Skip to Main Content

Archive Collections Portal

WR 104: March 1962 Snowstorm

1 flat box (.75 cubic feet)

(1962 - 1967)

Bulk: 1962

Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD

Identifier:

 WR 104
Creator(s): The Baltimore Sun, Eastern Shore Times, Unknown
Acquisition:

The March 1962 collection was donated to the Worcester County Library from unknown sources.
Language(s): English
Use: Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”.
Preferred Citation:

“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.”
Attribution:

Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, December 2021
Related Materials: None.
Separated Materials: None.

Abstract

In March 1962, a massive nor'easter devastated the US East Coast from March 5-9, known as the 'Ash Wednesday Storm'. Although no snow was dumped in the Eastern Shore, the nor’easter caused extreme damage to coastal communities due to the waves and wind. Ocean City was no exception, and the collection highlights the devastation in Ocean City through a scrapbook assembled by witnesses and several newspaper reports. Due to website constraints, only the photographs are currently visible online.

Administrative History / Biographical Note

The creators of this collection are the Baltimore Sun and the Eastern Shore Daily News.

Arrangement Statement

The March 1962 Snowstorm records have been arranged into two series, SCRAPBOOKS AND PHOTOGRAPHS and NEWSPAPERS. Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.

Subject Terms

Topical Terms

Ocean City, MD

National Guard

Newspapers

Weather

Corporate Names

Ocean Pines Elementary School

The Baltimore Sun

The Eastern Shore Times

Personal Names

J. Millard Tawes

Location Terms

Ocean City, MD

Inventory List

Series I: Scrapbooks and Photographs

Box 1

1. Scrapbook

2. Snapshots of Storm Damage

Series II: Newspapers

3. Baltimore Sun Magazine, April 15, 1962

4. The Eastern Shore Times – December 21, 1967

Attached Documents

 

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159