WR 110: Carol Brittingham Wilkes Collection |
1 document box (0.25 cubic feet)
(1815 – 1852)
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 110 |
| Creator(s): | Various |
| Acquisition: |
The Carol Brittingham Wilkes Collection records were donated to the Worcester County Library by Carol Brittingham Wilkes, May 1992. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, May 2022. |
| Related Materials: | WR 11: Worcester County Historical Society Papers |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Carol Brittingham Wilkes Collection consists of various papers acquired by Carol Brittingham Wilkes that were subsequently donated to the Worcester County Historical Society. The bulk of the collection consists of deeds to Winter Quarter, a parcel of land in the vicinity of Pocomoke. The remainder consists of a land deed from the Cedar Hall area and a list of voters in Worcester County’s First Election District in 1820.
Carol Brittingham Wilkes was born in Maryland in 1945. As a resident of the Eastern Shore, she gained an interest in its history and preservation, particularly the Pocomoke area where she lived for a number of years.
This collection documents various records and deeds in Worcester County from the early 19th century.
The Carol Brittingham Wilkes Collection records have been arranged into one series, PAPERS.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Land Records
Voters
Corporate Names
Personal Names
Clarvos, Bennett H.
Collins, Starling
Collins, William
Connor, Samuel
Tull, Benjamin
Location Terms
Cedar Hall
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Worcester County First Election District
Series I: Papers
Box 1
1|1: List of voters, 1st election district 1820
1|2: Deeds