Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Americans Corner: Home

New Americans Corners are dedicated spaces in our libraries where immigrants can find information and resources to become U.S. citizens..

Preparing for the Citizenship Test

Documents and Forms to get started

To apply for naturalization, you will need to file the N-400, Application for Naturalization. You can print it or file it online using the links below.

Test Preparation 

The following materials and more can be found on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services website: https://www.uscis.gov/citizenship/find-study-materials-and-resources

Welcome to the United States: A Guide for New Immigrants: This guide from USCIS provides information on topics such as rights, employment, education, housing, learning English, and citizenship.  It is available in multiple languages.

USA Learns: This is a free website for adults to learn English and prepare for U.S. Citizenship.

Resources for Learners: A list developed by the USCIS Office of Citizenship that helps permanent residents locate citizenship preparation materials and activities.

Resources

Information related to the Citizenship Test, along with other information to assist you on the path to being a New American.

Available with your Library Card

Regional Resources

The following organizations are local to Maryland or the Delmarva Peninsula. Visit their website for more information. Worcester County Library will not and does not provide any legal advice.

Immigration Law Resources

Click on one of the links or files below for documents related to legal information for immigration. Worcester County Library will not and does not provide any legal advice.

Becoming a U. S. Citizen

Everything you need to become a naturalized U.S. citizenThe sooner a green card holder becomes a U.S. citizen, the sooner he or she gains a host of benefits: the right to vote and apply for certain federal jobs, faster immigration for family, protection against deportation or new anti-immigration legislation, and more. But the application process itself can be long and confusing--and at worst, create a risk of deportation. With Becoming a U.S. Citizen, you can save months, or even years, and avoid complications. Learn how to: make sure you are eligible for citizenship understand the risks and rewards of applying fill out application forms study for the citizenship exam interview successfully, and deal with any setbacks. Becoming a U.S. Citizen also shows you how to ask for a reduced fee or take advantage of special exceptions if you have a disability, are in the military, or are the spouse of a U.S. citizen. The 10th edition is updated with the latest laws, procedures, and government policies. It includes sample forms, handy checklists, and a study guide to the citizenship exam.

Citizenship Basics 2017: 100 Questions

USCIS Naturalization Test 2017 100 Civics Questions Current for 2017 Easy "5 Questions at a Time" Format Progress Quizzes Links to current U.S. Representatives, Senators, Governors, and State Capitals Written by Experienced, Credentialed ESL Citizenship Instructors Best Quality Study Guide for the Money If you only need to study for the 100 Civics Questions for the United States Citizenship and Naturalization Interview, then CITIZENSHIP BASICS 2017: 100 Questions is the best choice. Study 5 questions at a time for maximum efficiency and effectiveness. Test yourself after every 20 questions with a progress quiz. Includes links to learn your U.S. Representative, Senators, Governor, and state capital.

Citizenship Basics 2017: 100 Questions in Spanish - U. S. Citizenship Study Guide

USCIS Naturalization 2017 100 Civics Questions in Spanish and English Current for 2017 Easy to read, side by side format Inexpensive and Useful Links to current U.S. Representatives, Senators, Governors, and State Capitals Written by Experienced, Credentialed ESL Citizenship Instructors Best Quality Study Guide for the Money If you only need to study for the 100 Civics Questions for the United States Citizenship and Naturalization Interview and you need Spanish translations, then CITIZENSHIP BASICS 2017: 100 Questions in Spanish is the best choice.

How to Get a Green Card

The ultimate green card guide The U.S. immigration system is an enormous bureaucracy, so it's vital that you understand it before attempting to apply for a green card. Making a mistake can lead to delays and hassles or even ruin your chances for success. How to Get a Green Card provides everything you need to know about qualifying for permanent U.S. residence if you don't have an employer sponsoring you. Find out how to work with U.S. officials and prepare and present the right documents at the right time to get a green card through: parents, siblings, or adult children a U.S. spouse or fiancé green card lotteries (diversity visa) political asylum or refugee status a U visa for crime victims, or another category you might qualify for. The 14th edition covers new travel restrictions, public charge rules requiring more proof of income and health insurance coverage, changes to asylum eligibility, the wind-down of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program, and other new restrictions and procedural changes. It also includes samples of all the key application forms.

U. S. Immigration Made Easy

Green cards, visas, and more: What every immigrant needs to know Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? U.S. Immigration Made Easy has helped tens of thousands of people get a visa, green card, or other immigration status. You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents insider strategies for dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials ways to overcome low income and other immigration barriers, and how to select the right attorney. U.S. Immigration Made Easy provides detailed descriptions of application processes and helps you avoid traps that might destroy your chances. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card. The 20th edition is completely updated to cover recent legal changes owing to the new presidential administration, as well as the latest on DACA. This book does not cover naturalization. If you're interested in U.S. citizenship, see Nolo's Becoming a U.S. Citizen.

Worcester County Library - 307 North Washington Street, Snow Hill, Maryland 21863 Email: contact@worcesterlibrary.org | Phone: 410-632-2600 | Fax: 410-632-1159