WR 131: The Methodist Protestant |
1 document boxes (0.25 cubic feet)
(1929)
Bulk: 1929
Worcester County Library: Genealogy and Local History Collection, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, MD
|
Identifier: |
WR 131 |
| Creator(s): | The Methodist Protestant |
| Acquisition: |
The Methodist Protestant Collection records were donated to the Worcester County Library by unknown persons. |
| Language(s): | English |
| Use: | Records are open for research. Copyright, including literary rights, belongs to the author(s) or their legal heirs. Permission to publish or reproduce must be obtained from the Worcester County Library which extends beyond “fair use”. |
| Preferred Citation: |
“Item, collection name, [Box #, Folder #,] Worcester County Library, Snow Hill Branch, Snow Hill, Maryland.” |
| Attribution: |
Finding aid written by Nate Godfrey, May 2022. |
| Related Materials: | None. |
| Separated Materials: | None. |
The Methodist Protestant Collection consists of the official newspaper of the Methodist Protestant Church from the year 1929. The newspaper offered news relevant to its churches, religious articles, as well as coverage of regional, national, and international news.
The Methodist Protestant was a newspaper based in Baltimore, Maryland that catered to the Methodist Protestant community, providing coverage of church, international, and select national news including editorials. The newspaper itself ran from 1840 to 1929.
The Methodist Protestant Church split from the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1828, and was primarily organized around a reform-oriented agenda, when compared with the more conservative Methodist Episcopal Church. During the 1930s, the Methodist Protestant Church would reconnect with other Methodist branches, and many members would join the new United Methodist Church in 1939, although some dissenters would remain. The Methodist Protestant Church continue today, albeit in a reduced fashion.
This collection consists of one issue of the Methodist Protestant newspaper of Baltimore, Maryland.
Series I: Newspapers: Contains the Methodist Protestant newspaper, the official organ of the Methodist Protestant church.
The Methodist Protestant records have been arranged into one series, NEWSPAPERS.
Folders are listed by their location in each box; any given subject may be dispersed throughout the entirety of the collection.
Topical Terms
Baltimore (Md.)--Social life and customs--20th century
Churches
Methodism
Corporate Names
Methodist Protestant Church
Methodist Protestant Book Concern
Personal Names
Cummins, C. F.
Green, Leas J.
Hooker, G. J.
Huey, James A.
Makosky, E. C.
Location Terms
Baltimore (Md.)
Delmarva
Series I: Newspapers
Box 1
1|1 The Methodist Protestant, June 12 1929