Skip to Main Content

Archive Collections Portal

WR 121: Daily Times Feature Photographs Collection

1 flat box (.75 cubic feet)

(1980 - 1994)

Bulk: 1980

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:

 WR 121
Creator(s): The Daily Times
Acquisition:

Unknown.
Language(s): English
Use: Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:

“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:

Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, February 2022.
Related Materials: None.
Separated Materials: None.

Abstract

The Daily Times Feature Photo Collection contains numerous photographs and newspaper clippings donated to the Worcester County Library. The bulk of the materials are from the 1970s and 1980s, covering politicians, human interest stories, and local events. Due to the lack of information included in the collection, the names of the specific photographers and many of the subjects are unknown.

Administrative History / Biographical Note

The Salisbury Daily Times was originally founded in 1886 by the Truitt family, and stayed within their family until it was sold to Brush-Moore Newspapers of Canton, Ohio in 1937. Several other owners followed, with the owner since 2000 being Gannet. The Daily Times coverage largely concerns local news in Wicomico, Somerset, and Worcester counties in Maryland, with select state and national events also covered.

Arrangement Statement

The Daily Times Feature Picture records have been arranged into two series, NEWSPAPER CLIPPINGS and PHOTOGRAPHS. Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection. Additionally, PHOTOGRAPHS are divided into two subseries - PHOTOGRAPHS and NEGATIVES.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Princess Anne (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century

Newspapers

Human Interest

Politics

Corporate Names

Daily Times

Rotary International

Personal Names

Location Terms

Worcester County (MD)

Wicomico County (MD)

Somerset County (MD)

Cape Henlopen State Park (DE)

Rehoboth Beach (DE)

Inventory List

Series I: Newspaper Clippings

Box 1

1. Newspaper Clippings

Series II: Photographs

2. Kindergarten, N. Salisbury Elementary

3. Human Interest

4. Politicians

5. Old Timers

6. Military & First Responders

7. Buildings, Farms, & Roads

8. Portraits

9. Kids & Teenagers

10. Religion

11. Rehoboth Sand Castle Contest

12. Kites

13. Airport

14. Negatives & Sleeves

Attached Documents

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159