WR 14: Richard Phillips collection |
2 folders (.02 cubic feet)
(1869 – 1971)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 14 |
| Creator(s): |
L. Richard Phillips ( - ) |
| Acquisition: |
The Richard Phillips collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by L. Richard Phillips. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Alec Staley, August 2019. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Richard Phillips collection contains a scrapbook consisting of newspaper clippings regarding a wide range of topics related to the Ocean City and Berlin areas. The main topics that emerge are photos and explanations of important attractions on the Board Walk of Ocean City through the 20th century. Also included are newspaper clippings of women’s fashion at Ocean City in the early 20th century. There are also some newspaper clippings referring to the founding of Berlin.
The folder in this collection contains information collected for the Old Homes of Worcester County group. Most of the collection includes correspondences of Reginald V. Truitt ( - ) trying to track down old home information. Included is a deed locating the Quaker burial ground near Worcester High School. This is important because Quakers do not use markers for their graves, meaning the burial site did not have an exact location for a long while. There is also mention of a Major Joshua Prideaux (1767-1836) of Worcester County, Maryland who owned a plantation and slaves in the late 18th century.
The original binder holding the scrapbook was removed due to rust, and a lack of importance.
The Richard Phillips collection contains a scrapbook that has newspaper clippings over a variety of topics. Included are Ocean City Board Walk photographs, articles about new businesses in Ocean City, women’s fashion in Ocean City, the Riddles family farm, and the founding of Berlin, Maryland.
The Richard Phillips collection also holds a folder that has information on a Quaker burial ground of Worcester County, and some information on a late 18th century plantation owner.