topics included are: a county commissioner resigning, founding for route 113, mental health issues, and more. These articles range from 1956-1962
The Oversized folder includes full editions of a few newspapers. The topics cover the Assateague Island Bridge and “Ocean Park”, building of schools in Worcester County, road projects, and other information concerning Worcester County. The newspapers included are: “Worcester Democrat”, “Democratic Messenger”, “Baltimore-American”, “Ocean News”, and “Ocean Beach Sun”. These newspaper range from 1956-1962.
Box 1
2. Publications, What’s Happening in Annapolis, 1956-1957
3. Publications, Under the Courthouse Dome, 1955-1956
4. Publications, Small Talk from the County Seat, 1956-1957
5. Publications, Ocean Park, 1955-1956, 1960
6. Publications, Miscellaneous, 1956-1962
Oversize
1. Publications, Newspapers, 1956-1962