WR 101: Katherine Stevens Etchison Collection |
3 document boxes (0.75 cubic feet)
(1928 – 1980)
Bulk: 1950s
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 101 |
| Creator(s): | Katherine Stevens Etchison |
| Acquisition: |
The Katherine Stevens Etchison Collection records were donated to the Worcester County Library by Katherine Stevenson. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, May 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Katherine Stevens Etchison Collection is a series of scrapbooks compiled by Katherine Stevens Etchison documenting life in Worcester County, particularly the Pocomoke area, the Box Iron furnace, and historic churches. Also included are newspaper clippings documenting the lives of local notable people and events throughout the 20th century, including the 1922 Pocomoke Fire.
Katherine Stevens Etchison was a public school teacher in Pocomoke City born in 1897. Over the course of her life, she documented events occurring in Pocomoke City and its environs in a series of scrapbooks, which were donated to the Worcester County Library.
This collection consists of the scrapbooks compiled by Katherine Stevens documenting Worcester County life and history.
Series I: Scrapbooks: Scrapbooks compiled by Katherine Stevens.
The Katherine Stevens Collection has been arranged into a single series, and placed in the original order they were submitted in.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Pocomoke City (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century
Schools
Worcester County
Corporate Names
Pitts Creek Presbyterian Church
Pocomoke Baseball Club
Pocomoke City
Worcester County Library – Pocomoke Branch
Worcester Democrat
Personal Names
Clarke, J. Dawson
Etchison, Katherine Stevens
Mackemie, Francis.
Stevenson, Beatrice Cannon
Location Terms
Nassawango (Md.)
Pocomoke City (Md.)
Pocomoke River
Series I: Scrapbooks
Box 1
1|1 Pocomoke’s History
1|2 Photos – Nassawango Iron
1|3 Pocomoke’s Churches & Schools
Box 2
2|1 Pitts Creek Presbyterian Church
2|2 Rehoboth’s Presbyterian Church
Box 3
3|1 Pocomoke River, Entertainment, Celebrations, Industries