WR 124: Howard & Louise Adkins Collection |
2 document boxes (0.50 cubic feet)
(1798 – 1971)
Bulk: 1920-1970
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 124 |
| Creator(s): | Various |
| Acquisition: |
The Howard & Louise Adkins Collection records were donated to the Worcester County Library by Howard & Louise Adkins, March 2016. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, March 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: |
1.1 T.R. West Construction Co. journal [oversize] 1.2 Columnar ledger book [oversize] 1.3 Columnar ledger book [oversize] 1.4 Columnar Ledger book [oversize] 1.5 Weekly time book [oversize] 1.6 Town account book [oversize] 2.5 Group Photograph |
The Howard & Louise Adkins collection consists of rent books, records, ledgers, and ephemera from various area businesses and churches ranging from 1839 to 1970. The bulk of the collection is made up of ledgers and rent books for a local canning business and tomato grading, as well as personal bank balances and time sheets for factory employees.
This collection documents the financial records, research interests, and personal possessions of Howard & Louise Adkins.
Series I: Finances: The files document the financial activities of various individuals, institutions, and businesses on the Delmarva Peninsula, such as churches, tomato canning factories, and personal expenses.
Series II: Research: These files document research interests, consisting of photographs, photocopies, maps, and excerpts of various books. The material covered ranges from education to exploration and local history.
The Howard & Louise Adkins records have been arranged into two series, FINANCES and RESEARCH. Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Pocomoke (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century
Education
Fraternal Clubs
Social Clubs
Tomato Industry
Corporate Names
T.R. West Construction Company
Personal Names
Armstrong, John G.
Ledman, Ralph
Mumford, Dot
Ward, Harry
Location Terms
Berlin (Md.)
Pocomoke (Md.)
Morgantown (Wv.)
Mardela Springs (Md.)
Rehoboth / Rehobeth (Md.)
Snow Hill (Md.)
Series I: Finances
Box 1
1. T.R. West Construction Co. journal [oversize]
2. Columnar ledger book [oversize]
3. Columnar ledger book [oversize]
4. Columnar Ledger book [oversize]
5. Weekly time book [oversize]
6. Town account book [oversize]
7. Cloth document bag & financial statements
8. John G. Armstrong ledger & Boumi shrine paper
9. Rent ledger, 1961
10. Rents
11 Tomato Production record book, 1953-1971
12. Tomato Grades, 1964
13. “Tomato Journal”, 1964
14. Rent & Tomato book, 1961
15. Rent book, 1966
16. Rent book, 1967
17. Rent book,1968
18. Rent book, 1969
19. Rent book, 1970
20. Blank ledgers
Series II: Research
Box 2
1. Maps, Worcester Co.
2. Pocomoke Fire
3. Historic photographs
4. History of Education in Maryland
5. Group photograph
6. Rehoboth Baptist Church Records
7. Voyage of the Paper Canoe
8. Tax Records