Archive Collections Portal

WR 122: Stewart Dobson Photo Collection

9 document boxes (9.25 cubic feet)

(1993 - 2003)

Bulk: 1990s

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:	WR 122
Creator(s):	Stewart Dobson
Acquisition:	The Stewart Dobson Photo collection was donated to the Worcester County Library by Stewart Dobson.
Language(s):	English
Use:	Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:	“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:	Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, February 2022.
Related Materials:	None.
Separated Materials:	None.

Abstract

The Stewart Dobson Photo Collection consists of photographs taken by OC Today photographer Stewart Dobson. The photographs range from the 1990s to early 2000s and cover local life such as fishing tournaments, construction projects, and local parades. Many photos contain context, such as names and labels, on the back. Photographs are arranged as they were found in the original collection.

Administrative History

Ocean City Today was founded in 1993 and is a local newspaper providing coverage for the Ocean City, Snow Hill, Ocean Pines, Berlin, and northern Worcester County areas in Maryland as well as Fenwick Island, Delaware. The newspaper covers local events and is distributed every Friday. Stewart Dobson joined the paper’s staff in 1993, and contributed numerous photographs of local life and events to the paper, and continues to contribute as a columnist at the present day.

Scope and Content Note

This collection consists of photographs documenting local life in northern Worcester County Maryland such as sports, holiday parades, beach events, and construction projects.

Series I: Photographs: These photographs make up the bulk of the collection. Several are labeled with various terms, names, and sizing details for publication in the OC Today newspaper.

Series II: Organizers: Used to categorize the collection before it was donated, many of the organizers are typed, though some are handwritten.

Arrangement Statement

The Stewart Dobson Photo Collection records have been arranged into two series, PHOTOGRAPHS and ORGANIZERS. Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Ocean City (Md)

Beach

Concerts

Surfing

Sports

Landmarks

Corporate Names

Atlantic General Hospital

OC Today

White Marlin Open

Personal Names

Location Terms

Berlin (Md.)

Ocean City (Md.)

Ocean Pines (Md.)

Snow Hill (Md.)

Fenwick Island (De.)

Inventory List

Series I: Photographs

Box 1

1. Aerial Photos

2. African-American Festival

3. Atlantic General Hospital

4. All-America City

5. Amusements

6. Animals

7. Automobiles

8. Arts Alive

9. Artist & Artwork

10. Assateague

11. Beach

12. Beach Patrol

13. Beach Concerts

14. Beach Replenishment

15. Belt Sander races

16. Berlin

17. Berlin Easter

18. Berlin Farmer’s Market

19. Fiddler’s Convention

Box 2

1. Blessing of the water

2. Boardwalk

3. Boardwalk Parades

4. Boats & Watercraft

5. Celtic Festival

6. Circus

7. Coast Guard

8. Construction Work

9. Convention Center Shows

10. Cross Processional

11. Cruisin’

12. Delmarva Bike Week

Box 3

1. Dog Walk
2. Firefighting & Rescue
3. Foreign Students
4. Fourth of July
5. Furnacetown Events
6. Grant-A-Wish
7. Greek Festival
8. Halloween
9. Jesus at the Beach
10. Junebugs
11. Kids
12. Kite Festival
13. Landmarks

Box 4

1. Old St. Martins
2. MD Coast Day
3. OC City Council
4. Ocean City Today
5. Ocean Pines
6. Marine County Down
7. OC Police
8. OC Railroad
9. OC Christmas Parade
10. Oktoberfest

Box 5

1. One World, One Family
2. Penguin Swim
3. Plane Crash
4. Polkamotion
5. Powerboat Races
6. Pow-Wow
7. Recycling
8. Renaissance Festival
9. Revolutionary Re-enactment
10. Ripley’s Believe It Or Not
11. Rodeo
12. Safety Seat
13. Schools & Education
14. Seacrets
15. Seaside Boat Show

Box 6

1. Senior Citizens
2. Shorebirds
3. Shark Tournament
4. Sports - Basketball
5. Sports - Fishing
6. Sports - Golf
7. Sports - Lacrosse
8. Sports – Miscellaneous
9. Sports – Parks & Rec
10. Sports - Running
11. Sports - Skateboarding

Box 7

1. Sports - Surfing
2. Sports - Volleyball
3. Stephen Decatur
4. Storms
5. St. Patrick’s Day
6. Sunfest & Springfest

Box 8

1. Sundaes in the Park
2. Tattoos & Piercings
3. Taylor House
4. Terrorist Related Items
5. Train Garden
6. Transportation
7. Tuna Tournament
8. Waiter & Waitress Cup
9. White Marlin Open
10. White Marlin Band Parade
11. Winefest
12. Ward Museum Show

Box 9

1. Winterfest
2. Winter in OC/Berlin
3. Worcester County Fair

Series II: Organizers

4. Organizers

Attached Documents