WR 15: Carl Monsees collection |
4 folders (.04 cubic feet)
(1927 – 1928)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 15 |
| Creator(s): |
Carl H. Monsees ( - ), Walter C. Thurston (1874-1944) |
| Acquisition: |
Unknown. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, September 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Thurston collection contains three photo albums created and published by Carl H. Monsees ( - ) along with a set of poems by W. C. Thurston and published by Carl H. Monsees ( - ). Two of the albums (1927) are titled The Historic Peninsula of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia. These albums give pictures of historic locations on the Eastern Shore with a brief description. The third album (1928) is titled Del-Mar-Va from the Air. This album has aerial shots of various towns through the Eastern Shore. The set of poems is titled “Little Journeys in Rhyme” and contains fifty poems.
Carl H. Monsees ( - ) was a local photographer to the Snow Hill, Maryland area. He produced picture tour albums for the general Eastern Shore area. Included in this collection are two of his picture tours of the Eastern Shore of Maryland, Delaware, and Virginia.
Walter C. Thurston, Sr. (1874-1944) was a local poet and author.
The Historic Peninsula of Delaware, Maryland, Virginia includes photographs of:
Dover, Delaware
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Snow Hill, Maryland
Chestertown, Maryland
Newark, Delaware
Onancock, Virginia
Del-Mar-Va from the Air includes photographs of:
Georgetown, Delaware
Milford, Delaware
Cambridge, Maryland
Chestertown, Maryland
Ocean City, Maryland
This is not an exhausted list of all the photographs included in this collection.