WR 108: Maryland Pictorial Collection |
2 document boxes (0.50 cubic feet)
(1928 – 2000)
Bulk: 1959-1979
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 108 |
| Creator(s): | Maryland Department of Education & local Boards of Education |
| Acquisition: |
The Maryland Pictorial Collection records were donated to the Worcester County Library by unknown persons. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, July 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Maryland Pictorial Collection was a collaborative project between local educators and the state Department of Education to highlight the natural and human environment as well as selected artifacts from Maryland’s different regions.
The Maryland State Department of Education has been in existence since 1865, when a coalition of Radical Republicans realized the need for greater educational standards throughout the state by appointing a superintendent for all schools in the state of Maryland, and the position was then supplemented with a state Board of Education. As of July 2022, the current board consists of representatives from 13 of Maryland’s counties with Mohammed Choudhury acting as Secretary-Treasurer of the Board and Clarence C. Crawford as President
Series I: Pictures: The entirety of the collection consists of pictures and descriptions of historical artifacts and the environment of Maryland.
The Maryland Pictorial Collection consists of a single series, PRINTED MATERIALS, documenting both the photographs and descriptions.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Maryland
Photography
Corporate Names
Maryland State Department of Education
Location Terms
Baltimore
Chesapeake Bay
Maryland
Series I: Printed Materials
Box 1
1|1 Eastern Shore – Occupational and Industrial Area
1|2 Eastern Shore – Scenic Area
1|3 Eastern Shore – Unique Area
1|4 Eastern Shore – Historical Area
1|5 Eastern Shore – Geographical Area
1|6 Eastern Shore – Social Area
1|7 Southern Maryland – Social Area
1|8 Southern Maryland – Geographical Area
1|9 Southern Maryland – Historical Area
1|10 Southern Maryland – Unique Area
1|11 Southern Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
1|12 Baltimore City – Baltimore City
1|13 Central Maryland – Geographical Area
1|14 Central Maryland – Historical Area
1|15 Central Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
1|16 Central Maryland – Scenic Area
1|17 Central Maryland – Social Area
1|18 Central Maryland – Unique Area
1|19 Western Maryland – Geographical Area
1|20 Western Maryland – Historical Area
1|21 Western Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
1|22 Western Maryland – Scenic Area
1|23 Western Maryland – Social Area
1|24 Western Maryland – Unique Area
Box 2
2|1 Central Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
2|2 Central Maryland – Social Area
2|3 Central Maryland – Scenic Area
2|4 Central Maryland – Unique Area
2|5 Southern Maryland – Geographical Area
2|6 Southern Maryland – Historical Area
2|7 Southern Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
2|8 Southern Maryland – Social Area
2|9 Western Maryland – Geographical Area
2|10 Western Maryland – Geographical Area
2|11 Western Maryland – Occupational and Industrial Area
2|12 Western Maryland – Historical Area
2|13 Western Maryland – Social Area
2|14 Western Maryland – Scenic Area
2|15 Western Maryland – Unique Area
2|16 Eastern Shore – Occupational and Industrial Area
2|17 Eastern Shore – Geographical Area
2|18 Eastern Shore – Historical Area
2|19 Eastern Shore – Social Area
2|20 Eastern Shore – Scenic Area
2|21 Eastern Shore – Unique Area