WR 133: Somerset Land Records Collection |
1 document boxes (0.50 cubic feet)
(1741-1909)
Bulk: 1827-1855
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 133 |
| Creator(s): | Multiple creators |
| Acquisition: |
The Worcester County History Scrapbook collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by E. R. Solomon in January 2017. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Erin Scott, July 2024. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
This collection contains indentures, land records, and platt notes related to parcels of land and residents living in Somerset County, MD. These records date from the 1740s to the 1900s.
The Somerset Land Records Collection has been sorted in chronological order.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Land Records
Somerset County (Md.)—History
Personal Names
Atkinson, James
Dunn, Margaret E.
Dunn, Thomas J. J.
Ennis, Stephen
Evans, Charlotte S.
Evans, Thomas D.
Handy, Nancy
Hough, Edmond
Johnson, Henry
Johnsons, Leonard
King, Nathaniel
Milbourne, Thomas
Moore, William J.
Mumford, Eleanor
Mumford, William C.
Pruitt, A. Hamilton
Pruitt, Isaac P.
Purnell, John R.
Purnell, Littleton R.
Quinton, Littleton
Robins, Ellen A.
Robins, James B.
Robins, John Purnell
Robins, Thomas
Snow, Walter P.
Spence, Ara
Spence, Eleanor W.
Spence, Irving
Spence, Thomas A.
Spence, Thomas R. P.
Sturgis, James W. L.
Wilson, Ephraim K.
Location Terms
Fairfield
Snow Hill (Md.)
Somerset County (Md.)
Box 1
Folder 1
2. Indenture, Nathaniel King, 1757
3. Will Excerpt, Thomas Robins, 1766
4. Land Record, Leonard Johnsons, 1775
Folder 2
5. Will Excerpt, John Purnell Robins, 1780
6. Indenture, Nancy Handy, 1809
7. Indenture, Littleton Quinton and Thomas Milbourne, 1818
8. Indenture, Ephraim K. Wilson and Irving Spence, 1827
Folder 3
9. Indenture, Irving Spence and Thomas R. P. Spence, 1829
10. Indenture, James W. L. Sturgis, Stephen Ennis, and James Robins, 1830
12. Indenture, James Atkinson and Ara Spence, 1837
Folder 4
14. Land Record, Edmond Hough, 1838
15. Indenture, James Atkinson and Ara Spence, 1838
16. Indenture, Ara Spence and James Atkinson, 1840
17. Indenture, Thomas A. Spence and Isaac Pruitt, 1844
18. Indenture, Thomas D. Evans, Charlotte S. Evans, and James B. Robins, 1849
19. Indenture, A. Hamilton Pruitt, Isaac P. Pruitt, and James B. Robins, 1850
Folder 5
20. Indenture, Walter P. Snow and James B. Robins, 1850
21. Indenture, Littleton R. Purnell and William J. Moore, 1852
22. Indenture, Thomas A. Spence, Eleanor W. Spence, and James B. Robbins, 1852
23. Indenture, Thomas J. J. Dunn, Margaret E. Dunn, and James B. Robins, 1855
24. Indenture, William C. Mumford, Eleanor Mumford, and James B. Robins, 1856
Folder 6
25. Field notes, John R. Purnell, 1884
26. Genealogy and House notes by Ellen A. Robins, 1905
27. Deed notes, Fairfield, 1863-1888
28. Patent notes, Thomas Robins and Mrs. E. A. Robins
The Somerset Land Records Collection can be viewed in full on CatalogIt here. If you would like to assist with the process of transcribing these documents, please email history@worcesterlibrary.org.